PRI/LTD BY GUAR/NSC (Private, limited by guarantee, no share capital)

ACTION FOR BLIND PEOPLE

ActiveCompany 00026688United Kingdom
Bulk record snapshot1 AUG 2026Source details →

Registered office

RNIB, 154A PENTONVILLE ROAD, PENTONVILLE ROAD, LONDON, ENGLAND, N1 9JE
Incorporated7 May 1888
Company age138 years

TXT In plain English

Company description

BritDB description

ACTION FOR BLIND PEOPLE is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “PRI/LTD BY GUAR/NSC (Private, limited by guarantee, no share capital)”. Incorporated on 7 May 1888; registered for 138 years; registered office reported in LONDON, ENGLAND. Its primary declared activity is 88990 · Other social work activities without accommodation n.e.c..

This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 4 PSC records, 7 trade marks, 1 charity record. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.

Prepared from public dataChecked 31 August 2026 · 8 profile sources connected
How this description is built →
i

Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.

01 Company overview

Identity and registration

Snapshot 1 August 2026
Official name
ACTION FOR BLIND PEOPLE
Company number
00026688
Company type
PRI/LTD BY GUAR/NSC (Private, limited by guarantee, no share capital)
Status
Active
Country of origin
United Kingdom
Dissolution date
Not supplied
Accounts category
SMALL
Mortgage charges
7 total · 0 outstanding · 7 satisfied
Limited partnership members
0 general · 0 limited
i

A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.

02 Filing dates

Accounts and statements

Companies House
AccountsBulk record

Last accounts made up to

31 March 2025

Next accounts due

31 December 2026
Confirmation statementBulk record

Last statement made up to

31 July 2025

Next statement due

14 August 2026
Filing source and official link

BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.

03 Supply-chain transparency

Modern slavery statement

Statement year 2025
Organisation
ACTION FOR BLIND PEOPLE
Group submission
Yes
Parent organisation
ROYAL NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF BLIND PEOPLE
Statement period
1 April 2024 – 31 March 2025
Approved
25 September 2025
Sectors
Charitable / not-for-profit activities Durable consumer goods, including electronics and appliances, home furnishings and other accessories Education and research Media, publishing, arts and entertainment

Organisation structure

Covered in the statement

Policies

Covered in the statement

Risk assessment

Covered in the statement

Due diligence

Covered in the statement

Training

Covered in the statement

Goals and KPIs

Not reported as covered

Full statement information supplied to the registry
Reported turnover band
£60 million to £100 million
Years producing statements
More than 5 years
ILO indicators included
Not answered
Registry record updated
30 September 2025

Policies described

Freedom of workers to terminate employment Freedom of movement Freedom of association Prohibits any threat of violence, harassment and intimidation Prohibits the use of worker-paid recruitment fees Prohibits compulsory overtime Prohibits child labour Prohibits discrimination Prohibits confiscation of workers' original identification documents Provides access to remedy, compensation and justice for victims of modern slavery

Training described

Human resources Procurement staff Other

Worker engagement and working conditions

Your suppliers Trade unions or worker representative groups Workers within your organisation

Grievance mechanisms

Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app Through trade unions or other worker representative groups

Other monitoring

Robust engagement including risk assessment and ongoing promotion of RNB Code of Conduct both internally and to our suppliers We are using Creditsafe Monitoring and Alerts SPM reviews.

Demonstrated progress

We are currently reviewing and improving our tracking and monitoring of supplier assessments using our Source to Contract and Supplier Relationship System. We have yet to achieve statistical information relating to the number of active suppliers and we are developing our reporting on suppliers agreement on our Modern Slavery Statement. We are also reviewing how to get awareness out into the organisation a bit more by posting information on RNIB Workplace platform.

Earlier linked statements (1)
  1. ACTION FOR BLIND PEOPLE31 March 2020
i

A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.

TM UK trade marks

Exact owner-name matches

7 records
!

This is an exact normalised company-name match, not a registrar-confirmed ownership link. Another legal entity can have the same or a very similar name. UKIPO data is a historical 2018 snapshot; verify the owner and current status before relying on it.

04 Ownership and control

People with significant control

Snapshot 25 August 2026
Current records1
Ceased records3
PSC source and official link →
PSC statementCurrent

No individual or entity with signficant control

Notified
5 November 2025
Corporate entityCeased

Royal National Institute For Blind People

  • Controls 75% or more of voting rights
  • Can appoint or remove directors
Country registered
England
Legal authority
England And Wales
Legal form
Royal Charter Company
Place registered
N/A
Registration number
Rc000500
Notified
31 March 2017
Ceased
31 March 2017
PSC statementCeased

No individual or entity with signficant control

Notified
31 July 2016
Ceased
1 August 2016
Corporate entityCeased

Royal National Institute Of Blind People

  • Controls 75% or more of voting rights
  • Can appoint or remove directors
Country registered
England, Wales
Legal authority
Companies Act 2006
Legal form
Royal Charter Company
Place registered
Companies House
Registration number
Rc000500
Notified
6 April 2016
Ceased
5 November 2025
i

PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.

05 Charity register

Charity Commission links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
Registered charity 205913

ACTION FOR BLIND PEOPLE

Registered
Charity type
Charitable company
Registered
22 September 1962
Latest income
£5,863,000
Latest expenditure
£5,863,000
  • Amateur Sport
  • Economic/community Development/employment
  • Education/training
  • Elderly/old People
  • The Prevention Or Relief Of Poverty
  • Children/young People
  • Disability
  • Provides Services

Action for Blind People support blind and partially sighted people in the United Kingdom. This can mean helping them to find or keep a job, deal with housing issues, helping them to go on holiday, providing sports clubs for visually impaired children, and other services for visually impaired children and their families or providing vital information in the heart of communities.

Source details and official record →
i

This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.

06 Northern Ireland charity register

CCNI exact company links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCNI

No unambiguous company-number link found

The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.

i

CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.

07 Sanctions screening

UK Sanctions List

Report 28 August 2026
UKSL

No exact business-registration-number link found

The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

!

No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.

08 Public procurement

Find a Tender links

Snapshot 22 August 2026
FTS

No exact GB-COH link in this snapshot

Find a Tender did not explicitly identify this Companies House number in a procurement party. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.

09 Environmental register

Environment Agency waste registrations

Snapshot 25 August 2026
EA

No exact company-number registration linked

The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.

10 Nature of business

Standard Industrial Classification

SIC 2007

11 Connected public record

Checks beyond the company register

Partial coverage
CCEW

Charity Commission

1 exact company-number link.

Checked
CCNI

Northern Ireland charities

0 unambiguous company-number links.

Checked
FTS

Public contracts

0 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.

Checked
EA

Waste register

0 exact company-number registrations.

Checked
GZ

Corporate notices

The Gazette is not yet connected.

Not checked
UKSL

UK Sanctions List

No exact business-registration-number link in this report.

Checked
!

A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.

12 Record timeline

Dates in the bulk record

3 events
  1. Confirmation statement

    Latest confirmation statement made up to this date

  2. Accounts

    Latest accounts made up to this date

  3. Incorporation

    Company incorporated

13 Provenance

Sources for this profile

8 sources

Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.