TXT In plain English
Company description
WJ NORTH LIMITED is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Private Limited Company”. Incorporated on 5 January 1994; registered for 32 years; registered office reported in NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME, STAFFORDSHIRE. Its primary declared activity is 43999 · Other specialised construction activities n.e.c..
In its latest electronically filed accounts for the period ended 31 March 2025, it reported profit after tax £8,132,021, net assets £32,728,572, average employees 2. This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 16 procurement records, 1 waste registration. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- WJ NORTH LIMITED
- Company number
- 02884681
- Company type
- Private Limited Company
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- FULL
- Mortgage charges
- 11 total · 4 outstanding · 7 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
31 March 2025Next accounts due
31 December 2026Last statement made up to
23 June 2026Next statement due
7 July 2027BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Filed financials
Latest electronic accounts
- Profit before tax
- £8,804,201
- Profit after tax
- £8,132,021
- Fixed assets
- £14,380,467
- Net assets
- £32,728,572
- Current assets
- £29,607,536
- Current liabilities
- £8,213,396
- Total assets less current liabilities
- £35,774,607
- Cash at bank
- £2,461,399
- Equity
- £32,728,572
Figures are taken from company-filed iXBRL/XBRL. Coverage is limited to electronic filings in the imported Companies House batch. Missing figures do not mean zero, and values have not been audited by BritDB.
04 Supplier payments
Payment practices and performance
- Reporting period
- 1 February 2024 – 31 July 2024
- Filed
- 30 August 2024
- Shortest standard term
- 35 days
- Longest standard term
- 95 days
- E-invoicing offered
- No
- Supply-chain finance
- Not offered
- Payment codes
- No
- Construction retentions
- No qualifying construction contracts
Complete reported payment fields
- Policy regime
- Regime-1
- Financial period started
- Not supplied
- Qualifying contracts
- Yes
- Payments made
- Yes
- Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
- £0
- Invoices paid in 31–60 days
- 59.0%
- Invoices unpaid due to dispute
- 0.0%
- Maximum contractual payment period
- 95 days
- Supplier-list charging policy
- No
- Supplier-list charges made
- No
Reported terms and dispute process
- Standard payment terms
Month end plus 35 days. Two suppliers month end plus 65 day terms
- Dispute resolution process
Finance team will contact relevant operational team to establish queries on supplies effecting payment, and liaise with supplier to effect either immediate payment, or reasons for query with supply
Earlier payment reports (1 shown)
- Average time not suppliedLate-payment rate not supplied
This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.
05 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- WJ NORTH LIMITED
- Group submission
- Yes
- Parent organisation
- WJ (GROUP) LIMITED
- Statement period
- 1 February 2020 – 31 January 2021
- Approved
- 1 February 2021
- Sectors
- Construction, civil engineering and building products
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Covered in the statement
Risk assessment
Covered in the statement
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Covered in the statement
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- £60 million to £100 million
- Years producing statements
- 1 to 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 22 March 2021
Policies described
Freedom of workers to terminate employment Freedom of movement Freedom of association Prohibits any threat of violence, harassment and intimidation Prohibits the use of worker-paid recruitment fees Prohibits compulsory overtime Prohibits child labour Prohibits discrimination Prohibits confiscation of workers' original identification documents
Worker engagement and working conditions
Your suppliers Civil society organisations Workers within your organisation Businesses in your industry or sector
Grievance mechanisms
Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app
Other monitoring
Collected and collated Modern Slavery Statements from our supply chain that produced statements and asked those smaller organisations to abided by our Modern Slavery Statement
Demonstrated progress
Yes risk assessing our supply chain
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
06 Data protection
ICO fee-payer registration
WJ North Limited
Registration Z6429869
- Registered from
- 6 March 2002
- Current end date
- 5 March 2027
This is a candidate association, not an official Companies House link. The ICO file supplies no company number. The organisation name and postcode uniquely matched this company in the current snapshot. BritDB excludes all DPO contact fields and does not publish unmatched personal entries.
07 Public procurement
Contracts Finder awards
TD2396 - 2026/27 Capital Programme Road Markings
DERBY CITY COUNCIL · ocds-b5fd17-58774507-a3a1-4054-9f52-a4928a263733
- Supplier named in award
- WJ NORTH LIMITED
- Award value
- £100,000
- Contract period
- 9 April 2026 – 31 March 2027
- Published
- 20 May 2026
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 34922100
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-58774507-a3a1-4054-9f52-a4928a263733-2026-05-20T13:01:03+01:00
A417 Missing Link - Temporary & Permanent Road Markings
KIER TRANSPORTATION LIMITED · ocds-b5fd17-d2bb7abb-d43d-45e4-afbf-7f4e5ad85f36
- Supplier named in award
- WJ North Limited
- Award value
- £389,951.19
- Contract period
- 22 June 2024 – 26 February 2027
- Published
- 23 August 2024
- Procedure
- Competitive procedure with negotiation (above threshold)
- Main CPV
- 45000000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-d2bb7abb-d43d-45e4-afbf-7f4e5ad85f36-2024-08-23T11:46:33+01:00
TD1705 - Highways Framework
Derby City Council · ocds-b5fd17-beab053d-c371-4a5c-8c05-18753bd2bbdf
- Supplier named in award
- WJ North Ltd
- Award value
- £35,550,000
- Contract period
- 29 September 2022 – 28 September 2026
- Published
- 8 September 2022
- Procedure
- Open procedure (above threshold)
- Main CPV
- 45233100
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-beab053d-c371-4a5c-8c05-18753bd2bbdf-2022-09-08T10:34:26+01:00
National Highways Operational Technology Commercial Framework
Highways England · ocds-b5fd17-73d4d94b-b6c6-47a5-85d7-a3472bbac45a
- Supplier named in award
- WJ North Limited
- Award value
- £500,000,000
- Contract period
- 10 January 2022 – 9 January 2024
- Published
- 26 January 2022
- Procedure
- Open procedure (below threshold)
- Main CPV
- 72222300
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-73d4d94b-b6c6-47a5-85d7-a3472bbac45a-2022-01-26T11:02:10Z
The supplier link is exact, but the award remains buyer-published procurement data. BritDB requires the GB-COH identifier supplied in the Contracts Finder OCDS release and does not infer suppliers from similar names.
08 Charity register
Charity Commission links
No exact company-number link in this snapshot
The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.
This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
09 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
10 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
11 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
BwDBC Surfacing & Civils Framework 2026
Blackburn With Darwen Borough Council · updated 1 September 2026
- Tender value
- £50,000,000
- Awards
- 4
Castleford Roundabout Trial (ASDA)
The Council of the City of Wakefield · updated 13 August 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
003234 Road Markings
Durham County Council · updated 29 July 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
FC Surface Retexturing - Mechanical Captive Shot & Hydroblasting
Durham County Council · updated 3 July 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Framework for Specialist Surface Treatment Works - Yorkshire Highway Alliance Contract
The Council of the Borough of Kirklees · updated 8 June 2026
- Tender value
- £37,400,000
- Awards
- 1
NEPO210 Highways Surfacing Works
The Association of North East Councils Limited · updated 21 May 2026
- Tender value
- £500,000,000
- Awards
- 34
CPU 6932 Highways Road Marking and Antiskid Framework
Nottingham City Council · updated 1 May 2026
- Tender value
- £3,000,000
- Awards
- 11
Retexturing 25-26 (Area 1 & 6)
NY HIGHWAYS LIMITED · updated 20 April 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Term Service Contract for the Repair, Maintenance and Installation of Highway Road Marking and Specialist Surfacing (Lotted Contract) - Retender
East Riding of Yorkshire Council · updated 6 December 2024
- Tender value
- £8,370,000
- Awards
- 3
Road Markings and Associated Services
Lancashire County Council · updated 13 October 2023
- Tender value
- £13,600,000
- Awards
- 1
LPS CAS - Specialist Removal of Road Line Markings
Lancashire County Council · updated 6 January 2023
- Tender value
- £400,000
- Awards
- 1
Non-Strategic Carriageway Resurfacing and Minor Ancillary Works
Derbyshire County Council · updated 18 August 2026
- Tender value
- £50,000,000
- Awards
- 1
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
12 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
13 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
14 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
0 exact company-number links.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
12 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
1 exact company-number registration.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
15 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Company name
Previous name: W J ROADMARKINGS LIMITED
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
16 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Company-filed electronic accounts and extracted headline financial facts.
Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Privacy-reduced candidate associations based on a unique exact name-and-postcode match.
Historic awards linked by exact source-supplied GB-COH company identifier.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.