TXT In plain English
Company description
SYDENHAMS LTD is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Private Limited Company”. Incorporated on 12 July 1920; registered for 106 years; registered office reported in BOURNEMOUTH, DORSET. Its primary declared activity is 46730 · Wholesale of wood, construction materials and sanitary equipment.
In its latest electronically filed accounts for the period ended 31 March 2025, it reported profit after tax £814,024, net assets £39,419,673, average employees 4. This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 3 PSC records. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- SYDENHAMS LTD
- Company number
- 00168966
- Company type
- Private Limited Company
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- GROUP
- Mortgage charges
- 1 total · 1 outstanding · 0 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
31 March 2025Next accounts due
31 December 2026Last statement made up to
2 September 2025Next statement due
16 September 2026BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Filed financials
Latest electronic accounts
- Profit after tax
- £814,024
- Fixed assets
- £12,762,976
- Net assets
- £39,419,673
- Current assets
- £40,409,684
- Current liabilities
- £16,008,859
- Total assets less current liabilities
- £37,163,801
- Cash at bank
- £7,498,578
- Equity
- £39,419,673
Figures are taken from company-filed iXBRL/XBRL. Coverage is limited to electronic filings in the imported Companies House batch. Missing figures do not mean zero, and values have not been audited by BritDB.
04 Workforce reporting
Gender pay gap
- Median bonus gap
- 20.0%
- Mean bonus gap
- 68.0%
- Women receiving bonus
- 87.9%
- Men receiving bonus
- 89.6%
- Women in top quartile
- 11.3%
- Women in upper middle quartile
- 19.8%
- Women in lower middle quartile
- 7.5%
- Women in lower quartile
- 16.0%
Earlier reporting years (7)
- 250 to 499-3.1% median hourly gap
- 250 to 499-5.7% median hourly gap
- 250 to 499-9.5% median hourly gap
- 250 to 49925.0% median hourly gap
- 500 to 999-7.0% median hourly gap
- 500 to 999-6.0% median hourly gap
- 250 to 4999.0% median hourly gap
Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.
05 Supplier payments
Payment practices and performance
- Reporting period
- 1 April 2019 – 30 September 2019
- Filed
- 1 November 2019
- Shortest standard term
- 1 days
- Longest standard term
- 61 days
- E-invoicing offered
- No
- Supply-chain finance
- Not offered
- Payment codes
- No
- Construction retentions
- No qualifying construction contracts
Complete reported payment fields
- Policy regime
- Regime-1
- Financial period started
- Not supplied
- Qualifying contracts
- Yes
- Payments made
- Yes
- Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
- £0
- Invoices paid in 31–60 days
- 55.0%
- Invoices unpaid due to dispute
- 0.0%
- Maximum contractual payment period
- 61 days
- Supplier-list charging policy
- No
- Supplier-list charges made
- No
Reported terms and dispute process
- Standard payment terms
payment end of month following month of invoice
- Dispute resolution process
Disputes are resolved by the local branch manager contacting the supplier. In the event that the matter cannot be resolved then it is escalated to the Purchasing Director
Earlier payment reports (2 shown)
- 34.0 average days to pay0.0% outside terms
- 34.0 average days to pay1.0% outside terms
This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.
06 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- SYDENHAMS LTD
- Group submission
- Yes
- Statement period
- 1 April 2024 – 31 March 2025
- Approved
- 15 August 2025
- Sectors
- Construction, civil engineering and building products Forestry, timber products, paper and containers and packaging
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Covered in the statement
Risk assessment
Covered in the statement
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Not reported as covered
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- £60 million to £100 million
- Years producing statements
- More than 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 15 August 2025
Policies described
Freedom of workers to terminate employment Freedom of movement Freedom of association Prohibits any threat of violence, harassment and intimidation Prohibits the use of worker-paid recruitment fees Prohibits compulsory overtime Prohibits child labour Prohibits discrimination Prohibits confiscation of workers' original identification documents Provides access to remedy, compensation and justice for victims of modern slavery
Training described
Executive-level staff Procurement staff
Worker engagement and working conditions
Your suppliers Professional auditors Workers within your organisation
Social audits
Audit conducted by your staff
Grievance mechanisms
Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app Through trade unions or other worker representative groups
Demonstrated progress
We operate in a relatively low risk jurisdiction with mainly UK suppliers or agents. We have robust procedures within the organisation and through our procurement processes. We expect to have zero instances of modern slavery and have not identified any instances in the last 5 years.
Reported risks and mitigations
- Risk: Onboarding new suppliers and declarations around their modern slavery processes and statements. The vast majority of our suppliers are based in the UK and present lower risk.
- Risk: Recruitment and awareness of the issues around hiring workers and right to work checks. We have a new Recruitment policy which discusses these topics.
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
07 Data protection
ICO fee-payer registration
Sydenhams Ltd
Registration Z9206322
- Registered from
- 27 September 2005
- Current end date
- 26 September 2026
This is a candidate association, not an official Companies House link. The ICO file supplies no company number. The organisation name and postcode uniquely matched this company in the current snapshot. BritDB excludes all DPO contact fields and does not publish unmatched personal entries.
08 Ownership and control
People with significant control
Mr Charles John SherborneSee 7 companies with this PSC name →
- Has significant influence or control
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 30 June 2016
- Appointment Verification End On: 9999-12-31T00:00:00Z
- Appointment Verification Start On: 2026-01-06T00:00:00Z
Mr James Richard SherborneSee 7 companies with this PSC name →
- Has significant influence or control
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 30 June 2016
- Appointment Verification End On: 9999-12-31T00:00:00Z
- Appointment Verification Start On: 2026-07-09T00:00:00Z
Sherborne Holdings Ltd
- Owns 75% or more of shares
- Country registered
- England
- Legal authority
- Companies Act
- Legal form
- Private Limited Company
- Place registered
- Register Of Companies For England Wales & Scotland
- Registration number
- 6307541
- Notified
- 30 June 2016
PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.
09 Charity register
Charity Commission links
No exact company-number link in this snapshot
The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.
This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
10 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
11 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
12 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
No exact GB-COH link in this snapshot
Find a Tender did not explicitly identify this Companies House number in a procurement party. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
13 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
No exact company-number registration linked
The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
14 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
15 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
0 exact company-number links.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
0 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
0 exact company-number registrations.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
16 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
17 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Company-filed electronic accounts and extracted headline financial facts.
Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Privacy-reduced candidate associations based on a unique exact name-and-postcode match.
Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.