TXT In plain English
Company description
CARRS BILLINGTON AGRICULTURE (SALES) LIMITED is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Private Limited Company”. Incorporated on 3 May 1923; registered for 103 years; registered office reported in CARLISLE, CUMBRIA, ENGLAND. Its primary declared activity is 10910 · Manufacture of prepared feeds for farm animals, with 1 additional SIC activity reported.
In its latest electronically filed accounts for the period ended 30 August 2025, it reported profit after tax −£71,930, net assets £22,575,830, average employees 5. This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 3 PSC records, 19 trade marks, 5 procurement records. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- CARRS BILLINGTON AGRICULTURE (SALES) LIMITED
- Company number
- 00189740
- Company type
- Private Limited Company
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- FULL
- Mortgage charges
- 14 total · 7 outstanding · 7 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
30 August 2025Next accounts due
31 May 2027Last statement made up to
24 January 2026Next statement due
7 February 2027BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Filed financials
Latest electronic accounts
- Profit before tax
- £24,070
- Profit after tax
- −£71,930
- Fixed assets
- £15,235,141
- Net assets
- £22,575,830
- Current assets
- £90,910,684
- Current liabilities
- £81,579,765
- Total assets less current liabilities
- £24,566,060
- Cash at bank
- £4,175,174
- Equity
- £22,575,830
Figures are taken from company-filed iXBRL/XBRL. Coverage is limited to electronic filings in the imported Companies House batch. Missing figures do not mean zero, and values have not been audited by BritDB.
04 Workforce reporting
Gender pay gap
- Median bonus gap
- 82.0%
- Mean bonus gap
- 82.0%
- Women receiving bonus
- 0.5%
- Men receiving bonus
- 0.3%
- Women in top quartile
- 23.5%
- Women in upper middle quartile
- 27.1%
- Women in lower middle quartile
- 48.9%
- Women in lower quartile
- 50.3%
Earlier reporting years (8)
- 500 to 99920.5% median hourly gap
- 250 to 49923.0% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99923.0% median hourly gap
- 250 to 49922.1% median hourly gap
- 250 to 49923.0% median hourly gap
- 250 to 49924.0% median hourly gap
- 250 to 49924.0% median hourly gap
- 250 to 49920.1% median hourly gap
Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.
05 Supplier payments
Payment practices and performance
- Reporting period
- 28 February 2021 – 28 August 2021
- Filed
- 29 September 2021
- Shortest standard term
- 0 days
- Longest standard term
- 60 days
- E-invoicing offered
- No
- Supply-chain finance
- Not offered
- Payment codes
- No
- Construction retentions
- No qualifying construction contracts
Complete reported payment fields
- Policy regime
- Regime-1
- Financial period started
- Not supplied
- Qualifying contracts
- Yes
- Payments made
- Yes
- Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
- £0
- Invoices paid in 31–60 days
- 19.0%
- Invoices unpaid due to dispute
- 0.0%
- Maximum contractual payment period
- 60 days
- Supplier-list charging policy
- No
- Supplier-list charges made
- No
Reported terms and dispute process
- Standard payment terms
Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Ltd typically operates under supplier terms which are agreed on a case by case basis and most commonly 30 days or Nett monthly account. Payments are made on a weekly basis for all invoices due to the end of that week, at the time of processing the payment run.
- Dispute resolution process
Where any supplier has any disputes or concerns regarding our payment processes, contact can be made with either the person responsible for the contract within Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Ltd or our Accounts Department. Efforts will be made in the first instance (typically within 5 working days) to seek resolution in a timely and collaborative manner and with a view to maintaining a good working relationship. In the event that resolution cannot be achieved, the matter will be escalated to management or above (typically with a view to achieving resolution within a further 10 business days). Efforts at resolution may involve meeting to discuss issues. Where a dispute resolution process is prescribed by contract, efforts will be made to follow that process with a view to achieving resolution.
Earlier payment reports (7 shown)
- 32.0 average days to pay77.0% outside terms
- 33.0 average days to pay81.0% outside terms
- 33.0 average days to pay82.0% outside terms
- 36.0 average days to pay73.0% outside terms
- 31.0 average days to pay75.0% outside terms
- 33.0 average days to pay75.0% outside terms
- 34.0 average days to pay87.0% outside terms
This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.
06 Global legal identity
Legal Entity Identifier
CARRS BILLINGTON AGRICULTURE (SALES) LIMITED
LEI 213800J9LMJS3IGBG972 · jurisdiction GB
- Legal form
- H0PO
- Entity category
- GENERAL
- Entity created
- 3 May 1923
- Initial LEI registration
- 28 October 2022
- LEI last updated
- 29 October 2023
- Next renewal
- 28 October 2023
- Managing LOU
- 213800WAVVOPS85N2205
- Legal address
- 16 MONTGOMERY WAY, ROSEHILL INDUSTRIAL ESTATE, CARLISLE, GB-CMA, CA1 2UY, GB
- Headquarters address
- 16 MONTGOMERY WAY, ROSEHILL INDUSTRIAL ESTATE, CARLISLE, GB-CMA, CA1 2UY, GB
GLEIF parent-reporting exceptions
DIRECT ACCOUNTING CONSOLIDATION PARENT
NON_CONSOLIDATING
ULTIMATE ACCOUNTING CONSOLIDATION PARENT
NON_CONSOLIDATING
LEI data provides global legal identity and source-reported relationships, not a credit or regulatory approval. BritDB links Level 1 identities only through GLEIF’s Companies House registration-authority identifier and exact company number; Level 2 parent and fund relationships and reporting exceptions are reproduced as supplied by GLEIF.
07 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- CARRS BILLINGTON AGRICULTURE (SALES) LIMITED
- Group submission
- Yes
- Parent organisation
- EDWARD BILLINGTON AND SON LIMITED
- Statement period
- 1 September 2024 – 31 August 2025
- Approved
- 15 October 2025
- Sectors
- Food and beverages, agriculture and fishing
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Covered in the statement
Risk assessment
Covered in the statement
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Covered in the statement
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- Over £500 million
- Years producing statements
- More than 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 6 January 2026
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
08 Data protection
ICO fee-payer registration
Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited
Registration Z6941040
- Registered from
- 6 September 2002
- Current end date
- 5 September 2027
This is a candidate association, not an official Companies House link. The ICO file supplies no company number. The organisation name and postcode uniquely matched this company in the current snapshot. BritDB excludes all DPO contact fields and does not publish unmatched personal entries.
09 Public procurement
Contracts Finder awards
Supply of Ferris FRC7 Mower
Middlesbrough Council · ocds-b5fd17-4008bd8d-42ab-4526-86a6-4a175fd024ca
- Supplier named in award
- Carr's Billington Agriculture Limited
- Award value
- £41,750
- Contract period
- 1 February 2026 – 31 January 2027
- Published
- 26 January 2026
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 16310000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-4008bd8d-42ab-4526-86a6-4a175fd024ca-2026-01-26T18:53:38Z
Purchase of 2 x Mini Excavators
Redcar & Cleveland Borough Council · ocds-b5fd17-bf114298-223c-42a7-a21a-29b1b4e52c00
- Supplier named in award
- Carrs Billington
- Award value
- £59,800
- Contract period
- 7 October 2024 – 7 February 2025
- Published
- 18 October 2024
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 34100000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-bf114298-223c-42a7-a21a-29b1b4e52c00-2024-10-18T14:46:06+01:00
Grounds Maintenance, Plant and Handheld Equipment
THE ASSOCIATION OF NORTH EAST COUNCILS LIMITED · ocds-b5fd17-6e2a5cee-4e63-4599-a040-2d04c336f978
- Supplier named in award
- Carrs Billington Agriculture Ltd
- Award value
- £125,000,000
- Contract period
- 2 September 2022 – 3 September 2026
- Published
- 2 August 2022
- Procedure
- Open procedure (above threshold)
- Main CPV
- 43325100
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-6e2a5cee-4e63-4599-a040-2d04c336f978-2022-08-02T18:22:20+01:00
The supplier link is exact, but the award remains buyer-published procurement data. BritDB requires the GB-COH identifier supplied in the Contracts Finder OCDS release and does not infer suppliers from similar names.
TM UK trade marks
Exact owner-name matches
SIMARGHU
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 6,7,8,9,18,22,25,28,35
- Filed / designated
- 26 September 2016
- Valid until / renewal due
- 26 September 2026
MEGA GRASS LEYS
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 14 February 2011
- Valid until / renewal due
- 14 February 2021
PERFORMINS
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 17 January 2011
- Valid until / renewal due
- 17 January 2021
EZI-FLO
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 1,5,31
- Filed / designated
- 8 December 2010
- Valid until / renewal due
- 8 December 2020
Carrs Billington
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 1,5,31,35
- Filed / designated
- 21 October 2010
- Valid until / renewal due
- 21 October 2020
NUTRI-CYCLE
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 1
- Filed / designated
- 5 October 2010
- Valid until / renewal due
- 5 October 2020
NUTRI-CYCLE
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 5,31
- Filed / designated
- 22 September 2010
- Valid until / renewal due
- 22 September 2020
QUICKSTART
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 10 August 1995
- Valid until / renewal due
- 10 August 2025
FLYINGSTART
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 10 August 1995
- Valid until / renewal due
- 10 August 2025
SUPERSTART
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 10 August 1995
- Valid until / renewal due
- 10 August 2025
BIBBY PRIMEFLOCK
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 16 December 1994
- Valid until / renewal due
- 16 December 2024
BIBBY
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 6 September 1994
- Valid until / renewal due
- 6 September 2021
GRASS LINK
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 6 July 1994
- Valid until / renewal due
- 6 July 2021
MEGA GRASS LEYS
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 17 January 2011
- Valid until / renewal due
- Not supplied
GRASSMATCH
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 23 May 1997
- Valid until / renewal due
- 23 May 2007
SILAMATCH
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 23 May 1997
- Valid until / renewal due
- 23 May 2007
BACTO-SILE
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 1
- Filed / designated
- 24 March 1995
- Valid until / renewal due
- 24 March 2005
BIBBY PRIMESTOCK
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 6 September 1994
- Valid until / renewal due
- 6 September 2011
MAGNUM
Owner Carrs Billington Agriculture (Sales) Limited · classes 31
- Filed / designated
- 26 June 1993
- Valid until / renewal due
- 26 June 2010
This is an exact normalised company-name match, not a registrar-confirmed ownership link. Another legal entity can have the same or a very similar name. UKIPO data is a historical 2018 snapshot; verify the owner and current status before relying on it.
10 Ownership and control
People with significant control
Edward Billington And Son Limited
- Owns 75% or more of shares
- Controls 75% or more of voting rights
- Can appoint or remove directors
- Country registered
- England
- Legal authority
- England And Wales
- Legal form
- Limited Liability Company
- Place registered
- Companies Registry For England And Wales
- Registration number
- 00059883
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
Billington Agriculture Holdings Ltd
- Owns 25% to 50% of shares
- Controls 25% to 50% of voting rights
- Country registered
- United Kingdom
- Legal authority
- Companies Act 2006
- Legal form
- Private Limited Company
- Place registered
- Register Of Companies
- Registration number
- 338481
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
- Ceased
- 6 April 2016
Carr's Group Plc
- Owns 50% to 75% of shares
- Controls 50% to 75% of voting rights
- Can appoint or remove directors
- Country registered
- United Kingdom
- Legal authority
- Companies Act 2006
- Legal form
- Public Limited Company
- Place registered
- Register Of Companies
- Registration number
- 98221
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
- Ceased
- 26 October 2022
PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.
11 Charity register
Charity Commission links
No exact company-number link in this snapshot
The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.
This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
12 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
13 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
14 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
NEPO214 - Grounds Maintenance, Equipment & Plant
The Association of North East Councils Limited · updated 10 September 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 4
Award of WLC Purchase of Mowers for NETs
West Lothian Council · updated 25 November 2024
- Tender value
- £125,000,000
- Awards
- 133
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
15 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
No exact company-number registration linked
The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
16 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
Other retail sale of new goods in specialised stores (not commercial art galleries and opticians)
17 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
0 exact company-number links.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
2 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
0 exact company-number registrations.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
18 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
19 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Company-filed electronic accounts and extracted headline financial facts.
Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Global legal identities linked through Companies House registration authority RA000585.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Privacy-reduced candidate associations based on a unique exact name-and-postcode match.
Historic awards linked by exact source-supplied GB-COH company identifier.
Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.