TXT In plain English
Company description
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Private Limited Company”. Incorporated on 27 April 2004; registered for 22 years; registered office reported in WILTSHIRE. Its primary declared activity is 49100 · Passenger rail transport, interurban.
This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 1 PSC record, 123 procurement records, 1 waste registration. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED
- Company number
- 05113733
- Company type
- Private Limited Company
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- FULL
- Mortgage charges
- 7 total · 0 outstanding · 7 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
31 March 2025Next accounts due
31 December 2026Last statement made up to
3 January 2026Next statement due
17 January 2027BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Workforce reporting
Gender pay gap
- Median bonus gap
- -10.4%
- Mean bonus gap
- 40.6%
- Women receiving bonus
- 74.8%
- Men receiving bonus
- 56.3%
- Women in top quartile
- 10.8%
- Women in upper middle quartile
- 21.1%
- Women in lower middle quartile
- 36.7%
- Women in lower quartile
- 40.1%
Earlier reporting years (8)
- 5000 to 19,99921.1% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,99923.4% median hourly gap
- 1000 to 499924.2% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,99923.6% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,99924.4% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,99926.0% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,99927.4% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,99926.0% median hourly gap
Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.
04 Supplier payments
Payment practices and performance
- Reporting period
- 1 October 2025 – 31 March 2026
- Filed
- 24 April 2026
- Shortest standard term
- 0 days
- Longest standard term
- 60 days
- E-invoicing offered
- No
- Supply-chain finance
- Not offered
- Payment codes
- No
- Construction retentions
- No qualifying construction contracts
Complete reported payment fields
- Policy regime
- Regime-3
- Financial period started
- 1 April 2025
- Qualifying contracts
- Yes
- Payments made
- Yes
- Invoice value paid within 30 days
- £687,116,432
- Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
- £35,893,559
- Invoice value paid after 60 days
- £6,971,133
- Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
- £27,698,834
- Invoices paid in 31–60 days
- 42.0%
- Invoices unpaid due to dispute
- 22.0%
- Maximum contractual payment period
- 90 days
- Supplier-list charging policy
- No
- Supplier-list charges made
- No
Maximum contractual payment information
N.A
Reported terms and dispute process
- Standard payment terms
The Company’s standard payment terms are 60 days from date of valid invoice. It is the Group’s policy to agree appropriate payment terms for each transaction or series of transactions, and to abide by those terms on the submission of a valid invoice. The Company regularly agrees variations to the standard terms with individual suppliers depending on the nature of the goods/services and other circumstances.
- Other payment-term information
N/A
- Dispute resolution process
The Company is committed to dealing with suppliers in a fair, consistent and transparent manner. We seek to resolve any invoice queries as quickly as possible between the Accounts Payable team and the relevant supplier. If a dispute cannot be resolved it is escalated to the relevant Head of Department and Procurement.
Earlier payment reports (11 shown)
- 41.0 average days to pay7.0% outside terms
- 43.0 average days to pay11.0% outside terms
- 42.0 average days to pay11.0% outside terms
- 42.0 average days to pay10.0% outside terms
- 41.0 average days to pay13.0% outside terms
- 42.0 average days to pay14.0% outside terms
- 41.0 average days to pay15.0% outside terms
- 43.0 average days to pay13.0% outside terms
- 40.0 average days to pay13.0% outside terms
- 56.0 average days to pay12.0% outside terms
- 47.0 average days to pay13.0% outside terms
This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.
05 Global legal identity
Legal Entity Identifier
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED
LEI 9845006BBEF2F791WC39 · jurisdiction GB
- Legal form
- H0PO
- Entity category
- GENERAL
- Entity created
- 27 April 2004
- Initial LEI registration
- 19 December 2023
- LEI last updated
- 20 October 2025
- Next renewal
- 19 December 2026
- Managing LOU
- 529900T8BM49AURSDO55
- Other legal names
- QUAYSHELFCO 1087 LIMITED
- Legal address
- Milford House 1 Milford Street, Swindon, Wiltshire, SN1 1HL, GB
- Headquarters address
- Milford House 1 Milford Street, Swindon, Wiltshire, SN1 1HL, GB
GLEIF parent-reporting exceptions
DIRECT ACCOUNTING CONSOLIDATION PARENT
NO_KNOWN_PERSON
ULTIMATE ACCOUNTING CONSOLIDATION PARENT
NO_KNOWN_PERSON
LEI data provides global legal identity and source-reported relationships, not a credit or regulatory approval. BritDB links Level 1 identities only through GLEIF’s Companies House registration-authority identifier and exact company number; Level 2 parent and fund relationships and reporting exceptions are reproduced as supplied by GLEIF.
06 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED
- Group submission
- Yes
- Parent organisation
- FIRSTGROUP PLC
- Statement period
- 30 March 2024 – 29 March 2025
- Approved
- 10 June 2025
- Sectors
- Transportation, logistics, and storage
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Covered in the statement
Risk assessment
Covered in the statement
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Covered in the statement
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- Over £500 million
- Years producing statements
- More than 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 26 June 2025
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
07 Data protection
ICO fee-payer registration
First Greater Western Limited
Registration Z9382315
- Registered from
- 14 March 2006
- Current end date
- 13 March 2027
- Trading names
- FIRST GREAT WESTERN
This is a candidate association, not an official Companies House link. The ICO file supplies no company number. The organisation name and postcode uniquely matched this company in the current snapshot. BritDB excludes all DPO contact fields and does not publish unmatched personal entries.
08 Public procurement
Contracts Finder awards
Bridging Agreement Services
Torbay Council · ocds-b5fd17-44772103-523d-4ac7-9465-7c74968db44e
- Supplier named in award
- First Great Western Ltd
- Award value
- £91,799.81
- Contract period
- 1 January 2023 – 30 April 2024
- Published
- 13 December 2023
- Procedure
- Other - Awarded via Waiver 736
- Main CPV
- 71000000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-44772103-523d-4ac7-9465-7c74968db44e-2023-12-13T12:56:47Z
The supplier link is exact, but the award remains buyer-published procurement data. BritDB requires the GB-COH identifier supplied in the Contracts Finder OCDS release and does not infer suppliers from similar names.
09 Ownership and control
People with significant control
First Rail Holdings Limited
- Owns 75% or more of shares
- Controls 75% or more of voting rights
- Can appoint or remove directors
- Country registered
- England And Wales
- Legal authority
- United Kingdom (England And Wales)
- Legal form
- Limited By Shares
- Place registered
- Companies House
- Registration number
- 05154485
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.
10 Charity register
Charity Commission links
No exact company-number link in this snapshot
The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.
This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
11 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
12 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
13 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
GWR - Legacy fleet MRO & Engineering Parts
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 21 September 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
GWR Early Market Engagement for Rolling Stock Maintenance and Associated Rail Services
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 21 September 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 0
GWR - Sourcing supply, repair, refurbishment, testing and overhaul of hydraulic and pneumatic components
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 21 September 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
GWR - Rolling Stock Filtration Components, Batteries and Associated Supplies
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 21 September 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
GWR - On-Board Toilet Repair Services
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 21 September 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
GWR - Hose assemblies, associated fittings and components
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 21 September 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
GWR - Rolling Stock Component Repair, Overhaul and Technical Services for HVAC Systems
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 21 September 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
GWR - Bulk Packed Oils, Lubricants and Greases
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 18 September 2026
- Tender value
- £2,400,000
- Awards
- 0
GWR - Approved Specialist Cleaning Products
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 18 September 2026
- Tender value
- £900,000
- Awards
- 0
GWR Time and Attendance System
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 17 September 2026
- Tender value
- £2,500,000
- Awards
- 0
GWR - Framework for the provision of fabrication, structural repair and composite repair services in support of its Train & Rolling Stock (T&RS) maintenance operations
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 11 September 2026
- Tender value
- £21,000,000
- Awards
- 0
GWR - Transport and Distribution Services (Including Courier and Heavy Haulage)
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 10 September 2026
- Tender value
- £2,000,000
- Awards
- 0
GWR Customer Facing Maintenance
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 1 September 2026
- Tender value
- £3,600,000
- Awards
- 0
Provision of Fire Risk Assessment for Network Rail, Transport for Wales and Great Western Railway
NETWORK RAIL INFRASTRUCTURE LIMITED · updated 26 August 2026
- Tender value
- £2,800,829
- Awards
- 6
Reading PAYG TVMs and PVALs in Cornwall and Devon Enablement Works
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 21 August 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Electrical Inspection and Conditioning Reports
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 18 August 2026
- Tender value
- £850,000
- Awards
- 1
GWR - Train Planning System
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 31 July 2026
- Tender value
- £3,000,000
- Awards
- 0
GWR - Legionella Management
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 23 July 2026
- Tender value
- £800,000
- Awards
- 0
GWR - Psychometric assessment Services Trainee Drivers
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 3 July 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 3
Provision of Estates Management Services: Retail, Commercial and Occupations
FIRST GREATER WESTERN LIMITED · updated 26 June 2026
- Tender value
- £1,400,000
- Awards
- 0
Showing the first 20 of 122 linked procurement processes.
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
14 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
15 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
16 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
0 exact company-number links.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
122 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
1 exact company-number registration.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
17 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
18 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Global legal identities linked through Companies House registration authority RA000585.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Privacy-reduced candidate associations based on a unique exact name-and-postcode match.
Historic awards linked by exact source-supplied GB-COH company identifier.
Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.