Public Limited Company

BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING PLC

ActiveCompany 01984336United Kingdom
Bulk record snapshot1 AUG 2026Source details →

Registered office

50 BEDFORD SQUARE, LONDON, WC1B 3DP
Incorporated30 January 1986
Company age40 years

TXT In plain English

Company description

BritDB description

BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING PLC is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Public Limited Company”. Incorporated on 30 January 1986; registered for 40 years; registered office reported in LONDON. Its primary declared activity is 58110 · Book publishing, with 2 additional SIC activities reported.

This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 26 trade marks, 8 procurement records. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.

Prepared from public dataChecked 2 September 2026 · 13 profile sources connected
How this description is built →
i

Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.

01 Company overview

Identity and registration

Snapshot 1 August 2026
Official name
BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING PLC
Company number
01984336
Company type
Public Limited Company
Status
Active
Country of origin
United Kingdom
Dissolution date
Not supplied
Accounts category
GROUP
Mortgage charges
13 total · 0 outstanding · 13 satisfied
Limited partnership members
0 general · 0 limited
i

A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.

02 Filing dates

Accounts and statements

Companies House
AccountsBulk record

Last accounts made up to

28 February 2025

Next accounts due

31 August 2026
Confirmation statementBulk record

Last statement made up to

24 June 2026

Next statement due

8 July 2027
Filing source and official link

BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.

03 Workforce reporting

Gender pay gap

Reporting year 2025–2026
Employer size500 to 999
Median hourly gap17.5%
Mean hourly gap17.6%
Submitted24 March 2026
Submission deadline5 April 2026
Submission timingSubmitted by deadline
Median bonus gap
21.3%
Mean bonus gap
53.5%
Women receiving bonus
78.9%
Men receiving bonus
82.5%
Women in top quartile
63.1%
Women in upper middle quartile
71.0%
Women in lower middle quartile
78.6%
Women in lower quartile
80.5%
Earlier reporting years (8)
  1. 500 to 99919.3% median hourly gap
  2. 500 to 99912.7% median hourly gap
  3. 500 to 99920.5% median hourly gap
  4. 500 to 99914.8% median hourly gap
  5. 500 to 99911.7% median hourly gap
  6. 500 to 99919.7% median hourly gap
  7. 250 to 49921.7% median hourly gap
  8. 250 to 49917.2% median hourly gap
i

Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.

04 Supplier payments

Payment practices and performance

Period to 28 February 2026
Average time to pay39.0 days
Paid within 30 days53.0%
Paid after 60 days21.0%
Not paid within terms28.0%
Reporting period
31 August 2025 – 28 February 2026
Filed
27 March 2026
Shortest standard term
30 days
Longest standard term
180 days
E-invoicing offered
No
Supply-chain finance
Not offered
Payment codes
No
Construction retentions
No qualifying construction contracts
Complete reported payment fields
Policy regime
Regime-2
Financial period started
1 March 2025
Qualifying contracts
Yes
Payments made
Yes
Invoice value paid within 30 days
£18,882,168
Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
£13,322,635
Invoice value paid after 60 days
£17,606,713
Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
£17,599,559
Invoices paid in 31–60 days
26.0%
Invoices unpaid due to dispute
0.0%
Maximum contractual payment period
180 days
Supplier-list charging policy
No
Supplier-list charges made
No
Reported terms and dispute process
  1. Standard payment terms

    The standard contractual payment terms for suppliers is 30 days however this varies for each supplier dependent on the nature of the expense.

  2. Dispute resolution process

    When a payment dispute is raised the accounts payable team deal with them as quickly as possible and escalate to the relevant contact within the business where necessary.

Earlier payment reports (11 shown)
  1. 33.0 average days to pay30.0% outside terms
  2. 38.0 average days to pay29.0% outside terms
  3. 38.0 average days to pay28.0% outside terms
  4. 39.0 average days to pay28.0% outside terms
  5. 39.0 average days to pay29.0% outside terms
  6. 39.0 average days to pay29.0% outside terms
  7. 38.0 average days to pay30.0% outside terms
  8. 43.0 average days to pay31.0% outside terms
  9. 44.0 average days to pay34.0% outside terms
  10. 46.0 average days to pay33.0% outside terms
  11. 43.0 average days to pay37.0% outside terms
i

This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.

05 Global legal identity

Legal Entity Identifier

Snapshot 31 August 2026
ISSUED · ACTIVE

BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING PLC

LEI 213800ZL2PEC4C6UOQ53 · jurisdiction GB

Legal form
B6ES
Entity category
GENERAL
Entity created
30 January 1986
Initial LEI registration
23 October 2017
LEI last updated
3 June 2026
Next renewal
23 July 2027
Managing LOU
213800WAVVOPS85N2205
Legal address
50 BEDFORD SQUARE, LONDON, GB-LND, WC1B 3DP, GB
Headquarters address
50 BEDFORD SQUARE, LONDON, GB-LND, WC1B 3DP, GB

GLEIF parent-reporting exceptions

LEI 213800ZL2PEC4C6UOQ53

DIRECT ACCOUNTING CONSOLIDATION PARENT

NON_CONSOLIDATING

LEI 213800ZL2PEC4C6UOQ53

ULTIMATE ACCOUNTING CONSOLIDATION PARENT

NON_CONSOLIDATING

i

LEI data provides global legal identity and source-reported relationships, not a credit or regulatory approval. BritDB links Level 1 identities only through GLEIF’s Companies House registration-authority identifier and exact company number; Level 2 parent and fund relationships and reporting exceptions are reproduced as supplied by GLEIF.

06 Supply-chain transparency

Modern slavery statement

Statement year 2025
Organisation
BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING PLC
Group submission
No
Statement period
1 March 2024 – 28 February 2025
Approved
27 August 2025
Sectors
Media, publishing, arts and entertainment

Organisation structure

Covered in the statement

Policies

Covered in the statement

Risk assessment

Covered in the statement

Due diligence

Covered in the statement

Training

Covered in the statement

Goals and KPIs

Not reported as covered

Full statement information supplied to the registry
Reported turnover band
£100 million to £500 million
Years producing statements
More than 5 years
ILO indicators included
Not answered
Registry record updated
29 August 2025

Policies described

Other

Training described

Your whole organisation

Worker engagement and working conditions

Your suppliers Civil society organisations Businesses in your industry or sector

Social audits

Audit conducted by your staff Third party audit arranged by your organisation

Grievance mechanisms

Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app

Other monitoring

Membership of the Book Chain Project (an industry wide initiative), ICTI Ethical Toy Program, sourcing paper only from the Forestry Stewardship Council approved sources.

Demonstrated progress

We are in the early stages of developing effectiveness measures. The EcoVadis platform (detailed in the Statement) will support future KPIs.

Reported risks and mitigations

  • Risk: Book production services in China and the Far East.
  • Area: Within your supply chains
  • Tier: Tier 3 suppliers and below
  • Group: Other vulnerable groups
  • Mitigation: Direct engagement and visits by senior staff; participation in industry-wide initiatives such as FSC, the Book Chain Project and ICTI certification in China
  • Risk: Support services to our office in India
  • Area: Within your own operations
  • Mitigation: Local management operate to high standards, Directors and senior UK based management visit frequently, and local support staff are not contracted out and are included as part of the team. While aware of the potential for exploitation, the risk is not considered high.
  • Risk: There is no third risk
  • Area: N/A
  • Mitigation: We do not perceive a third area of risk, this entry is only made in order to complete the return.
i

A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.

07 Data protection

ICO fee-payer registration

Candidate match
Tier 3

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Registration Z7552956

Registered from
20 February 2003
Current end date
19 February 2027
!

This is a candidate association, not an official Companies House link. The ICO file supplies no company number. The organisation name and postcode uniquely matched this company in the current snapshot. BritDB excludes all DPO contact fields and does not publish unmatched personal entries.

08 Public procurement

Contracts Finder awards

Exact GB-COH links
active · 7 August 2024

Online Legal Resources - Bloomsbury

Ministry of Justice · ocds-b5fd17-de163761-f7b5-4149-bbd0-c33faf56c4db

Supplier named in award
Bloomsbury Publishing
Award value
£1,090,000
Contract period
1 April 2024 – 31 March 2028
Published
6 September 2024
Procedure
Negotiated procedure without prior publication (above threshold)
Main CPV
79970000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-de163761-f7b5-4149-bbd0-c33faf56c4db-2024-09-06T16:36:28+01:00
active · 1 April 2024

Legal Publications Print & eBook 24-25 Call Offs

Ministry of Justice · ocds-b5fd17-93635f09-69f7-4fed-be5d-8e6fafb773ed

Supplier named in award
BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING PLC
Award value
£4,462,373
Contract period
1 April 2024 – 31 March 2025
Published
25 July 2024
Procedure
Call-off from a framework agreement
Main CPV
22120000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-93635f09-69f7-4fed-be5d-8e6fafb773ed-2024-07-25T22:55:00+01:00
active · 1 April 2023

Legal Publications Print & eBook Call Offs 2023/24

Ministry of Justice · ocds-b5fd17-76045526-84f4-49a0-9fb5-21e94e412d33

Supplier named in award
BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING PLC
Award value
£5,050,000
Contract period
1 April 2023 – 31 March 2024
Published
25 April 2023
Procedure
Call-off from a framework agreement
Main CPV
22120000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-76045526-84f4-49a0-9fb5-21e94e412d33-2023-04-25T09:42:45+01:00
active · 1 April 2022

Legal Publications Print & eBook

Ministry of Justice · ocds-b5fd17-fcf45fc3-ece7-4988-a11b-8294ab99cd09

Supplier named in award
Bloomsbury Publishing
Award value
£4,805,016
Contract period
1 April 2022 – 31 March 2023
Published
4 November 2022
Procedure
Call-off from a framework agreement
Main CPV
22120000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-fcf45fc3-ece7-4988-a11b-8294ab99cd09-2022-11-04T11:44:23Z
active · 1 December 2021

Key collection of packages to provide essential reading in an accessible digital format

UNIVERSITY OF DERBY · ocds-b5fd17-70f72808-5e9c-4191-8f8c-f78524b03dde

Supplier named in award
BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING PLC
Award value
£7,468
Contract period
1 December 2021 – 31 December 2021
Published
14 December 2021
Procedure
Other - Sole supply
Main CPV
80420000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-70f72808-5e9c-4191-8f8c-f78524b03dde-2021-12-14T12:35:27Z
active · 22 October 2021

Online Legal Resources

Ministry of Justice · ocds-b5fd17-7d8d21f7-09d1-4475-b12c-ead6705c1a04

Supplier named in award
Bloomsbury Publishing Plc
Award value
£780,000
Contract period
22 October 2021 – 31 March 2024
Published
19 November 2021
Procedure
Call-off from a framework agreement
Main CPV
22000000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-7d8d21f7-09d1-4475-b12c-ead6705c1a04-2021-11-19T09:45:27Z
active · 1 April 2020

Printed Legal Publications and ebooks

Ministry of Justice · ocds-b5fd17-010ae23f-2790-4c6b-ad3a-b3427c0e33e3

Supplier named in award
Bloomsbury Publishing Plc
Award value
£4,753,350
Contract period
1 April 2021 – 31 March 2022
Published
4 November 2022
Procedure
Call-off from a framework agreement
Main CPV
22000000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-010ae23f-2790-4c6b-ad3a-b3427c0e33e3-2022-11-04T17:23:31Z
active · 31 March 2017

Framework for the Provision of Legal Publications - Print and eBook

Ministry Of Justice · ocds-b5fd17-a361e2fb-adc8-11e6-9901-0019b9f3037b

Supplier named in award
Bloomsbury plc
Award value
£215,000
Contract period
1 April 2017 – 31 March 2020
Published
9 October 2019
Procedure
Open procedure (above threshold)
Main CPV
22100000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-a361e2fb-adc8-11e6-9901-0019b9f3037b-2019-10-09T14:34:16+01:00
i

The supplier link is exact, but the award remains buyer-published procurement data. BritDB requires the GB-COH identifier supplied in the Contracts Finder OCDS release and does not infer suppliers from similar names.

TM UK trade marks

Exact owner-name matches

26 records
Registered · UK00003202276

OLD HOUSE

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 16

Filed / designated
14 December 2016
Valid until / renewal due
14 December 2026
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00003120006

33 1/3

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
29 July 2015
Valid until / renewal due
29 July 2025
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00003081391

CONWAY

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
13 November 2014
Valid until / renewal due
13 November 2024
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00003066809

MUSIC EXPRESS

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
1 August 2014
Valid until / renewal due
1 August 2024
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00003034817

BLOOMSBURY SPARK

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
13 December 2013
Valid until / renewal due
13 December 2023
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00003034819

BLOOMSBURY SPARK

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
13 December 2013
Valid until / renewal due
13 December 2023
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00003031707

HART PUBLISHING

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
21 November 2013
Valid until / renewal due
21 November 2023
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00003031713

Figurative mark

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
21 November 2013
Valid until / renewal due
21 November 2023
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00002628773

FEATHERSTONE

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
17 July 2012
Valid until / renewal due
17 July 2022
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00002628774

Figurative mark

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
17 July 2012
Valid until / renewal due
17 July 2022
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00002625846

BLOOMSBURY INNOVATIONS

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing PLC · classes 9,16,35

Filed / designated
25 June 2012
Valid until / renewal due
25 June 2022
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00002284187

BLOOMSBURY PAPERBACKS

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
29 October 2001
Valid until / renewal due
29 October 2021
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00002284189

BLOOMSBURY

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
29 October 2001
Valid until / renewal due
29 October 2021
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00002209362

REED'S

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 16,41

Filed / designated
23 September 1999
Valid until / renewal due
23 September 2019
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00002197819

CORPUS WORLD ENGLISH

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
19 May 1999
Valid until / renewal due
19 May 2019
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00002197822

DATABASE WORLD ENGLISH

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
19 May 1999
Valid until / renewal due
19 May 2019
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00002124119

Figurative mark

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
19 February 1997
Valid until / renewal due
19 February 2027
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00002055804

KNOW THE GAME

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 16

Filed / designated
7 February 1996
Valid until / renewal due
7 February 2026
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00001566418

BERG

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing PLC · classes 16

Filed / designated
23 March 1994
Valid until / renewal due
23 March 2021
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00001475761

WHO'S WHO

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 16

Filed / designated
6 September 1991
Valid until / renewal due
6 September 2018
Open BritTM →
Registered · UK00001475938

WHO'S WHO Published . annually . since . 1849

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 16

Filed / designated
6 September 1991
Valid until / renewal due
6 September 2018
Open BritTM →
Removed · UK00002284185

BLOOMSBURY CHILDREN'S BOOKS

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
29 October 2001
Valid until / renewal due
29 October 2011
Open BritTM →
Dead · UK00002248960

BLOOMSBURY

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
14 October 2000
Valid until / renewal due
14 October 2010
Open BritTM →
Dead · UK00002123905

ENDICTA

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 9,16,41

Filed / designated
17 February 1997
Valid until / renewal due
17 February 2007
Open BritTM →
Dead · UK00002007510

Figurative mark

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 16

Filed / designated
12 January 1995
Valid until / renewal due
12 January 2005
Open BritTM →
Dead · UK00002007512

Figurative mark

Owner Bloomsbury Publishing Plc · classes 16

Filed / designated
12 January 1995
Valid until / renewal due
12 January 2005
Open BritTM →
!

This is an exact normalised company-name match, not a registrar-confirmed ownership link. Another legal entity can have the same or a very similar name. UKIPO data is a historical 2018 snapshot; verify the owner and current status before relying on it.

09 Ownership and control

People with significant control

Snapshot 25 August 2026
Current records0
Ceased records0
PSC source and official link →

No PSC entry for this company was present in the imported snapshot.

i

PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.

10 Charity register

Charity Commission links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCEW

No exact company-number link in this snapshot

The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.

i

This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.

11 Northern Ireland charity register

CCNI exact company links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCNI

No unambiguous company-number link found

The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.

i

CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.

12 Sanctions screening

UK Sanctions List

Report 28 August 2026
UKSL

No exact business-registration-number link found

The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

!

No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.

13 Public procurement

Find a Tender links

Snapshot 22 August 2026
FTS

No exact GB-COH link in this snapshot

Find a Tender did not explicitly identify this Companies House number in a procurement party. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.

14 Environmental register

Environment Agency waste registrations

Snapshot 25 August 2026
EA

No exact company-number registration linked

The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.

15 Nature of business

Standard Industrial Classification

SIC 2007
58190

Other publishing activities

58290

Other software publishing

16 Connected public record

Checks beyond the company register

Partial coverage
CCEW

Charity Commission

0 exact company-number links.

Checked
CCNI

Northern Ireland charities

0 unambiguous company-number links.

Checked
FTS

Public contracts

0 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.

Checked
EA

Waste register

0 exact company-number registrations.

Checked
GZ

Corporate notices

The Gazette is not yet connected.

Not checked
UKSL

UK Sanctions List

No exact business-registration-number link in this report.

Checked
!

A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.

17 Record timeline

Dates in the bulk record

3 events
  1. Confirmation statement

    Latest confirmation statement made up to this date

  2. Accounts

    Latest accounts made up to this date

  3. Incorporation

    Company incorporated

18 Provenance

Sources for this profile

13 sources
CH
Companies House Free Company Data Product

Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.

Snapshot 1 August 2026
GPG
UK Gender Pay Gap Service

Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.

9 reporting years
PPR
UK Payment Practices Reporting

Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.

12 reports shown
LEI
GLEIF LEI Golden Copy

Global legal identities linked through Companies House registration authority RA000585.

1 exact LEI
MSS
Modern Slavery Statement Registry

Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.

1 linked statement
ICO
ICO Register of Fee Payers

Privacy-reduced candidate associations based on a unique exact name-and-postcode match.

1 candidate record
CF
Contracts Finder OCDS

Historic awards linked by exact source-supplied GB-COH company identifier.

8 exact awards
PSC
Companies House PSC snapshot

Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCEW
Charity Commission Register of Charities

Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCNI
Northern Ireland Register of Charities

Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.

0 exact links
UKSL
UK Sanctions List

Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.

Checked 28 August 2026
FTS
Find a Tender OCDS data

Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.

0 exact processes
EA
Environment Agency waste register

Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.

0 exact registrations
+
Other registers

Financial regulation and licences.

Not checked yet

Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.