TXT In plain English
Company description
PROTEC FIRE DETECTION PUBLIC LIMITED COMPANY is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Public Limited Company”. Incorporated on 16 May 1974; registered for 52 years; registered office reported in LOMESHAYE IND EST, NELSON LANCS. Its primary declared activity is 26110 · Manufacture of electronic components.
This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 1 PSC record, 17 procurement records, 1 waste registration. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- PROTEC FIRE DETECTION PUBLIC LIMITED COMPANY
- Company number
- 01170489
- Company type
- Public Limited Company
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- FULL
- Mortgage charges
- 8 total · 0 outstanding · 8 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
31 December 2025Next accounts due
30 June 2027Last statement made up to
31 January 2026Next statement due
14 February 2027BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Workforce reporting
Gender pay gap
- Median bonus gap
- 69.5%
- Mean bonus gap
- 66.2%
- Women receiving bonus
- 23.6%
- Men receiving bonus
- 21.0%
- Women in top quartile
- 8.8%
- Women in upper middle quartile
- 8.6%
- Women in lower middle quartile
- 22.0%
- Women in lower quartile
- 43.1%
Earlier reporting years (7)
- 500 to 99926.1% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99933.0% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99927.7% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99933.2% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99933.2% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99932.5% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99933.7% median hourly gap
Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.
04 Supplier payments
Payment practices and performance
- Reporting period
- 1 January 2026 – 30 June 2026
- Filed
- 17 July 2026
- Shortest standard term
- 0 days
- Longest standard term
- Not supplied
- E-invoicing offered
- Yes
- Supply-chain finance
- Not offered
- Payment codes
- No
- Construction retentions
- Reported as used
Complete reported payment fields
- Policy regime
- Regime-3
- Financial period started
- 1 January 2026
- Qualifying contracts
- Yes
- Payments made
- Yes
- Invoice value paid within 30 days
- £4,096,521
- Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
- £11,249,718
- Invoice value paid after 60 days
- £7,324,345
- Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
- £379,521
- Invoices paid in 31–60 days
- 41.0%
- Invoices unpaid due to dispute
- 0.0%
- Maximum contractual payment period
- 90 days
- Supplier-list charging policy
- No
- Supplier-list charges made
- No
Retention circumstances
We use retention clauses on orders in excess of£20k or where we have upstream obligations (main contracts)
Retention parity policy
We would always apply less or equal retention clauses (if needed) to what has been applied by our contractors
Retention release
First half retention is released on practical completion
Final retention is released at the end of defects liability period
Retention release stages
First half retention is released on practical completion
Final retention is released at the end of defects liability period
- Retention in all contracts
- No
- Retention in standard terms
- No
- Retention threshold
- £20,000
- Standard retention rate
- 5.0%
- Retention compared with client
- 5.0%
- Retention compared with payments
- 5.0%
Reported terms and dispute process
- Standard payment terms
Unless stated otherwise in the purchase order, payments will be made to suppliers 60 days after the end of the month in which the invoice has been received subject to the invoice bearing the purchase order number and providing the goods have been delivered and all requisite contract documentation submitted in accordance with the contract prior to the receipt of invoice. The date of a valid invoice for these purposes shall be deemed to be 2 days prior to actual receipt of the invoice by the Purchaser, notwithstanding any other date stated on the invoice. The Company feels it has an obligation to meet the guidelines of the Prompt Payment Code and aims to pay 95% of supplier invoices within 60 days
- Dispute resolution process
Protec Fire Detection Plc is committed to dealing with all of its supplier chain members fairly. Transparency and swift resolution of disputed items are key principles of this process. We have a dedicated Team members within the Purchase Ledger department who deal with all supplier queries and any aged invoices. The Purchase Ledger department is responsible for supplier statement reconciliation, requesting copies of POD's or any of contractual paperwork required, invoices and credit notes. The Team work to investigate any delays or issues in order to resolve any queries as quickly as possible
Earlier payment reports (11 shown)
- 60.0 average days to pay4.0% outside terms
- 59.0 average days to pay4.0% outside terms
- 61.0 average days to pay6.0% outside terms
- 67.0 average days to pay9.0% outside terms
- 61.0 average days to pay6.0% outside terms
- 62.0 average days to pay5.0% outside terms
- 57.0 average days to pay5.0% outside terms
- 55.0 average days to pay5.0% outside terms
- 60.0 average days to pay5.0% outside terms
- 62.0 average days to pay5.0% outside terms
- 63.0 average days to pay5.0% outside terms
This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.
05 Global legal identity
Legal Entity Identifier
PROTEC FIRE DETECTION PUBLIC LIMITED COMPANY
LEI 984500E6D8B3EDE07870 · jurisdiction GB
- Legal form
- B6ES
- Entity category
- GENERAL
- Entity created
- 16 May 1974
- Initial LEI registration
- 6 March 2024
- LEI last updated
- 5 January 2026
- Next renewal
- 6 March 2027
- Managing LOU
- 529900T8BM49AURSDO55
- Other legal names
- R.M. PROTEC FIRE DETECTION (NELSON) LIMITED
- Legal address
- Protec House, Churchill Way, Lomeshaye Ind Est, Nelson Lancs, GB-LAN, BB9 6RT, GB
- Headquarters address
- Protec House, Churchill Way, Lomeshaye Ind Est, Nelson Lancs, GB-LAN, BB9 6RT, GB
GLEIF parent-reporting exceptions
DIRECT ACCOUNTING CONSOLIDATION PARENT
NO_KNOWN_PERSON
ULTIMATE ACCOUNTING CONSOLIDATION PARENT
NO_KNOWN_PERSON
LEI data provides global legal identity and source-reported relationships, not a credit or regulatory approval. BritDB links Level 1 identities only through GLEIF’s Companies House registration-authority identifier and exact company number; Level 2 parent and fund relationships and reporting exceptions are reproduced as supplied by GLEIF.
06 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- PROTEC FIRE DETECTION PUBLIC LIMITED COMPANY
- Group submission
- Yes
- Parent organisation
- ROBERT BOSCH UK HOLDINGS LIMITED
- Statement period
- 1 January 2025 – 31 December 2025
- Approved
- 22 July 2026
- Sectors
- Automotive, machinery and heavy electrical equipment Durable consumer goods, including electronics and appliances, home furnishings and other accessories Information technology and telecommunication
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Covered in the statement
Risk assessment
Covered in the statement
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Covered in the statement
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- £100 million to £500 million
- Years producing statements
- More than 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 22 July 2026
Policies described
Freedom of workers to terminate employment Freedom of movement Freedom of association Prohibits any threat of violence, harassment and intimidation Prohibits the use of worker-paid recruitment fees Prohibits compulsory overtime Prohibits child labour Prohibits discrimination Prohibits confiscation of workers' original identification documents Provides access to remedy, compensation and justice for victims of modern slavery
Training described
Your whole organisation Your suppliers
Worker engagement and working conditions
Your suppliers Professional auditors Workers within your organisation Workers within your supply chain Businesses in your industry or sector
Social audits
Audit conducted by your staff
Grievance mechanisms
Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app
Demonstrated progress
Suppliers are scored based on a risk matrix and these are regularly monitored.
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
07 Public procurement
Contracts Finder awards
Fire Alarms and Emergency Lighting Servicing and Maintenance 2026-2030
Lancashire Constabulary · ocds-b5fd17-9179c5cc-1c02-40f2-9fbb-8fda9e440121
- Supplier named in award
- Protec Fire Detection Plc
- Award value
- £325,813.39
- Contract period
- 31 January 2026 – 30 January 2030
- Published
- 6 February 2026
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 31625100
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-9179c5cc-1c02-40f2-9fbb-8fda9e440121-2026-02-06T15:47:59Z
CCTV Installs Melbourne House - 2025
THIRTEEN HOUSING GROUP LIMITED · ocds-b5fd17-2c015ab4-613a-46c8-be2a-39c4852be1e7
- Supplier named in award
- Protec Fire Detection PLC
- Award value
- £29,851.55
- Contract period
- 26 February 2025 – 31 March 2025
- Published
- 24 March 2025
- Procedure
- Competitive quotation (below threshold)
- Main CPV
- 32234000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-2c015ab4-613a-46c8-be2a-39c4852be1e7-2025-03-24T15:15:22Z
Fire Alarm Panel Upgrade
Hull College · ocds-b5fd17-e5d7d479-7571-4eb8-962d-23479720ec55
- Supplier named in award
- Protec Fire Detection
- Award value
- £58,000
- Contract period
- 1 February 2024 – 1 February 2024
- Published
- 13 December 2024
- Procedure
- Single tender action (below threshold)
- Main CPV
- 31625200
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-e5d7d479-7571-4eb8-962d-23479720ec55-2024-12-13T11:56:05Z
Leyland Station Fire Alarm Upgrade
Lancashire Constabulary · ocds-b5fd17-13df3051-b9a6-4e67-9040-ff97406b1b3c
- Supplier named in award
- Protec Fire Detection Plc
- Award value
- £14,878
- Contract period
- 20 November 2023 – 1 January 2024
- Published
- 13 November 2023
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 31625200
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-13df3051-b9a6-4e67-9040-ff97406b1b3c-2023-11-13T17:06:35Z
Maintenance of Protec Fire Alarm System
UNIVERSITY OF KEELE · ocds-b5fd17-1ce96bf9-8567-4e5c-a3c8-dee6e72b132e
- Supplier named in award
- Protec Fire Detection plc
- Award value
- £126,611.97
- Contract period
- 1 May 2023 – 30 April 2026
- Published
- 8 January 2024
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 31625000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-1ce96bf9-8567-4e5c-a3c8-dee6e72b132e-2024-01-08T11:13:33Z
Fire Alarm Upgrade
Staffordshire County Council · ocds-b5fd17-ebbc49e5-4906-46d4-b2b6-73bc3ef64ee9
- Supplier named in award
- Protec Fire Detection Plc
- Award value
- £40,000
- Contract period
- 1 March 2023 – 31 August 2023
- Published
- 26 January 2023
- Procedure
- Other - Direct Award - Exception
- Main CPV
- 31625200
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-ebbc49e5-4906-46d4-b2b6-73bc3ef64ee9-2023-01-26T09:39:30Z
Blackpool Indemnity House - Fire System Upgrade
LANCASHIRE CONSTABULARY · ocds-b5fd17-66fc6dad-7769-4ba1-a5f9-247fff44b53f
- Supplier named in award
- Protec Fire Detection Plc
- Award value
- £23,047.74
- Contract period
- 15 August 2022 – 14 September 2022
- Published
- 28 July 2022
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 35111500
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-66fc6dad-7769-4ba1-a5f9-247fff44b53f-2022-07-28T12:17:58+01:00
SERVICE MAINTENANCE OF PROTEC FIRE ALARM AND GAS FLOODING SYSTEM
HULL UNIVERSITY TEACHING HOSPITALS NHS TRUST · ocds-b5fd17-7352a655-bb34-41f9-86d5-e108f942464b
- Supplier named in award
- PROTEC FIRE DETECTION PUBLIC LIMITED COMPANY
- Award value
- £301,565.91
- Contract period
- 1 August 2021 – 31 July 2026
- Published
- 5 October 2021
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 50000000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-7352a655-bb34-41f9-86d5-e108f942464b-2021-10-05T14:19:06+01:00
The supplier link is exact, but the award remains buyer-published procurement data. BritDB requires the GB-COH identifier supplied in the Contracts Finder OCDS release and does not infer suppliers from similar names.
08 Ownership and control
People with significant control
Protec Fire And Security Group Limited
- Owns 75% or more of shares
- Controls 75% or more of voting rights
- Can appoint or remove directors
- Country registered
- Uk
- Legal authority
- Uk
- Legal form
- Limited Company
- Place registered
- Uk
- Registration number
- 02039210
- Notified
- 31 January 2017
PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.
09 Charity register
Charity Commission links
No exact company-number link in this snapshot
The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.
This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
10 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
11 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
12 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
Z7.56 Fire Alarm & Gas Suppression Systems
GLOUCESTERSHIRE HOSPITALS SUBSIDIARY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 9 September 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Supply & Installation of Replacement Fire Alarm Equipment at University Hospital of Wales
NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership-Procurement Services (hosted by Velindre University NHS Trust) · updated 30 June 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Fire Alarm Panel, Detectors and Sounders Replacement
University of Sunderland · updated 11 May 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
The Triad Reinstatement of Fire Alarm
Sefton Council · updated 26 February 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Fire Alarm Upgrades
Gov Facility Services Ltd · updated 22 January 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Fire/General Alarm System Replacement
Gov Facility Services Ltd · updated 15 December 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
General and Specialist Building Works Including: Ventilation, Aids & Adaptations, Extensions and Specialist Works for High-Risk Buildings (HRBs).
Hull City Council · updated 22 November 2025
- Tender value
- £3,249,000,000
- Awards
- 937
Fire Safety Framework
LHC · updated 30 July 2024
- Tender value
- £105,000,000
- Awards
- 12
Provision of Fire Extinguisher Servicing and Maintenance at Stations, Depots and Offices
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 25 March 2024
- Tender value
- £400,000
- Awards
- 2
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
13 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
14 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
15 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
0 exact company-number links.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
9 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
1 exact company-number registration.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
16 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
17 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Global legal identities linked through Companies House registration authority RA000585.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Historic awards linked by exact source-supplied GB-COH company identifier.
Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.