Private Limited Company

THORLABS LIMITED

ActiveCompany 05081788United Kingdom
Bulk record snapshot1 AUG 2026Source details →

Registered office

204 LANCASTER WAY BUSINESS PARK, ELY, CAMBRIDGESHIRE, ENGLAND, CB6 3NX
Incorporated23 March 2004
Company age22 years

TXT In plain English

Company description

BritDB description

THORLABS LIMITED is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Private Limited Company”. Incorporated on 23 March 2004; registered for 22 years; registered office reported in ELY, CAMBRIDGESHIRE, ENGLAND. Its primary declared activity is 25990 · Manufacture of other fabricated metal products n.e.c., with 2 additional SIC activities reported.

This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 2 PSC records, 16 procurement records. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.

Prepared from public dataChecked 5 September 2026 · 11 profile sources connected
How this description is built →
i

Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.

01 Company overview

Identity and registration

Snapshot 1 August 2026
Official name
THORLABS LIMITED
Company number
05081788
Company type
Private Limited Company
Status
Active
Country of origin
United Kingdom
Dissolution date
Not supplied
Accounts category
GROUP
Mortgage charges
5 total · 5 outstanding · 0 satisfied
Limited partnership members
0 general · 0 limited
i

A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.

02 Filing dates

Accounts and statements

Companies House
AccountsBulk record

Last accounts made up to

31 December 2025

Next accounts due

30 September 2027
Confirmation statementBulk record

Last statement made up to

23 March 2026

Next statement due

6 April 2027
Filing source and official link

BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.

03 Workforce reporting

Gender pay gap

Reporting year 2025–2026
Employer size250 to 499
Median hourly gap4.2%
Mean hourly gap1.7%
Submitted24 March 2026
Submission deadline5 April 2026
Submission timingSubmitted by deadline
Median bonus gap
0.0%
Mean bonus gap
22.6%
Women receiving bonus
95.6%
Men receiving bonus
93.5%
Women in top quartile
21.5%
Women in upper middle quartile
25.3%
Women in lower middle quartile
31.6%
Women in lower quartile
34.3%
Earlier reporting years (5)
  1. 250 to 4993.6% median hourly gap
  2. 250 to 4993.5% median hourly gap
  3. 250 to 4999.2% median hourly gap
  4. 250 to 4999.2% median hourly gap
  5. Less than 2509.2% median hourly gap
i

Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.

04 Supply-chain transparency

Modern slavery statement

Statement year 2026
Organisation
THORLABS LIMITED
Group submission
Yes
Statement period
1 January 2025 – 31 December 2025
Approved
17 March 2026
Sectors
Education and research Other

Organisation structure

Covered in the statement

Policies

Covered in the statement

Risk assessment

Covered in the statement

Due diligence

Covered in the statement

Training

Covered in the statement

Goals and KPIs

Not reported as covered

Full statement information supplied to the registry
Reported turnover band
£100 million to £500 million
Years producing statements
More than 5 years
ILO indicators included
Not answered
Registry record updated
30 March 2026

Policies described

Freedom of workers to terminate employment Freedom of association Prohibits any threat of violence, harassment and intimidation Prohibits compulsory overtime Prohibits child labour Prohibits discrimination

Training described

Human resources Executive-level staff Procurement staff

Worker engagement and working conditions

Your suppliers

Social audits

Audit conducted by your staff Announced audit

Grievance mechanisms

Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app

i

A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.

05 Data protection

ICO fee-payer registration

Candidate match
Tier 3

Thorlabs Limited

Registration ZA452967

Registered from
23 August 2018
Current end date
22 August 2027
!

This is a candidate association, not an official Companies House link. The ICO file supplies no company number. The organisation name and postcode uniquely matched this company in the current snapshot. BritDB excludes all DPO contact fields and does not publish unmatched personal entries.

06 Public procurement

Contracts Finder awards

Exact GB-COH links
active · 18 December 2024

GSS24943 - Lasers & Accessories

UK SHARED BUSINESS SERVICES LIMITED · ocds-b5fd17-918b6fbf-1548-40c5-955c-c1eb168fbf19

Supplier named in award
THORLABS LIMITED
Award value
£32,753.36
Contract period
23 December 2024 – 1 September 2025
Published
20 December 2024
Procedure
Competitive quotation (below threshold)
Main CPV
38636100
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-918b6fbf-1548-40c5-955c-c1eb168fbf19-2024-12-20T14:35:13Z
active · 30 October 2024

BE24227 - Optic Tables

UK SHARED BUSINESS SERVICES LIMITED · ocds-b5fd17-bc6d83a6-3413-4ca3-b3bf-71afb6d959c5

Supplier named in award
Thorlabs Ltd
Award value
£40,764.77
Contract period
30 October 2024 – 17 December 2024
Published
31 October 2024
Procedure
Competitive quotation (below threshold)
Main CPV
39180000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-bc6d83a6-3413-4ca3-b3bf-71afb6d959c5-2024-10-31T08:50:23Z
active · 19 December 2023

Supply of Air Compressor, 230 VAC power supply

Defence Science and Technology Laboratory · ocds-b5fd17-b4dc2b8a-036f-4d43-956c-2883ff333428

Supplier named in award
THORLABS LIMITED
Award value
£12,967.90
Contract period
19 December 2023 – 14 February 2024
Published
16 January 2024
Procedure
Other - Single Source - compatibility
Main CPV
38000000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-b4dc2b8a-036f-4d43-956c-2883ff333428-2024-01-16T16:28:43Z
active · 3 November 2023

3693/JN - Multi-Photon Microscope System

UNIVERSITY OF SHEFFIELD · ocds-b5fd17-ec15981e-fa75-4136-8f62-c9157bd16c8a

Supplier named in award
Thorlabs Ltd
Award value
£168,708
Contract period
21 December 2023 – 22 December 2023
Published
13 November 2023
Procedure
Open procedure (above threshold)
Main CPV
38510000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-ec15981e-fa75-4136-8f62-c9157bd16c8a-2023-11-13T09:28:39Z
active · 20 September 2023

GSS23771 - HiLUX Optical Tables

UK SHARED BUSINESS SERVICES LIMITED · ocds-b5fd17-88668cf1-1c83-48fa-88db-88ddb593c882

Supplier named in award
Thorlabs Ltd
Award value
£32,686.41
Contract period
20 September 2023 – 20 September 2023
Published
21 September 2023
Procedure
Competitive quotation (below threshold)
Main CPV
38000000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-88668cf1-1c83-48fa-88db-88ddb593c882-2023-09-21T08:03:57+01:00
active · 27 March 2023

BE23080 - 2 Laser Tables

UK SHARED BUSINESS SERVICES LIMITED · ocds-b5fd17-ee978dd1-4cfd-4825-b7e1-cf15fe17366a

Supplier named in award
Thorlabs Ltd
Award value
£12,016.57
Contract period
28 March 2023 – 31 March 2023
Published
3 April 2023
Procedure
Competitive quotation (below threshold)
Main CPV
30214000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-ee978dd1-4cfd-4825-b7e1-cf15fe17366a-2023-04-03T11:30:34+01:00
active · 16 March 2021

UKRI - RE21276 - Optical Table Assembly

UK SHARED BUSINESS SERVICES LIMITED · ocds-b5fd17-667e62fc-c49b-4f8e-9a2b-fe5ef5f5894b

Supplier named in award
THORLABS LIMITED
Award value
£28,456.80
Contract period
16 March 2021 – 30 June 2021
Published
19 March 2021
Procedure
Competitive quotation (below threshold)
Main CPV
38000000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-667e62fc-c49b-4f8e-9a2b-fe5ef5f5894b-2021-03-19T11:59:12Z
active · 8 September 2020

1LGY-Laboratory Equipment

NEWCASTLE UNIVERSITY · ocds-b5fd17-073aec44-7ebc-4031-a59f-79e7e0f6dfcf

Supplier named in award
THORLABS LIMITED
Award value
£49,565.86
Contract period
9 September 2020 – 16 October 2020
Published
1 February 2021
Procedure
Other - Manual Entry
Main CPV
38000000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-073aec44-7ebc-4031-a59f-79e7e0f6dfcf-2021-02-01T17:27:46Z
active · 17 April 2020

1678 - OCT Imaging System

CENTRE FOR PROCESS INNOVATION LIMITED · ocds-b5fd17-5d101881-13ac-4bf8-8c6a-611b760a6189

Supplier named in award
Thorlabs Ltd
Award value
£189,330
Contract period
20 April 2020 – 19 April 2024
Published
17 April 2020
Procedure
Open procedure (below threshold)
Main CPV
38630000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-5d101881-13ac-4bf8-8c6a-611b760a6189-2020-04-17T10:23:28+01:00
active · 6 March 2020

UKRI - RE20168 - Optical Tables and Legs

UK SHARED BUSINESS SERVICES LIMITED · ocds-b5fd17-61933a5b-c2cd-446e-ab5d-f01967722f80

Supplier named in award
THORLABS LIMITED
Award value
£28,694.13
Contract period
6 March 2020 – 30 April 2020
Published
12 March 2020
Procedure
Competitive quotation (below threshold)
Main CPV
38000000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-61933a5b-c2cd-446e-ab5d-f01967722f80-2020-03-12T08:44:42Z
active · 10 February 2020

Contract for the Supply and Installation of TCSM0004-SP GaAs/AlGaAs-on-sapphire chips

THE UNIVERSITY OF BIRMINGHAM · ocds-b5fd17-d3586ee0-5d07-433f-ae00-35b8eb4aefef

Supplier named in award
THORLABS LIMITED
Award value
£36,000
Contract period
14 February 2020 – 30 April 2020
Published
12 March 2020
Procedure
Other - Direct Award
Main CPV
38000000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-d3586ee0-5d07-433f-ae00-35b8eb4aefef-2020-03-12T15:26:15Z
active · 13 December 2019

1355 - Framework for the ongoing supply of Electronic Components and Parts for Medical Device Projects

CENTRE FOR PROCESS INNOVATION LIMITED · ocds-b5fd17-00085c70-714e-4f5b-94ff-c32f10649ab1

Supplier named in award
Thorlabs Ltd
Award value
£181,302
Contract period
17 December 2019 – 15 December 2023
Published
18 December 2019
Procedure
Open procedure (below threshold)
Main CPV
31711000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-00085c70-714e-4f5b-94ff-c32f10649ab1-2019-12-18T09:17:54Z
active · 14 September 2018

UK SBS PR18112 UKRI STFC Optical Tables

Daresbury Laboratory · ocds-b5fd17-bd253536-a04e-46ff-ac4a-c71b9344da85

Supplier named in award
THORLABS LIMITED
Award value
£43,788.21
Contract period
18 September 2018 – 28 February 2019
Published
18 December 2018
Procedure
Open procedure (below threshold)
Main CPV
30216000
Source release ID
ocds-b5fd17-bd253536-a04e-46ff-ac4a-c71b9344da85-2018-12-18T14:19:51Z
i

The supplier link is exact, but the award remains buyer-published procurement data. BritDB requires the GB-COH identifier supplied in the Contracts Finder OCDS release and does not infer suppliers from similar names.

07 Ownership and control

People with significant control

Snapshot 25 August 2026
Current records2
Ceased records0
PSC source and official link →
IndividualCurrent

Jennifer Cable

  • Has significant influence or control
Nationality
American
Country of residence
United States
Notified
29 November 2021
Identity verification details
  • Anti Money Laundering Supervisory Bodies: Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW)
  • Appointment Verification End On: 9999-12-31T00:00:00Z
  • Appointment Verification Start On: 2026-03-24T00:00:00Z
  • Authorised Corporate Service Provider Name: STREETS WHITMARSH STERLAND LLP ACSP
  • Identity Verified On: 2026-03-17T00:00:00Z
  • Preferred Name: Jennifer E Cable
IndividualCurrent

Mr Alex Cable

  • Owns 75% or more of shares
  • Controls 75% or more of voting rights
  • Can appoint or remove directors
Nationality
American
Country of residence
United States
Notified
6 April 2016
Identity verification details
  • Anti Money Laundering Supervisory Bodies: Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW)
  • Appointment Verification End On: 9999-12-31T00:00:00Z
  • Appointment Verification Start On: 2026-05-08T00:00:00Z
  • Authorised Corporate Service Provider Name: STREETS WHITMARSH STERLAND LLP ACSP
  • Identity Verified On: 2026-03-17T00:00:00Z
  • Preferred Name: Alex Ezra Cable
i

PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.

08 Charity register

Charity Commission links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCEW

No exact company-number link in this snapshot

The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.

i

This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.

09 Northern Ireland charity register

CCNI exact company links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCNI

No unambiguous company-number link found

The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.

i

CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.

10 Sanctions screening

UK Sanctions List

Report 3 September 2026
UKSL

No exact business-registration-number link found

The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

!

No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.

11 Public procurement

Find a Tender links

Snapshot 22 August 2026
i

These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.

12 Environmental register

Environment Agency waste registrations

Snapshot 25 August 2026
EA

No exact company-number registration linked

The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.

13 Nature of business

Standard Industrial Classification

SIC 2007
27900

Manufacture of other electrical equipment

46180

Agents specialized in the sale of other particular products

14 Connected public record

Checks beyond the company register

Partial coverage
CCEW

Charity Commission

0 exact company-number links.

Checked
CCNI

Northern Ireland charities

0 unambiguous company-number links.

Checked
FTS

Public contracts

3 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.

Checked
EA

Waste register

0 exact company-number registrations.

Checked
GZ

Corporate notices

The Gazette is not yet connected.

Not checked
UKSL

UK Sanctions List

No exact business-registration-number link in this report.

Checked
!

A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.

15 Record timeline

Dates in the bulk record

3 events
  1. Confirmation statement

    Latest confirmation statement made up to this date

  2. Accounts

    Latest accounts made up to this date

  3. Incorporation

    Company incorporated

16 Provenance

Sources for this profile

11 sources
CH
Companies House Free Company Data Product

Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.

Snapshot 1 August 2026
GPG
UK Gender Pay Gap Service

Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.

6 reporting years
MSS
Modern Slavery Statement Registry

Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.

1 linked statement
ICO
ICO Register of Fee Payers

Privacy-reduced candidate associations based on a unique exact name-and-postcode match.

1 candidate record
CF
Contracts Finder OCDS

Historic awards linked by exact source-supplied GB-COH company identifier.

13 exact awards
PSC
Companies House PSC snapshot

Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCEW
Charity Commission Register of Charities

Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCNI
Northern Ireland Register of Charities

Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.

0 exact links
UKSL
UK Sanctions List

Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.

Checked 3 September 2026
FTS
Find a Tender OCDS data

Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.

3 exact processes
EA
Environment Agency waste register

Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.

0 exact registrations
+
Other registers

Financial regulation and licences.

Not checked yet

Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.