TXT In plain English
Company description
GMI CONSTRUCTION GROUP PLC is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Public Limited Company”. Incorporated on 12 February 1986; registered for 40 years; registered office reported in LEEDS. Its primary declared activity is 41201 · Construction of commercial buildings. In its latest electronically filed accounts for the period ended 30 September 2025, it reported turnover £233,004,972, profit after tax £1,764,858, average employees 232.
Among active companies with electronic accounts available to BritDB, it ranks 120 by latest disclosed GBP turnover; this is a dataset comparison, not a credit rating. This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 17 procurement records, 1 waste registration. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- GMI CONSTRUCTION GROUP PLC
- Company number
- 01988606
- Company type
- Public Limited Company
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- FULL
- Mortgage charges
- 4 total · 0 outstanding · 4 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
30 September 2025Next accounts due
31 March 2027Last statement made up to
20 February 2026Next statement due
6 March 2027BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Filed financials
Latest electronic accounts
- Turnover
- £233,004,972
- Gross profit
- £11,280,444
- Operating profit
- £1,859,462
- Profit before tax
- £2,309,938
- Profit after tax
- £1,764,858
- Fixed assets
- £108,067
- Current assets
- £71,183,186
- Current liabilities
- £55,274,228
- Total assets less current liabilities
- £16,017,025
- Cash at bank
- £22,497,788
- Equity
- £16,017,025
Figures are taken from company-filed iXBRL/XBRL. Coverage is limited to electronic filings in the imported Companies House batch. Missing figures do not mean zero, and values have not been audited by BritDB.
04 Workforce reporting
Gender pay gap
- Median bonus gap
- 35.1%
- Mean bonus gap
- 87.6%
- Women receiving bonus
- 13.7%
- Men receiving bonus
- 74.0%
- Women in top quartile
- 3.4%
- Women in upper middle quartile
- 10.2%
- Women in lower middle quartile
- 21.0%
- Women in lower quartile
- 30.4%
Earlier reporting years (2)
- Less than 25040.0% median hourly gap
- 250 to 49941.6% median hourly gap
Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.
05 Supplier payments
Payment practices and performance
- Reporting period
- 1 October 2025 – 31 March 2026
- Filed
- 30 April 2026
- Shortest standard term
- 7 days
- Longest standard term
- 45 days
- E-invoicing offered
- No
- Supply-chain finance
- Not offered
- Payment codes
- No
- Construction retentions
- Reported as used
Complete reported payment fields
- Policy regime
- Regime-3
- Financial period started
- 1 October 2025
- Qualifying contracts
- Yes
- Payments made
- Yes
- Invoice value paid within 30 days
- £31,754,989
- Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
- £77,567,321
- Invoice value paid after 60 days
- £519,808
- Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
- £8,496,912
- Invoices paid in 31–60 days
- 42.0%
- Invoices unpaid due to dispute
- 1.0%
- Maximum contractual payment period
- 45 days
- Supplier-list charging policy
- No
- Supplier-list charges made
- No
Retention release
An application for payment is required which is assessed and a payment certificate issued.
Retention release stages
1st half after practical completion, 2nd half after Making Good Defects
- Retention in all contracts
- No
- Retention in standard terms
- Yes
- Retention threshold
- Not supplied
- Standard retention rate
- 5.0%
- Retention compared with client
- 64.0%
- Retention compared with payments
- 3.0%
Reported terms and dispute process
- Standard payment terms
The company operate a range of payment terms including 0 days, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days and 30 days EOM. Standard Supplier payment terms (excluding Subcontractors) are 30 days EOM
Standard Subcontractor payment terms are 45 days from the end of the valuation period, although a variety of terms operate from 7 days, 14 days, 30 days and 30 days EOM and 45 days EOM. - Dispute resolution process
All standard agreements set out a dispute resolution process but the company will always seek to avoid disputes by first discussing matters directly with the supplier.
Invoice queries should be sent to accounts@gmi.co.uk. Subcontractor queries should in the first instance be directed to the relevant project team or commercial team and can also be sent to subcontract@gmi.co.uk.
In the unlikely event that a resolution cannot be reached quickly then it will be escalated to director level.
Earlier payment reports (2 shown)
- 35.0 average days to pay14.0% outside terms
- 35.0 average days to pay14.0% outside terms
This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.
06 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- GMI CONSTRUCTION GROUP PLC
- Group submission
- No
- Statement period
- 1 October 2023 – 30 September 2024
- Approved
- 1 October 2024
- Sectors
- Construction, civil engineering and building products
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Covered in the statement
Risk assessment
Covered in the statement
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Covered in the statement
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- £100 million to £500 million
- Years producing statements
- More than 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 24 March 2025
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
07 Data protection
ICO fee-payer registration
Gmi Construction Group Plc
Registration ZA415029
- Registered from
- 6 June 2018
- Current end date
- 5 June 2027
- Trading names
- GMI Construction
This is a candidate association, not an official Companies House link. The ICO file supplies no company number. The organisation name and postcode uniquely matched this company in the current snapshot. BritDB excludes all DPO contact fields and does not publish unmatched personal entries.
08 Environmental regulation
Environment Agency records
GMI CONSTRUCTION GROUP PLC
1460 · LS11 5UH
- Permit or record holder
- GMI CONSTRUCTION GROUP PLC
- Record date
- 1 August 2002
- Local authority
- Not supplied
- Regulated site or public record address
- MIDDLETON HOUSE, WESTLAND ROAD, LEEDS, WEST YORKSHIRE, LS11 5UH
- All populated source fields
- Action Number: 1460; Offender: GMI CONSTRUCTION GROUP PLC; Address: MIDDLETON HOUSE, WESTLAND ROAD, LEEDS, WEST YORKSHIRE, LS11 5UH; Action Date: 2002-08-01
These are candidate company associations. The public-register downloads do not supply Companies House numbers. BritDB requires one unique exact holder-name and postcode match; the regulated site may differ from the registered office, so verify the record at source.
09 Public procurement
Contracts Finder awards
Main Construction Contract for the George Hotel Renovation Works
Kirklees Council · ocds-b5fd17-07bcbfcf-494e-4002-8305-2d7bbe73fce0
- Supplier named in award
- GMI Construction Group Plc
- Award value
- £27,721,531.33
- Contract period
- 5 February 2026 – 26 May 2028
- Published
- 11 March 2026
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 45000000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-07bcbfcf-494e-4002-8305-2d7bbe73fce0-2026-03-11T15:40:28Z
Asbestos Removal Works from the George Hotel
Kirklees Council · ocds-b5fd17-a77e9af5-22fb-4323-955e-01db055c57b0
- Supplier named in award
- GMI Construction Group PLC
- Award value
- £421,992.44
- Contract period
- 7 April 2025 – 14 July 2025
- Published
- 23 April 2025
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 45000000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-a77e9af5-22fb-4323-955e-01db055c57b0-2025-04-23T17:18:24+01:00
Pre-Construction Service Agreement for the George Hotel Renovation Works
Kirklees Council · ocds-b5fd17-3491b81e-3678-4e7c-b70e-565e3cf78370
- Supplier named in award
- GMI Construction Group Plc
- Award value
- £1,353,862
- Contract period
- 4 February 2025 – 30 September 2025
- Published
- 5 March 2025
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 45000000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-3491b81e-3678-4e7c-b70e-565e3cf78370-2025-03-05T10:10:18Z
Freshney Place Development
North East Lincolnshire Council · ocds-b5fd17-d14c8c5c-0db0-4e21-874f-5dc8f3810c0f
- Supplier named in award
- GMI Construction Group PLC
- Award value
- £33,130,319
- Contract period
- 30 January 2025 – 8 March 2027
- Published
- 5 March 2025
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 45000000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-d14c8c5c-0db0-4e21-874f-5dc8f3810c0f-2025-03-05T14:12:48Z
Construction Works Framework 2023
UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER · ocds-b5fd17-d5d3ed20-a6fe-4a5c-b2dc-dfa68f949843
- Supplier named in award
- GMI Construction Group Plc
- Award value
- £260,000,000
- Contract period
- 1 April 2024 – 31 March 2028
- Published
- 30 April 2024
- Procedure
- Restricted procedure (above threshold)
- Main CPV
- 45110000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-d5d3ed20-a6fe-4a5c-b2dc-dfa68f949843-2024-04-30T15:11:45+01:00
Framework Contract for Construction Works
THE ASSOCIATION OF NORTH EAST COUNCILS LIMITED · ocds-b5fd17-9746b689-5693-41e0-a10e-8ca44031d967
- Supplier named in award
- GMI CONSTRUCTION GROUP PLC
- Award value
- £800,000,000
- Contract period
- 7 June 2023 – 31 May 2029
- Published
- 6 June 2023
- Procedure
- Restricted procedure (above threshold)
- Main CPV
- 45000000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-9746b689-5693-41e0-a10e-8ca44031d967-2023-06-06T11:13:07+01:00
The supplier link is exact, but the award remains buyer-published procurement data. BritDB requires the GB-COH identifier supplied in the Contracts Finder OCDS release and does not infer suppliers from similar names.
10 Charity register
Charity Commission links
No exact company-number link in this snapshot
The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.
This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
11 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
12 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
13 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
Nuneaton Library and Business Centre (Nuneaton LABC)
Warwickshire County Council · updated 3 August 2026
- Tender value
- £20,000,000
- Awards
- 1
Asbestos Removal Works from the George Hotel
The Council of the Borough of Kirklees · updated 23 April 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
T23/0017 - NESST: PCSA D&B
The University of Northumbria at Newcastle · updated 18 March 2025
- Tender value
- £800,000,000
- Awards
- 2
Pre-Construction Service Agreement for the George Hotel Renovation Works
The Council of the Borough of Kirklees · updated 5 March 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Construction Works Framework 2023
UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER · updated 1 May 2024
- Tender value
- £260,000,000
- Awards
- 20
Constructing West Midlands 3 - Construction Framework
ACIVICO (DESIGN, CONSTRUCTION AND FACILITIES MANAGEMENT) LIMITED · updated 16 September 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 3
North West Contractor Framework
Wirral Council · updated 20 August 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 13
Upper Lighthorne Primary School
Warwickshire County Council · updated 30 July 2026
- Tender value
- £13,300,000
- Awards
- 1
YORbuild Major Works 2
Leeds City Council · updated 23 June 2026
- Tender value
- £1,500,000,000
- Awards
- 2
Plot 2A Stretford Mall Residential Development
Trafford Council · updated 20 April 2026
- Tender value
- £175,000,000
- Awards
- 1
Southern Gateway - Main Contractor
BRISTOL TEMPLE QUARTER LLP · updated 12 February 2026
- Tender value
- £30,000,000
- Awards
- 1
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
14 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
15 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
16 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
0 exact company-number links.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
11 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
1 exact company-number registration.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
17 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
18 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Company-filed electronic accounts and extracted headline financial facts.
Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Privacy-reduced candidate associations based on a unique exact name-and-postcode match.
Candidate permit and enforcement associations based on a unique exact holder-name and postcode match.
Historic awards linked by exact source-supplied GB-COH company identifier.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.