TXT In plain English
Company description
THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “PRI/LTD BY GUAR/NSC (Private, limited by guarantee, no share capital)”. Incorporated on 19 January 1995; registered for 31 years; registered office reported in CAMBRIDGE, CAMBRIDGESHIRE. Its primary declared activity is 72190 · Other research and experimental development on natural sciences and engineering, with 1 additional SIC activity reported.
This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 19 PSC records, 1 charity record. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE
- Company number
- 03011737
- Company type
- PRI/LTD BY GUAR/NSC (Private, limited by guarantee, no share capital)
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- GROUP
- Mortgage charges
- 0 total · 0 outstanding · 0 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
31 March 2025Next accounts due
31 December 2026Last statement made up to
19 January 2026Next statement due
2 February 2027BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Workforce reporting
Gender pay gap
- Median bonus gap
- 58.0%
- Mean bonus gap
- 46.0%
- Women receiving bonus
- 27.0%
- Men receiving bonus
- 26.0%
- Women in top quartile
- 47.5%
- Women in upper middle quartile
- 59.0%
- Women in lower middle quartile
- 62.3%
- Women in lower quartile
- 65.6%
Earlier reporting years (7)
- Less than 25012.1% median hourly gap
- 250 to 4992.9% median hourly gap
- 250 to 4997.0% median hourly gap
- 250 to 4994.0% median hourly gap
- 250 to 4996.0% median hourly gap
- 250 to 4997.6% median hourly gap
- 250 to 4998.7% median hourly gap
Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.
04 Supplier payments
Payment practices and performance
- Reporting period
- 1 October 2025 – 31 March 2026
- Filed
- 1 April 2026
- Shortest standard term
- 5 days
- Longest standard term
- 30 days
- E-invoicing offered
- No
- Supply-chain finance
- Not offered
- Payment codes
- No
- Construction retentions
- No qualifying construction contracts
Complete reported payment fields
- Policy regime
- Regime-3
- Financial period started
- 1 April 2025
- Qualifying contracts
- Yes
- Payments made
- Yes
- Invoice value paid within 30 days
- £2,387,614
- Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
- £3,670,276
- Invoice value paid after 60 days
- £150,479
- Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
- £3,820,576
- Invoices paid in 31–60 days
- 59.0%
- Invoices unpaid due to dispute
- 0.0%
- Maximum contractual payment period
- 31 days
- Supplier-list charging policy
- No
- Supplier-list charges made
- No
Reported terms and dispute process
- Standard payment terms
The majority of suppliers offer 30 day payment terms
- Dispute resolution process
Any dispute would be dealt with by the department who raised the order and dealt with promptly. Any disputes that cannot be settled are then referred to the Finance team.
Earlier payment reports (11 shown)
- 38.0 average days to pay68.0% outside terms
- 35.0 average days to pay61.0% outside terms
- 39.0 average days to pay72.0% outside terms
- 37.0 average days to pay69.0% outside terms
- 38.0 average days to pay73.0% outside terms
- 37.0 average days to pay64.0% outside terms
- 41.0 average days to pay68.0% outside terms
- 37.0 average days to pay63.0% outside terms
- 39.0 average days to pay70.0% outside terms
- 40.0 average days to pay68.0% outside terms
- 38.0 average days to pay64.0% outside terms
This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.
05 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE
- Group submission
- No
- Statement period
- 1 April 2025 – 31 March 2026
- Approved
- 12 August 2026
- Sectors
- Education and research
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Not reported as covered
Risk assessment
Not reported as covered
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Covered in the statement
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- Under £36 million
- Years producing statements
- 1 to 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 20 August 2026
Worker engagement and working conditions
Your suppliers
Grievance mechanisms
Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app
Other monitoring
The Institute reviews its modern slavery statement, supplier lists and investments, on an annual basis.
Demonstrated progress
The Institute reviews its modern slavery statement, supplier lists and investments, on an annual basis.
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
06 Environmental regulation
Environment Agency records
THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE
EPR/GB3699YJ · CB22 3AT
- Permit or record holder
- THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE
- Record date
- 11 March 2020
- Local authority
- South Cambridgeshire
- Regulated site or public record address
- Babraham Hall, The Babraham Institute, Babraham, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, CB22 3AT
- Activity
- MCP
- Grid reference
- TL5084750717
- Easting
- 550847.000
- Northing
- 250717.000
- All populated source fields
- Permission Number: EPR/GB3699YJ; Name: THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE; Activity Type Description: MCP; Site Address: Babraham Hall, The Babraham Institute, Babraham, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, CB22 3AT; Site Postcode: CB22 3AT; Site Grid Reference: TL5084750717; Easting: 550847; Northing: 250717; Local Authority: South Cambridgeshire; Permission Date: 2020-03-11
The Babraham Institute
LB3294DC · CB22 3AT
- Permit or record holder
- The Babraham Institute
- Record date
- 23 August 2016
- Local authority
- Not supplied
- Regulated site or public record address
- Babraham Hall, Babraham, Cambridge, CB22 3AT
- Activity
- Keeping & Use of Radioactive Materials and Disposal of Radioactive Waste
- Grid reference
- Site A19.
- Easting
- 551105.000
- Northing
- 250505.000
- All populated source fields
- Permit Number: LB3294DC; Permit Holder Name: The Babraham Institute; Approved Date: 2016-08-23; Permit Type: Keeping & Use of Radioactive Materials and Disposal of Radioactive Waste; Site Address: Babraham Hall, Babraham, Cambridge, CB22 3AT; Site Postcode: CB22 3AT; Site Reference: Site A19.; Easting: 551105; Northing: 250505
THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE
AN/PR1NF1486/004 · CB22 3AT
- Permit or record holder
- THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE
- Record date
- 17 April 2014
- Local authority
- South Cambridgeshire
- Regulated site or public record address
- THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE, BABRAHAM HALL, BABRAHAM, CAMBRIDGE, CAMBRIDGESHIRE, CB22 3AT
- Activity
- Manufacture of basic pharmaceutical products and pharmaceutical preparations · Sewage & Trade - Secondary Treated Effluent and Trade Effluent
- Grid reference
- TL5085251246
- Easting
- 550852.000
- Northing
- 251246.000
- All populated source fields
- Permit Number: AN/PR1NF1486/004; Permit Holder Name: THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE; Site Name: THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE; Site Type: Manufacture of basic pharmaceutical products and pharmaceutical preparations; Effluent Type: Sewage & Trade - Secondary Treated Effluent and Trade Effluent; Site Address: THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE, BABRAHAM HALL, BABRAHAM, CAMBRIDGE, CAMBRIDGESHIRE, CB22 3AT; Site Postcode: CB22 3AT; Site Grid Reference: TL5085251246; Easting: 550852; Northing: 251246; Local Authority: South Cambridgeshire; Start Date: 2014-04-17
THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE
AN/PR1NF1486/003 · CB22 3AT
- Permit or record holder
- THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE
- Record date
- 28 September 2005
- Local authority
- South Cambridgeshire
- Regulated site or public record address
- THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE, BABRAHAM HALL, BABRAHAM, CAMBRIDGE, CAMBRIDGESHIRE, CB22 3AT
- Activity
- Manufacture of basic pharmaceutical products and pharmaceutical preparations · Sewage & Trade - Secondary Treated Effluent and Trade Effluent
- Grid reference
- TL5085251246
- Easting
- 550852.000
- Northing
- 251246.000
- Revoked date
- 16 April 2014
- All populated source fields
- Permit Number: AN/PR1NF1486/003; Permit Holder Name: THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE; Site Name: THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE; Site Type: Manufacture of basic pharmaceutical products and pharmaceutical preparations; Effluent Type: Sewage & Trade - Secondary Treated Effluent and Trade Effluent; Site Address: THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE, BABRAHAM HALL, BABRAHAM, CAMBRIDGE, CAMBRIDGESHIRE, CB22 3AT; Site Postcode: CB22 3AT; Site Grid Reference: TL5085251246; Easting: 550852; Northing: 251246; Local Authority: South Cambridgeshire; Start Date: 2005-09-28; Revocation Date: 2014-04-16
THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE
AN/PR1NF1486/002 · CB22 3AT
- Permit or record holder
- THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE
- Record date
- 6 March 1992
- Local authority
- South Cambridgeshire
- Regulated site or public record address
- THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE, BABRAHAM HALL, BABRAHAM, CAMBRIDGE, CAMBRIDGESHIRE, CB22 3AT
- Activity
- Manufacture of basic pharmaceutical products and pharmaceutical preparations · Trade - Process
- Grid reference
- TL5085251246
- Easting
- 550852.000
- Northing
- 251246.000
- Revoked date
- 27 September 2005
- All populated source fields
- Permit Number: AN/PR1NF1486/002; Permit Holder Name: THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE; Site Name: THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE; Site Type: Manufacture of basic pharmaceutical products and pharmaceutical preparations; Effluent Type: Trade - Process; Site Address: THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE, BABRAHAM HALL, BABRAHAM, CAMBRIDGE, CAMBRIDGESHIRE, CB22 3AT; Site Postcode: CB22 3AT; Site Grid Reference: TL5085251246; Easting: 550852; Northing: 251246; Local Authority: South Cambridgeshire; Start Date: 1992-03-06; Revocation Date: 2005-09-27
These are candidate company associations. The public-register downloads do not supply Companies House numbers. BritDB requires one unique exact holder-name and postcode match; the regulated site may differ from the registered office, so verify the record at source.
07 Ownership and control
People with significant control
No individual or entity with signficant control
- Notified
- 16 September 2021
Professor Gordon Brown
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British,South African
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 1 July 2021
- Ceased
- 7 September 2021
Dr James Michael Briscoe
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 1 January 2021
- Ceased
- 7 September 2021
Ms Alexandra Zoe Pygall
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 1 January 2021
- Ceased
- 7 September 2021
Professor Peter Joseph ParkerSee 3 companies with this PSC name →
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- United Kingdom
- Notified
- 1 January 2021
- Ceased
- 7 September 2021
Dr Lynne Christine Gailey
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 10 August 2017
- Ceased
- 7 September 2021
Mr Geoffrey Ernest Braham
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 10 August 2017
- Ceased
- 7 September 2021
Mr Graham Peter AllenSee 3 companies with this PSC name →
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 10 August 2017
- Ceased
- 7 September 2021
Professor Nicholas Clwyd Jones
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 26 January 2017
- Ceased
- 7 September 2021
Dr Alan Paul Watt
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
- Ceased
- 31 March 2017
Dr Paul JohnsonSee 2 companies with this PSC name →
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
- Ceased
- 30 June 2017
Mr Anthony James ClareSee 4 companies with this PSC name →
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
- Ceased
- 31 December 2020
Mr Geoffrey Hope-Terry
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
- Ceased
- 31 December 2017
Professor Anne Ferguson-Smith
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
- Ceased
- 31 December 2020
Professor Clive Page
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
- Ceased
- 31 December 2020
Professor David Kipling
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- Wales
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
- Ceased
- 11 June 2020
Professor Doreen Cantrell
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- Scotland
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
- Ceased
- 31 December 2020
Professor Michael Wakelam
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
- Ceased
- 31 March 2020
Professor Peter Rigby
- Has significant influence or control (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- England
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
- Ceased
- 7 September 2021
PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.
08 Charity register
Charity Commission links
THE BABRAHAM INSTITUTE
- Charity type
- Charitable company
- Registered
- 20 March 1996
- Latest income
- £47,500,000
- Latest expenditure
- £55,113,000
- Other Charities Or Voluntary Bodies
- The Advancement Of Health Or Saving Of Lives
- Sponsors Or Undertakes Research
- Education/training
- The General Public/mankind
The Babraham Institute undertakes world-leading innovative research into the molecular mechanisms that underlie normal cellular processes and functions throughout development and the ageing process. Much of the Institute's research involves collaborations with other research institutions and organisations worldwide. The Institute also offers first class PhD and postdoctoral training programmes.
Source details and official record →This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
09 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
10 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
11 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
No exact GB-COH link in this snapshot
Find a Tender did not explicitly identify this Companies House number in a procurement party. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
12 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
No exact company-number registration linked
The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
13 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
Post-graduate level higher education
14 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
1 exact company-number link.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
0 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
0 exact company-number registrations.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
15 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
16 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Candidate permit and enforcement associations based on a unique exact holder-name and postcode match.
Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.