TXT In plain English
Company description
WH SMITH TRAVEL LIMITED is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Private Limited Company”. Incorporated on 9 April 2008; registered for 18 years; registered office reported in SWINDON, WILTSHIRE, ENGLAND. Its primary declared activity is 47610 · Retail sale of books in specialised stores, with 1 additional SIC activity reported.
This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 1 PSC record. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- WH SMITH TRAVEL LIMITED
- Company number
- 06560378
- Company type
- Private Limited Company
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- FULL
- Mortgage charges
- 0 total · 0 outstanding · 0 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
31 August 2025Next accounts due
31 May 2027Last statement made up to
9 April 2026Next statement due
23 April 2027BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Supplier payments
Payment practices and performance
- Reporting period
- 1 September 2025 – 28 February 2026
- Filed
- 27 March 2026
- Shortest standard term
- 90 days
- Longest standard term
- Not supplied
- E-invoicing offered
- No
- Supply-chain finance
- Not offered
- Payment codes
- No
- Construction retentions
- No qualifying construction contracts
Complete reported payment fields
- Policy regime
- Regime-3
- Financial period started
- 1 September 2025
- Qualifying contracts
- Yes
- Payments made
- Yes
- Invoice value paid within 30 days
- £242,779,000
- Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
- £153,614,000
- Invoice value paid after 60 days
- £70,737,000
- Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
- £68,493,000
- Invoices paid in 31–60 days
- 32.0%
- Invoices unpaid due to dispute
- 0.0%
- Maximum contractual payment period
- 90 days
- Supplier-list charging policy
- No
- Supplier-list charges made
- No
Reported terms and dispute process
- Standard payment terms
WHSmith standard payment terms are 90 days after the end of the month
of receipt by WHSmith of a proper invoice or if later after the acceptance
of the Goods or Services.
However, WHSmith negotiates payment terms individually with suppliers
and on a product specific basis. Any contractual package agreed by WHSmith
and the supplier usually includes payment terms which are lower than
the standard 90 days terms.
The WHSmith vendor buyer agreement allows for the offset of amounts owed by the
supplier against invoices owed to the supplier. This is normal business practice
and protects amounts that are owed to WHSmith. An invoice is deemed settled
when it is fully offset by amounts owed to WHSmith. - Dispute resolution process
The Business has an ongoing communication with Suppliers through both the Trading and the financial
accounting teams. Payment disputes will be directed to the financial accounting teams for resolution
in the first instance and will be escalated to the Trading teams where there is a contractual query.
Earlier payment reports (11 shown)
- 58.0 average days to pay33.0% outside terms
- 66.0 average days to pay31.0% outside terms
- 67.0 average days to pay28.0% outside terms
- 53.0 average days to pay20.0% outside terms
- 80.0 average days to pay25.0% outside terms
- 72.0 average days to pay19.0% outside terms
- 63.0 average days to pay18.0% outside terms
- 64.0 average days to pay19.0% outside terms
- 73.0 average days to pay21.0% outside terms
- 68.0 average days to pay22.0% outside terms
- 77.0 average days to pay25.0% outside terms
This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.
04 Global legal identity
Legal Entity Identifier
WH SMITH TRAVEL LIMITED
LEI 2138004L4O3MMY6E7H36 · jurisdiction GB
- Legal form
- H0PO
- Entity category
- GENERAL
- Entity created
- 9 April 2008
- Initial LEI registration
- 7 January 2016
- LEI last updated
- 1 July 2026
- Next renewal
- 15 August 2027
- Managing LOU
- 213800WAVVOPS85N2205
- Legal address
- WINDMILL HILL BUSINESS PARK, WHITEHILL WAY, SWINDON, GB-SWD, SN5 6PB, GB
- Headquarters address
- WINDMILL HILL BUSINESS PARK, WHITEHILL WAY, SWINDON, GB-SWD, SN5 6PB, GB
GLEIF Level 2 relationships
IS DIRECTLY CONSOLIDATED BY
From LEI 2138004L4O3MMY6E7H36 to LEI 2138001KJNGUJ34G7X91
- Related legal entity
- WH SMITH PLC →
- Initial registration
- 7 January 2016
- Last updated
- 1 July 2026
- Next renewal
- 15 August 2027
- Validation sources
- FULLY_CORROBORATED
- Validation documents
- ACCOUNTS_FILING
- Relationship periods
- Start: 2024-09-01T00:00:00Z; End: 2025-08-31T00:00:00Z; Type: ACCOUNTING_PERIOD; Start: 2016-01-07T00:00:00Z; Type: RELATIONSHIP_PERIOD
- Qualifiers
- Dimension: ACCOUNTING_STANDARD; Category: OTHER_ACCOUNTING_STANDARD
- Validation reference
- https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06560378/filing-history/MzUyNDMzMTM2NmFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
IS ULTIMATELY CONSOLIDATED BY
From LEI 2138004L4O3MMY6E7H36 to LEI 2138001KJNGUJ34G7X91
- Related legal entity
- WH SMITH PLC →
- Initial registration
- 7 January 2016
- Last updated
- 1 July 2026
- Next renewal
- 15 August 2027
- Validation sources
- FULLY_CORROBORATED
- Validation documents
- ACCOUNTS_FILING
- Relationship periods
- Start: 2024-09-01T00:00:00Z; End: 2025-08-31T00:00:00Z; Type: ACCOUNTING_PERIOD; Start: 2016-01-07T00:00:00Z; Type: RELATIONSHIP_PERIOD
- Qualifiers
- Dimension: ACCOUNTING_STANDARD; Category: OTHER_ACCOUNTING_STANDARD
- Validation reference
- https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06560378/filing-history/MzUyNDMzMTM2NmFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0
LEI data provides global legal identity and source-reported relationships, not a credit or regulatory approval. BritDB links Level 1 identities only through GLEIF’s Companies House registration-authority identifier and exact company number; Level 2 parent and fund relationships and reporting exceptions are reproduced as supplied by GLEIF.
05 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- WH SMITH TRAVEL LIMITED
- Group submission
- Yes
- Parent organisation
- W H SMITH INTERNATIONAL LIMITED
- Statement period
- 1 September 2024 – 31 August 2025
- Approved
- 2 February 2026
- Sectors
- Cosmetics and toiletries Durable consumer goods, including electronics and appliances, home furnishings and other accessories Fashion, textiles, apparel and luxury goods Food and beverages, agriculture and fishing
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Covered in the statement
Risk assessment
Covered in the statement
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Covered in the statement
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- Over £500 million
- Years producing statements
- More than 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 23 February 2026
Policies described
Freedom of workers to terminate employment Freedom of movement Freedom of association Prohibits any threat of violence, harassment and intimidation Prohibits the use of worker-paid recruitment fees Prohibits compulsory overtime Prohibits child labour Prohibits discrimination Prohibits confiscation of workers' original identification documents Provides access to remedy, compensation and justice for victims of modern slavery
Training described
Your front line staff Procurement staff Your suppliers
Worker engagement and working conditions
Your suppliers Trade unions or worker representative groups Professional auditors Workers within your supply chain Businesses in your industry or sector
Social audits
Audit conducted by your staff Third party audit arranged by your supplier Announced audit Unannounced audit
Grievance mechanisms
Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app Through trade unions or other worker representative groups
Earlier linked statements (1)
- WH SMITH TRAVEL LIMITED31 August 2022
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
06 Data protection
ICO fee-payer registration
WH Smith Travel Limited
Registration Z1440628
- Registered from
- 1 September 2008
- Current end date
- 31 August 2027
This is a candidate association, not an official Companies House link. The ICO file supplies no company number. The organisation name and postcode uniquely matched this company in the current snapshot. BritDB excludes all DPO contact fields and does not publish unmatched personal entries.
07 Ownership and control
People with significant control
Wh Smith Travel 2008 Limited
- Owns 75% or more of shares
- Controls 75% or more of voting rights
- Can appoint or remove directors
- Country registered
- England
- Legal authority
- Companies Act 2006
- Legal form
- Limited Company
- Place registered
- England And Wales Companies Registry
- Registration number
- 6560390
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.
08 Charity register
Charity Commission links
No exact company-number link in this snapshot
The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.
This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
09 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
10 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
11 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
No exact GB-COH link in this snapshot
Find a Tender did not explicitly identify this Companies House number in a procurement party. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
12 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
No exact company-number registration linked
The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
13 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
Retail sale of newspapers and stationery in specialised stores
14 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
0 exact company-number links.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
0 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
0 exact company-number registrations.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
15 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Company name
Previous name: ALNERY NO. 2784 LIMITED
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
16 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Global legal identities linked through Companies House registration authority RA000585.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Privacy-reduced candidate associations based on a unique exact name-and-postcode match.
Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.