TXT In plain English
Company description
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “PRI/LBG/NSC (Private, Limited by guarantee, no share capital, use of 'Limited' exemption)”. Incorporated on 22 April 2003; registered for 23 years; registered office reported in CHICHESTER, WEST SUSSEX. Its primary declared activity is 85421 · First-degree level higher education, with 1 additional SIC activity reported.
This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 1 PSC record, 22 procurement records. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER
- Company number
- 04740553
- Company type
- PRI/LBG/NSC (Private, Limited by guarantee, no share capital, use of 'Limited' exemption)
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- GROUP
- Mortgage charges
- 5 total · 0 outstanding · 5 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
31 July 2025Next accounts due
30 April 2027Last statement made up to
22 April 2026Next statement due
6 May 2027BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Workforce reporting
Gender pay gap
- Median bonus gap
- Not supplied
- Mean bonus gap
- Not supplied
- Women receiving bonus
- 0.0%
- Men receiving bonus
- 0.0%
- Women in top quartile
- 50.2%
- Women in upper middle quartile
- 56.8%
- Women in lower middle quartile
- 59.6%
- Women in lower quartile
- 67.6%
Earlier reporting years (8)
- 500 to 9998.4% median hourly gap
- 1000 to 49998.3% median hourly gap
- 1000 to 49998.5% median hourly gap
- 500 to 9998.4% median hourly gap
- 500 to 9998.4% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99917.3% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99918.0% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99917.4% median hourly gap
Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.
04 Supplier payments
Payment practices and performance
- Reporting period
- 1 February 2026 – 31 July 2026
- Filed
- 17 August 2026
- Shortest standard term
- 30 days
- Longest standard term
- Not supplied
- E-invoicing offered
- No
- Supply-chain finance
- Not offered
- Payment codes
- No
- Construction retentions
- Reported as used
Complete reported payment fields
- Policy regime
- Regime-3
- Financial period started
- 1 August 2025
- Qualifying contracts
- Yes
- Payments made
- Yes
- Invoice value paid within 30 days
- £23,713,539
- Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
- £1,575,848
- Invoice value paid after 60 days
- £147,393
- Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
- £4,846,304
- Invoices paid in 31–60 days
- 14.0%
- Invoices unpaid due to dispute
- 0.0%
- Maximum contractual payment period
- 30 days
- Supplier-list charging policy
- No
- Supplier-list charges made
- No
Retention circumstances
The University of Chichester uses retention clauses on qualifying construction contracts when their size, complexity or risk warrants their use. There are no “hard and fast” thresholds for this, it is a construction professional’s assessment based on the combination of all these factors. When retention clauses are used, they are used as part of a standard form construction contract, such as those published by the JCT and NEC. The administrative processes that these contracts require enables compliance with the Housing Grants, Construction and Regeneration Act 1996 whilst also providing a clear framework for the benefit of employer and contractor alike.
Retention release
As set out in the terms and conditions of the contract (typically JCT or NEC standard form)
Retention release stages
As set out in the terms and conditions of the contract (typically JCT or NEC standard form)
- Retention in all contracts
- No
- Retention in standard terms
- No
- Retention threshold
- Not supplied
- Standard retention rate
- 3.0%
- Retention compared with client
- 0.0%
- Retention compared with payments
- 2.0%
Reported terms and dispute process
- Standard payment terms
30 days from invoice date
- Dispute resolution process
The University is committed to dealing with its suppliers in a fair, honest and professional manner while seeking best value for the business. We seek to resolve queries as quickly as possible to everyone’s satisfaction prior to payment being made. In the event that a dispute cannot be resolved by our Accounts Payable team, it would escalated in the first instance to the relevant Head of Schools to seek a resolution. If resolution cannot be reached then the issue is escalated to the Director of Finance.
Earlier payment reports (11 shown)
- 19.0 average days to pay50.0% outside terms
- 22.0 average days to pay57.0% outside terms
- 24.0 average days to pay47.0% outside terms
- 23.0 average days to pay33.0% outside terms
- 24.0 average days to pay37.0% outside terms
- 23.0 average days to pay34.0% outside terms
- 22.0 average days to pay34.0% outside terms
- 22.0 average days to pay42.0% outside terms
- 23.0 average days to pay53.0% outside terms
- 21.0 average days to pay62.0% outside terms
- 22.0 average days to pay66.0% outside terms
This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.
05 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER
- Group submission
- Yes
- Statement period
- 1 August 2024 – 31 July 2025
- Approved
- 25 November 2025
- Sectors
- Education and research
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Covered in the statement
Risk assessment
Covered in the statement
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Covered in the statement
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- £60 million to £100 million
- Years producing statements
- More than 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 19 December 2025
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
06 Data protection
ICO fee-payer registration
The University of Chichester
Registration Z8051480
- Registered from
- 5 September 2003
- Current end date
- 4 September 2027
This is a candidate association, not an official Companies House link. The ICO file supplies no company number. The organisation name and postcode uniquely matched this company in the current snapshot. BritDB excludes all DPO contact fields and does not publish unmatched personal entries.
07 Public procurement
Contracts Finder awards
Provision of Physical Employment Standards (PES) Review of the Recce Course
MINISTRY OF DEFENCE · ocds-b5fd17-dc2ddaec-8e31-4c64-94a3-3c12a2d44612
- Supplier named in award
- THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER
- Award value
- £149,991
- Contract period
- 2 August 2023 – 31 March 2024
- Published
- 4 August 2023
- Procedure
- Single tender action (below threshold)
- Main CPV
- 71620000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-dc2ddaec-8e31-4c64-94a3-3c12a2d44612-2023-08-04T13:06:31+01:00
Provision of PES Next Steps: Rangers Courses and Specialist Weapons School (SWS) Courses Reviews
MINISTRY OF DEFENCE · ocds-b5fd17-a7dcf072-2210-45ce-9cc3-930d42548e46
- Supplier named in award
- THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER
- Award value
- £299,964
- Contract period
- 1 September 2022 – 31 March 2023
- Published
- 26 August 2022
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 71620000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-a7dcf072-2210-45ce-9cc3-930d42548e46-2022-08-26T08:44:27+01:00
The Provision of Physical Employment Standards (PES) Next Steps
MINISTRY OF DEFENCE · ocds-b5fd17-3f965dc2-4847-4927-af31-5f7e1753e507
- Supplier named in award
- THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER
- Award value
- £119,526.50
- Contract period
- 13 December 2021 – 31 March 2022
- Published
- 21 December 2021
- Procedure
- Call-off from a dynamic purchasing system
- Main CPV
- 73000000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-3f965dc2-4847-4927-af31-5f7e1753e507-2021-12-21T09:59:23Z
CR3 Physical Employment Standard Review
MINISTRY OF DEFENCE · ocds-b5fd17-b454388f-0378-410e-adb9-3fe2043a2aaf
- Supplier named in award
- THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER
- Award value
- £55,193
- Contract period
- 1 November 2021 – 31 October 2022
- Published
- 20 October 2021
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 73100000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-b454388f-0378-410e-adb9-3fe2043a2aaf-2021-10-20T16:40:01+01:00
PES: Review of Arduous Career Courses and Military Swimming
MINISTRY OF DEFENCE · ocds-b5fd17-95b31e5a-a2f4-4c30-96af-55c3eac43cea
- Supplier named in award
- The University of Chichester
- Award value
- £237,877
- Contract period
- 1 October 2021 – 31 March 2022
- Published
- 3 November 2021
- Procedure
- Single tender action (below threshold)
- Main CPV
- 73400000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-95b31e5a-a2f4-4c30-96af-55c3eac43cea-2021-11-03T17:18:41Z
Apprenticeship Delivery 2019
SOUTHAMPTON CITY COUNCIL · ocds-b5fd17-062daecc-b3fd-4ff8-8834-980ed7f2182a
- Supplier named in award
- THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER
- Award value
- £3,679,000
- Contract period
- 7 May 2019 – 31 March 2020
- Published
- 3 September 2019
- Procedure
- Call-off from a dynamic purchasing system
- Main CPV
- 80000000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-062daecc-b3fd-4ff8-8834-980ed7f2182a-2019-09-03T15:52:49+01:00
The supplier link is exact, but the award remains buyer-published procurement data. BritDB requires the GB-COH identifier supplied in the Contracts Finder OCDS release and does not infer suppliers from similar names.
08 Ownership and control
People with significant control
No individual or entity with signficant control
- Notified
- 22 April 2017
PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.
09 Charity register
Charity Commission links
No exact company-number link in this snapshot
The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.
This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
10 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
11 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
12 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
UK05 - Validation and Review of the Army’s Physical Employment Test
Ministry of Defence · updated 9 September 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Finance, Human Resources and Payroll Systems
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 23 July 2026
- Tender value
- £1,500,000
- Awards
- 1
Refurbishment of Springfield 1 and Hammond 2 Accommodation Blocks
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 23 February 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Servicing and Maintenance of Fire and Intruder Alarms
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 13 January 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 0
Lift Maintenance Service
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 13 January 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 0
Level Two Functional Skills Training and Assessment for Apprentices - Sub-contracted provider for Functional Skills in English & Maths
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 11 November 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Library Management System
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 11 November 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Servicing and Maintenance of Air Handling Systems
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 1 October 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Servicing and Maintenance of Building Management Systems
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 1 October 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Minor works contract for provision of 2 No. accessible rooms in Halls
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 18 September 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Design, Installation and Commissioning of Solar PV on Student Residence Roofs
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 8 September 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Astro Turf - Flood Lighting and Control System Upgrade
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 14 July 2025
- Tender value
- £60,000
- Awards
- 1
University of Chichester Graduation Ceremonies - Academic Robing and Photography
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 14 July 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Student Union - Wheelchair access - Civil Engineer & Quantity Surveyor
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 7 July 2025
- Tender value
- £30,000
- Awards
- 2
Advertising and Media Buying Partner
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 20 March 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Advertising and Media Buying Partner
THE UNIVERSITY OF CHICHESTER · updated 20 March 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Security Services for the University of Chichester
University of Chichester · updated 5 July 2023
- Tender value
- £685,000
- Awards
- 0
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
13 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
No exact company-number registration linked
The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
14 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
Post-graduate level higher education
15 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
0 exact company-number links.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
16 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
0 exact company-number registrations.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
16 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
17 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Privacy-reduced candidate associations based on a unique exact name-and-postcode match.
Historic awards linked by exact source-supplied GB-COH company identifier.
Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.