Private Limited Company

WH SMITH HOSPITALS LIMITED

ActiveCompany 03981392United Kingdom
Bulk record snapshot1 AUG 2026Source details →

Registered office

WINDMILL HILL BUSINESS PARK, WHITEHILL WAY, SWINDON, WILTSHIRE, ENGLAND, SN5 6PB
Incorporated27 April 2000
Company age26 years

TXT In plain English

Company description

BritDB description

WH SMITH HOSPITALS LIMITED is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Private Limited Company”. Incorporated on 27 April 2000; registered for 26 years; registered office reported in SWINDON, WILTSHIRE, ENGLAND. Its primary declared activity is 47190 · Other retail sale in non-specialised stores.

This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 1 PSC record, 1 procurement record. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.

Prepared from public dataChecked 3 September 2026 · 12 profile sources connected
How this description is built →
i

Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.

01 Company overview

Identity and registration

Snapshot 1 August 2026
Official name
WH SMITH HOSPITALS LIMITED
Company number
03981392
Company type
Private Limited Company
Status
Active
Country of origin
United Kingdom
Dissolution date
Not supplied
Accounts category
FULL
Mortgage charges
3 total · 0 outstanding · 3 satisfied
Limited partnership members
0 general · 0 limited
i

A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.

02 Filing dates

Accounts and statements

Companies House
AccountsBulk record

Last accounts made up to

31 August 2025

Next accounts due

31 May 2027
Confirmation statementBulk record

Last statement made up to

6 June 2026

Next statement due

20 June 2027
Filing source and official link

BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.

03 Workforce reporting

Gender pay gap

Reporting year 2025–2026
Employer size500 to 999
Median hourly gap0.0%
Mean hourly gap-0.4%
Submitted27 March 2026
Submission deadline5 April 2026
Submission timingSubmitted by deadline
Median bonus gap
-9.1%
Mean bonus gap
-17.4%
Women receiving bonus
15.9%
Men receiving bonus
13.8%
Women in top quartile
65.4%
Women in upper middle quartile
69.4%
Women in lower middle quartile
69.2%
Women in lower quartile
54.5%
Earlier reporting years (7)
  1. 500 to 9990.0% median hourly gap
  2. 500 to 9990.0% median hourly gap
  3. 500 to 9990.0% median hourly gap
  4. 500 to 9990.0% median hourly gap
  5. 500 to 9990.0% median hourly gap
  6. 250 to 4990.0% median hourly gap
  7. 250 to 4990.0% median hourly gap
i

Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.

04 Supplier payments

Payment practices and performance

Period to 28 February 2026
Average time to pay54.0 days
Paid within 30 days21.0%
Paid after 60 days44.0%
Not paid within terms26.0%
Reporting period
1 September 2025 – 28 February 2026
Filed
27 March 2026
Shortest standard term
90 days
Longest standard term
Not supplied
E-invoicing offered
No
Supply-chain finance
Not offered
Payment codes
No
Construction retentions
No qualifying construction contracts
Complete reported payment fields
Policy regime
Regime-3
Financial period started
1 September 2025
Qualifying contracts
Yes
Payments made
Yes
Invoice value paid within 30 days
£6,231,197
Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
£4,903,123
Invoice value paid after 60 days
£3,952,162
Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
£974,507
Invoices paid in 31–60 days
35.0%
Invoices unpaid due to dispute
0.0%
Maximum contractual payment period
90 days
Supplier-list charging policy
No
Supplier-list charges made
No
Reported terms and dispute process
  1. Standard payment terms

    WHSmith standard payment terms are 90 days after the end of the month
    of receipt by WHSmith of a proper invoice or if later after the acceptance
    of the Goods or Services.

    However, WHSmith negotiates payment terms individually with suppliers
    and on a product specific basis. Any contractual package agreed by WHSmith
    and the supplier usually includes payment terms which are lower than
    the standard 90 days terms.

    The WHSmith vendor buyer agreement allows for the offset of amounts owed by the
    supplier against invoices owed to the supplier. This is normal business practice
    and protects amounts that are owed to WHSmith. An invoice is deemed settled
    when it is fully offset by amounts owed to WHSmith.

  2. Dispute resolution process

    The Business has an ongoing communication with Suppliers through both the Trading and the financial
    accounting teams. Payment disputes will be directed to the financial accounting teams for resolution
    in the first instance and will be escalated to the Trading teams where there is a contractual query.

Earlier payment reports (11 shown)
  1. 53.0 average days to pay34.0% outside terms
  2. 52.0 average days to pay35.0% outside terms
  3. 63.0 average days to pay31.0% outside terms
  4. 49.0 average days to pay6.0% outside terms
  5. 83.0 average days to pay33.0% outside terms
  6. 83.0 average days to pay15.0% outside terms
  7. 56.0 average days to pay15.0% outside terms
  8. 59.0 average days to pay20.0% outside terms
  9. 56.0 average days to pay16.0% outside terms
  10. 59.0 average days to pay22.0% outside terms
  11. 50.0 average days to pay28.0% outside terms
i

This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.

05 Supply-chain transparency

Modern slavery statement

Statement year 2026
Organisation
WH SMITH HOSPITALS LIMITED
Group submission
Yes
Parent organisation
W H SMITH INTERNATIONAL LIMITED
Statement period
1 September 2024 – 31 August 2025
Approved
2 February 2026
Sectors
Cosmetics and toiletries Durable consumer goods, including electronics and appliances, home furnishings and other accessories Fashion, textiles, apparel and luxury goods Food and beverages, agriculture and fishing

Organisation structure

Covered in the statement

Policies

Covered in the statement

Risk assessment

Covered in the statement

Due diligence

Covered in the statement

Training

Covered in the statement

Goals and KPIs

Not reported as covered

Full statement information supplied to the registry
Reported turnover band
Over £500 million
Years producing statements
More than 5 years
ILO indicators included
Not answered
Registry record updated
23 February 2026

Policies described

Freedom of workers to terminate employment Freedom of movement Freedom of association Prohibits any threat of violence, harassment and intimidation Prohibits the use of worker-paid recruitment fees Prohibits compulsory overtime Prohibits child labour Prohibits discrimination Prohibits confiscation of workers' original identification documents Provides access to remedy, compensation and justice for victims of modern slavery

Training described

Your front line staff Procurement staff Your suppliers

Worker engagement and working conditions

Your suppliers Trade unions or worker representative groups Professional auditors Workers within your supply chain Businesses in your industry or sector

Social audits

Audit conducted by your staff Third party audit arranged by your supplier Announced audit Unannounced audit

Grievance mechanisms

Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app Through trade unions or other worker representative groups

Earlier linked statements (1)
  1. WH SMITH HOSPITALS LIMITED31 August 2022
i

A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.

06 Data protection

ICO fee-payer registration

Candidate match
Tier 3

WH Smith Hospitals Limited

Registration Z2079045

Registered from
1 March 2010
Current end date
28 February 2027
!

This is a candidate association, not an official Companies House link. The ICO file supplies no company number. The organisation name and postcode uniquely matched this company in the current snapshot. BritDB excludes all DPO contact fields and does not publish unmatched personal entries.

07 Public procurement

Contracts Finder awards

Exact GB-COH links
active · 3 June 2024

Retail Opportunity at Darlington Memorial Hospital

SYNCHRONICITY CARE LTD. · ocds-b5fd17-d193f217-961d-4d3a-a301-53418289ca67

Supplier named in award
WH SMITH HOSPITALS LIMITED
Award value
£0
Contract period
15 July 2024 – 14 July 2029
Published
29 July 2024
Procedure
Open procedure (below threshold)
Main CPV
55900000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-d193f217-961d-4d3a-a301-53418289ca67-2024-07-29T11:39:17+01:00
i

The supplier link is exact, but the award remains buyer-published procurement data. BritDB requires the GB-COH identifier supplied in the Contracts Finder OCDS release and does not infer suppliers from similar names.

08 Ownership and control

People with significant control

Snapshot 25 August 2026
Current records1
Ceased records0
PSC source and official link →
Corporate entityCurrent

Wh Smith Hospitals Holdings Limited

  • Owns 75% or more of shares
  • Controls 75% or more of voting rights
  • Can appoint or remove directors
Country registered
England
Legal authority
Companies Act 2006
Legal form
Limited Company
Place registered
England And Wales Companies Registry
Registration number
03806896
Notified
6 April 2016
i

PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.

09 Charity register

Charity Commission links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCEW

No exact company-number link in this snapshot

The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.

i

This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.

10 Northern Ireland charity register

CCNI exact company links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCNI

No unambiguous company-number link found

The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.

i

CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.

11 Sanctions screening

UK Sanctions List

Report 3 September 2026
UKSL

No exact business-registration-number link found

The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

!

No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.

12 Public procurement

Find a Tender links

Snapshot 22 August 2026
FTS

No exact GB-COH link in this snapshot

Find a Tender did not explicitly identify this Companies House number in a procurement party. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.

13 Environmental register

Environment Agency waste registrations

Snapshot 25 August 2026
EA

No exact company-number registration linked

The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.

14 Nature of business

Standard Industrial Classification

SIC 2007

15 Connected public record

Checks beyond the company register

Partial coverage
CCEW

Charity Commission

0 exact company-number links.

Checked
CCNI

Northern Ireland charities

0 unambiguous company-number links.

Checked
FTS

Public contracts

0 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.

Checked
EA

Waste register

0 exact company-number registrations.

Checked
GZ

Corporate notices

The Gazette is not yet connected.

Not checked
UKSL

UK Sanctions List

No exact business-registration-number link in this report.

Checked
!

A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.

16 Record timeline

Dates in the bulk record

4 events
  1. Confirmation statement

    Latest confirmation statement made up to this date

  2. Accounts

    Latest accounts made up to this date

  3. Company name

    Previous name: UNS HOSPITALS LIMITED

  4. Incorporation

    Company incorporated

17 Provenance

Sources for this profile

12 sources
CH
Companies House Free Company Data Product

Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.

Snapshot 1 August 2026
GPG
UK Gender Pay Gap Service

Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.

8 reporting years
PPR
UK Payment Practices Reporting

Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.

12 reports shown
MSS
Modern Slavery Statement Registry

Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.

2 linked statements
ICO
ICO Register of Fee Payers

Privacy-reduced candidate associations based on a unique exact name-and-postcode match.

1 candidate record
CF
Contracts Finder OCDS

Historic awards linked by exact source-supplied GB-COH company identifier.

1 exact award
PSC
Companies House PSC snapshot

Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCEW
Charity Commission Register of Charities

Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCNI
Northern Ireland Register of Charities

Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.

0 exact links
UKSL
UK Sanctions List

Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.

Checked 3 September 2026
FTS
Find a Tender OCDS data

Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.

0 exact processes
EA
Environment Agency waste register

Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.

0 exact registrations
+
Other registers

Financial regulation and licences.

Not checked yet

Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.