Public Limited Company

HILL & SMITH PLC

ActiveCompany 00671474United Kingdom
Bulk record snapshot1 AUG 2026Source details →

Registered office

WESTHAVEN HOUSE, ARLESTON WAY, SHIRLEY, SOLIHULL, WEST MIDLANDS, B90 4LH
Incorporated30 September 1960
Company age65 years

TXT In plain English

Company description

BritDB description

HILL & SMITH PLC is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Public Limited Company”. Incorporated on 30 September 1960; registered for 65 years; registered office reported in SOLIHULL, WEST MIDLANDS. Its primary declared activity is 70100 · Activities of head offices.

This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.

Prepared from public dataChecked 31 August 2026 · 10 profile sources connected
How this description is built →
i

Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.

01 Company overview

Identity and registration

Snapshot 1 August 2026
Official name
HILL & SMITH PLC
Company number
00671474
Company type
Public Limited Company
Status
Active
Country of origin
United Kingdom
Dissolution date
Not supplied
Accounts category
GROUP
Mortgage charges
7 total · 0 outstanding · 7 satisfied
Limited partnership members
0 general · 0 limited
i

A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.

02 Filing dates

Accounts and statements

Companies House
AccountsBulk record

Last accounts made up to

31 December 2025

Next accounts due

30 June 2027
Confirmation statementBulk record

Last statement made up to

29 May 2026

Next statement due

12 June 2027
Filing source and official link

BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.

03 Supplier payments

Payment practices and performance

Period to 30 June 2026
Average time to pay25.0 days
Paid within 30 days72.0%
Paid after 60 days3.0%
Not paid within terms11.0%
Reporting period
1 January 2026 – 30 June 2026
Filed
24 July 2026
Shortest standard term
14 days
Longest standard term
60 days
E-invoicing offered
No
Supply-chain finance
Not offered
Payment codes
No
Construction retentions
No qualifying construction contracts
Complete reported payment fields
Policy regime
Regime-3
Financial period started
1 January 2026
Qualifying contracts
Yes
Payments made
Yes
Invoice value paid within 30 days
£8,736,125
Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
£3,223,132
Invoice value paid after 60 days
£855,299
Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
£29,348
Invoices paid in 31–60 days
25.0%
Invoices unpaid due to dispute
0.0%
Maximum contractual payment period
60 days
Supplier-list charging policy
No
Supplier-list charges made
No
Reported terms and dispute process
  1. Standard payment terms

    15th of the month following invoice

  2. Dispute resolution process

    Buyer contacts supplier directly

Earlier payment reports (11 shown)
  1. 23.0 average days to pay2.0% outside terms
  2. 25.0 average days to pay1.0% outside terms
  3. 21.0 average days to pay6.0% outside terms
  4. 24.0 average days to pay0.0% outside terms
  5. 24.0 average days to pay10.0% outside terms
  6. 22.0 average days to pay16.0% outside terms
  7. 27.0 average days to pay1.0% outside terms
  8. 25.0 average days to pay1.0% outside terms
  9. 26.0 average days to pay18.0% outside terms
  10. 26.0 average days to pay0.0% outside terms
  11. 23.0 average days to pay17.0% outside terms
i

This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.

04 Global legal identity

Legal Entity Identifier

Snapshot 31 August 2026
ISSUED · ACTIVE

HILL & SMITH PLC

LEI 2138003A3ISGQZBOWI83 · jurisdiction GB

Legal form
B6ES
Entity category
GENERAL
Entity created
30 September 1960
Initial LEI registration
6 August 2014
LEI last updated
29 July 2026
Next renewal
6 August 2027
Managing LOU
213800WAVVOPS85N2205
Other legal names
HILL & SMITH HOLDINGS PLC
Legal address
WESTHAVEN HOUSE, ARLESTON WAY, SHIRLEY, SOLIHULL, GB-SOL, B90 4LH, GB
Headquarters address
WESTHAVEN HOUSE, ARLESTON WAY, SHIRLEY, SOLIHULL, GB-SOL, B90 4LH, GB

GLEIF parent-reporting exceptions

LEI 2138003A3ISGQZBOWI83

DIRECT ACCOUNTING CONSOLIDATION PARENT

NON_CONSOLIDATING

LEI 2138003A3ISGQZBOWI83

ULTIMATE ACCOUNTING CONSOLIDATION PARENT

NON_CONSOLIDATING

i

LEI data provides global legal identity and source-reported relationships, not a credit or regulatory approval. BritDB links Level 1 identities only through GLEIF’s Companies House registration-authority identifier and exact company number; Level 2 parent and fund relationships and reporting exceptions are reproduced as supplied by GLEIF.

05 Supply-chain transparency

Modern slavery statement

Statement year 2026
Organisation
HILL & SMITH PLC
Group submission
Yes
Statement period
1 January 2025 – 31 December 2025
Approved
6 March 2026
Sectors
Construction, civil engineering and building products

Organisation structure

Covered in the statement

Policies

Covered in the statement

Risk assessment

Covered in the statement

Due diligence

Covered in the statement

Training

Covered in the statement

Goals and KPIs

Not reported as covered

Full statement information supplied to the registry
Reported turnover band
Over £500 million
Years producing statements
More than 5 years
ILO indicators included
Not answered
Registry record updated
14 April 2026

Policies described

Freedom of workers to terminate employment Prohibits any threat of violence, harassment and intimidation Prohibits child labour Prohibits discrimination Prohibits confiscation of workers' original identification documents

Training described

Your whole organisation Your front line staff Human resources Executive-level staff Procurement staff

Worker engagement and working conditions

Your suppliers Trade unions or worker representative groups Workers within your organisation

Social audits

Audit conducted by your staff

Grievance mechanisms

Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app

Other monitoring

Internal Audit, HR, site visits and meeting with employees without management present

Demonstrated progress

We don't employ KPIs, but indicate the areas of risk we have reviewed during the year in question and those we intend to review in the following year.

Reported risks and mitigations

  • Risk: The Group has a presence in India, which the Global Slavery Index identifies as having a higher modern slavery prevalence rate.
  • Area: Within your supply chains
  • Tier: Don't know
  • Group: Refugees Children
  • Location: India
  • Mitigation: Our Indian subsidiary mitigates this risk by holding necessary state and central licences and permits required to operate a manufacturing facility. It is audited internally, and by local authorities to ensure that the facility meets the requisite standards to continue to operate. All employees have identity and age checks undertaken prior to commencing employment. The terms of employment for our Indian employees grant rights to cease employment at will, subject to contractual notice period.
  • Risk: Hill & Smith operates in the construction sector which is consistently identified as a high‑risk for forced labour.
  • Group: Migrants
  • Location: United Kingdom United States
  • Mitigation: H&S mitigates sector exposure through a robust, multi layered governance and due diligence framework that is applied consistently across its operations. Core safeguards include a stringent Group Supply Chain Policy, which mandates supplier due diligence, annual performance reviews, and the requirement for all key suppliers to complete Compliance Certificates confirming adherence to anti slavery and human rights standards.
  • Risk: A small number of subsidiaries source componentry and raw materials from higher risk jurisdictions. Mining and mineral extraction are consistently flagged by the ILO and GSI as high risk.
  • Group: Migrants Children
  • Location: China India
  • Mitigation: We monitor the countries that provide us with these types of materials and compare them with the Global Slavery Index. Supplier Compliance Certificates provide annual assurance from key suppliers and embed Code of Conduct and Hill & Smith policy mandates reporting of breaches and lowers residual supply chain risk. It is recognised that greater transparency throughout the supply chain will help reduce modern slavery risk.
i

A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.

06 Ownership and control

People with significant control

Snapshot 25 August 2026
Current records0
Ceased records0
PSC source and official link →

No PSC entry for this company was present in the imported snapshot.

i

PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.

07 Charity register

Charity Commission links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCEW

No exact company-number link in this snapshot

The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.

i

This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.

08 Northern Ireland charity register

CCNI exact company links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCNI

No unambiguous company-number link found

The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.

i

CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.

09 Sanctions screening

UK Sanctions List

Report 28 August 2026
UKSL

No exact business-registration-number link found

The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

!

No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.

10 Public procurement

Find a Tender links

Snapshot 22 August 2026
FTS

No exact GB-COH link in this snapshot

Find a Tender did not explicitly identify this Companies House number in a procurement party. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.

11 Environmental register

Environment Agency waste registrations

Snapshot 25 August 2026
EA

No exact company-number registration linked

The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.

12 Nature of business

Standard Industrial Classification

SIC 2007

13 Connected public record

Checks beyond the company register

Partial coverage
CCEW

Charity Commission

0 exact company-number links.

Checked
CCNI

Northern Ireland charities

0 unambiguous company-number links.

Checked
FTS

Public contracts

0 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.

Checked
EA

Waste register

0 exact company-number registrations.

Checked
GZ

Corporate notices

The Gazette is not yet connected.

Not checked
UKSL

UK Sanctions List

No exact business-registration-number link in this report.

Checked
!

A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.

14 Record timeline

Dates in the bulk record

4 events
  1. Confirmation statement

    Latest confirmation statement made up to this date

  2. Accounts

    Latest accounts made up to this date

  3. Company name

    Previous name: HILL & SMITH HOLDINGS PLC

  4. Incorporation

    Company incorporated

15 Provenance

Sources for this profile

10 sources

Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.