TXT In plain English
Company description
ALUN GRIFFITHS (CONTRACTORS) LIMITED is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Private Limited Company”. Incorporated on 23 April 1980; registered for 46 years; registered office reported in ABERGAVENNY, MONMOUTHSHIRE, UNITED KINGDOM. Its primary declared activity is 42110 · Construction of roads and motorways, with 3 additional SIC activities reported.
This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 1 PSC record, 13 procurement records. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- ALUN GRIFFITHS (CONTRACTORS) LIMITED
- Company number
- 01493003
- Company type
- Private Limited Company
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- FULL
- Mortgage charges
- 34 total · 1 outstanding · 33 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
31 December 2025Next accounts due
30 September 2027Last statement made up to
24 January 2026Next statement due
7 February 2027BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Workforce reporting
Gender pay gap
- Median bonus gap
- Not supplied
- Mean bonus gap
- Not supplied
- Women receiving bonus
- 0.0%
- Men receiving bonus
- 0.0%
- Women in top quartile
- 9.3%
- Women in upper middle quartile
- 17.2%
- Women in lower middle quartile
- 13.9%
- Women in lower quartile
- 15.2%
Earlier reporting years (8)
- 500 to 9995.3% median hourly gap
- 500 to 9996.0% median hourly gap
- 500 to 9994.1% median hourly gap
- 500 to 9997.4% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99920.5% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99921.0% median hourly gap
- 500 to 9995.0% median hourly gap
- 500 to 9995.2% median hourly gap
Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.
04 Supplier payments
Payment practices and performance
- Reporting period
- 1 January 2026 – 30 June 2026
- Filed
- 13 August 2026
- Shortest standard term
- 0 days
- Longest standard term
- 60 days
- E-invoicing offered
- No
- Supply-chain finance
- Not offered
- Payment codes
- Prompt Payment Code
- Construction retentions
- Reported as used
Complete reported payment fields
- Policy regime
- Regime-3
- Financial period started
- 1 January 2026
- Qualifying contracts
- Yes
- Payments made
- Yes
- Invoice value paid within 30 days
- £44,438,106
- Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
- £12,849,561
- Invoice value paid after 60 days
- £1,716,183
- Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
- £2,132,520
- Invoices paid in 31–60 days
- 29.0%
- Invoices unpaid due to dispute
- 90.0%
- Maximum contractual payment period
- 60 days
- Supplier-list charging policy
- No
- Supplier-list charges made
- No
Payment terms changed
The payments which were made late for the reporting period was due to agreeing rates with suppliers due to the war in Iran, changes in surcharges mainly relating to the fuel price changes during this period.
These being resolved, the number of invoices in dispute has significantly reduced.
How suppliers were notified
Meetings were held with suppliers to work through the additional charges which were being added to existing Purchase Orders.
Maximum contractual payment information
Statistical information represents a combination of purchase ledger suppliers and sub-contract payments. Maximum payment term applies to only a handful of very large companies with historical payment agreements and high volume invoices.
Retention circumstances
Large value measured works for subcontractors
Retention release
At completion of the project we release 50% of the retention due with the remaining retention paid when the defect certificate has been issued by the client.
Retention release stages
50% on completion with remaining 50% released when defect period has completed.
- Retention in all contracts
- No
- Retention in standard terms
- No
- Retention threshold
- Not supplied
- Standard retention rate
- 5.0%
- Retention compared with client
- 10.0%
- Retention compared with payments
- 1.0%
Reported terms and dispute process
- Standard payment terms
Our standard payment terms are 30 days end of month, for all new suppliers as published on our website. Although we have historic payment terms which range from payment on receipt to 90 days end of month, with 90% of suppliers being on 30 days end of month.
- Dispute resolution process
Invoices/requests for payments which do not automatically match to the purchase order are electronically sent out to the requisitioner who is responsible for taking the action required to resolve the query. Disputed invoices are monitored on a regular basis to ensure the requisitioner and supplier resolve the dispute as soon as possible.
Earlier payment reports (11 shown)
- 29.0 average days to pay53.0% outside terms
- 29.0 average days to pay66.0% outside terms
- 29.0 average days to pay74.0% outside terms
- 24.0 average days to pay28.0% outside terms
- 29.0 average days to pay37.0% outside terms
- 32.0 average days to pay43.0% outside terms
- 33.0 average days to pay44.0% outside terms
- 37.0 average days to pay42.0% outside terms
- 38.0 average days to pay50.0% outside terms
- 40.0 average days to pay43.0% outside terms
- 34.0 average days to pay69.0% outside terms
This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.
05 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- ALUN GRIFFITHS (CONTRACTORS) LIMITED
- Group submission
- No
- Statement period
- 1 January 2025 – 1 July 2026
- Approved
- 1 July 2026
- Sectors
- Construction, civil engineering and building products
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Not reported as covered
Risk assessment
Covered in the statement
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Covered in the statement
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- £100 million to £500 million
- Years producing statements
- More than 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 1 July 2026
Training described
Your whole organisation Human resources
Worker engagement and working conditions
Your suppliers Workers within your organisation Workers within your supply chain Businesses in your industry or sector
Grievance mechanisms
Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app
Earlier linked statements (2)
- ALUN GRIFFITHS (CONTRACTORS) LIMITED31 December 2023
- ALUN GRIFFITHS (CONTRACTORS) LIMITED31 December 2020
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
06 Public procurement
Contracts Finder awards
Regional Delivery Partnership - Delivery Integration Partner Framework (RDP-DIP)
National Highways · ocds-b5fd17-85c20890-eb5d-4a31-be0b-c93397036d23
- Supplier named in award
- Alun Griffiths (Contractors)Ltd
- Award value
- £0
- Contract period
- 29 March 2023 – 28 February 2026
- Published
- 29 March 2023
- Procedure
- Other - Award of a contract without prior publication
- Main CPV
- 45000000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-85c20890-eb5d-4a31-be0b-c93397036d23-2023-03-29T09:17:35+01:00
West End MSCP - Phase 2 (Feb 2022)
Bristol City Council · ocds-b5fd17-0109a5da-8208-4aa1-a2c6-cacca680ff47
- Supplier named in award
- ALUN GRIFFITHS (CONTRACTORS) LIMITED
- Award value
- £636,211.83
- Contract period
- 1 February 2022 – 12 April 2022
- Published
- 3 March 2022
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 45200000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-0109a5da-8208-4aa1-a2c6-cacca680ff47-2022-03-03T09:10:38Z
Redcliffe Bridge - Precommencement Works
Bristol City Council · ocds-b5fd17-04166f5f-dfd4-4ccd-924b-9dcb2794d4a2
- Supplier named in award
- ALUN GRIFFITHS (CONTRACTORS) LIMITED
- Award value
- £48,749.40
- Contract period
- 4 January 2022 – 4 February 2022
- Published
- 8 February 2022
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 45100000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-04166f5f-dfd4-4ccd-924b-9dcb2794d4a2-2022-02-08T12:08:38Z
West End MSCP - VRS, Deck Coatings & Lining
Bristol City Council · ocds-b5fd17-e289bac0-b846-442c-9d4c-1c7229ce81e0
- Supplier named in award
- ALUN GRIFFITHS (CONTRACTORS) LIMITED
- Award value
- £267,586.97
- Contract period
- 1 December 2021 – 12 April 2022
- Published
- 26 January 2022
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 45200000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-e289bac0-b846-442c-9d4c-1c7229ce81e0-2022-01-26T15:48:12Z
West End Multi-Storey Car Park - Concrete Repairs (Dec/Jan 2022)
Bristol City Council · ocds-b5fd17-cf205df4-7875-4569-b192-e17c8004743d
- Supplier named in award
- ALUN GRIFFITHS (CONTRACTORS) LIMITED
- Award value
- £345,000
- Contract period
- 1 December 2021 – 31 January 2022
- Published
- 26 January 2022
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 45200000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-cf205df4-7875-4569-b192-e17c8004743d-2022-01-26T16:49:25Z
West End Multi-Storey Car Park - Concrete Repairs (Oct/Nov 2021)
Bristol City Council · ocds-b5fd17-9e31c293-403a-4d43-ba75-f73f16265939
- Supplier named in award
- ALUN GRIFFITHS (CONTRACTORS) LIMITED
- Award value
- £142,666.11
- Contract period
- 1 October 2021 – 30 November 2021
- Published
- 26 January 2022
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 45200000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-9e31c293-403a-4d43-ba75-f73f16265939-2022-01-26T16:40:53Z
The supplier link is exact, but the award remains buyer-published procurement data. BritDB requires the GB-COH identifier supplied in the Contracts Finder OCDS release and does not infer suppliers from similar names.
07 Ownership and control
People with significant control
Purple Alpha Limited
- Owns 75% or more of shares
- Country registered
- Wales
- Legal authority
- Companies Act 2006
- Legal form
- Limited Company
- Place registered
- England & Wales Company Registry
- Registration number
- 07783912
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.
08 Charity register
Charity Commission links
No exact company-number link in this snapshot
The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.
This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
09 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
10 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
11 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
PL0348 Infrastructure Engineering Term Contract 2025
Worcestershire County Council · updated 17 September 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
New Highways and Public Realm Schemes Framework-Herefordshire Council (2026-2030)
Herefordshire Council · updated 11 September 2026
- Tender value
- £100,000,000
- Awards
- 8
Minor Engineering Works Framework Contract 2026-2030
Devon County Council · updated 13 April 2026
- Tender value
- £65,000,000
- Awards
- 6
Emergency Call Out and Minor Work (ECOMW) Framework 2025
Mining Remediation Authority · updated 6 March 2026
- Tender value
- £19,500,000
- Awards
- 1
GCC Highways Major Projects Construction Framework
Gloucestershire County Council · updated 23 February 2026
- Tender value
- £60,000,000
- Awards
- 2
Generation 5 (Gen5) Civil Engineering, Highways and Transportation Collaborative Framework 2024 - 2028
HAMPSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL · updated 26 January 2024
- Tender value
- £500,000,000
- Awards
- 26
Cullompton Town Centre Relief Road
Devon County Council · updated 22 June 2026
- Tender value
- £15,000,000
- Awards
- 1
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
12 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
No exact company-number registration linked
The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
13 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
Construction of railways and underground railways
Construction of utility projects for fluids
Construction of other civil engineering projects n.e.c.
14 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
0 exact company-number links.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
7 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
0 exact company-number registrations.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
15 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
16 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Historic awards linked by exact source-supplied GB-COH company identifier.
Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.