TXT In plain English
Company description
NATIONAL HIGHWAYS LIMITED is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Private Limited Company”. Incorporated on 8 December 2014; registered for 11 years; registered office reported in BIRMINGHAM, ENGLAND. Its primary declared activity is 43999 · Other specialised construction activities n.e.c., with 3 additional SIC activities reported.
This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 1 PSC record, 127 procurement records. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- NATIONAL HIGHWAYS LIMITED
- Company number
- 09346363
- Company type
- Private Limited Company
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- FULL
- Mortgage charges
- 0 total · 0 outstanding · 0 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
31 March 2026Next accounts due
31 December 2027Last statement made up to
6 December 2025Next statement due
20 December 2026BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Workforce reporting
Gender pay gap
- Median bonus gap
- 2.7%
- Mean bonus gap
- 5.0%
- Women receiving bonus
- 93.7%
- Men receiving bonus
- 91.6%
- Women in top quartile
- 31.6%
- Women in upper middle quartile
- 37.5%
- Women in lower middle quartile
- 29.9%
- Women in lower quartile
- 45.3%
Earlier reporting years (8)
- 5000 to 19,9994.0% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,9995.1% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,9994.5% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,9994.4% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,9992.5% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,9992.2% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,9999.6% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,999-1.4% median hourly gap
Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.
04 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- NATIONAL HIGHWAYS LIMITED
- Group submission
- No
- Statement period
- 1 April 2025 – 31 March 2026
- Approved
- 20 May 2026
- Sectors
- Public sector
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Covered in the statement
Risk assessment
Covered in the statement
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Covered in the statement
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- Over £500 million
- Years producing statements
- More than 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 2 June 2026
Policies described
Freedom of workers to terminate employment Freedom of movement Freedom of association Prohibits any threat of violence, harassment and intimidation Prohibits the use of worker-paid recruitment fees Prohibits compulsory overtime Prohibits child labour Prohibits discrimination Prohibits confiscation of workers' original identification documents Provides access to remedy, compensation and justice for victims of modern slavery
Training described
Your front line staff Procurement staff Your suppliers Other
Worker engagement and working conditions
Your suppliers Workers within your organisation
Grievance mechanisms
Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app Through trade unions or other worker representative groups
Demonstrated progress
The statement shows progress through continuous improvement actions year‑on‑year, including enhanced supplier training, updated procurement controls, strengthened collaboration with DfT, and internal assurance reviews. It also sets clear forward actions for 2025–26, demonstrating an evolving, proactive approach to identifying, managing, and reducing modern slavery risks across operations and the supply chain.
Reported risks and mitigations
- Risk: The highest exposure sits within the supply chain, particularly in deeper tiers. This includes risks linked to subcontracted labour, raw materials, and outsourced services.
- Area: Within your supply chains
- Tier: Tier 3 suppliers and below
- Group: Migrants Refugees
- Mitigation: National Highways focused on supply chain risk, labour practices in subcontracted operations, and improving detection through awareness and reporting mechanisms as its key modern slavery risk priorities.
- Risk: Operational environments (e.g. roadworks, major projects) may involve agency workers or subcontracted labour, which can increase vulnerability to exploitation or poor labour practice
- Risk: Failure to identify, recognise, and report signs of modern slavery across the organisation and supply chain.
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
05 Public procurement
Contracts Finder awards
LTC-Alignment Day Events Management
National Highways · ocds-b5fd17-27ab788c-427e-47a2-871b-b76b7dd31fb7
- Supplier named in award
- 2. CORPORATE CAPE LIMITED
- Award value
- £80,000
- Contract period
- 15 May 2025 – 31 July 2025
- Published
- 22 May 2025
- Procedure
- Single tender action (below threshold)
- Main CPV
- 79952000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-27ab788c-427e-47a2-871b-b76b7dd31fb7-2025-05-22T11:44:09+01:00
GCP South West Travel Hub contract with National Highways
Cambridgeshire County Council · ocds-b5fd17-79feeae0-19b2-4c22-8eff-5ed92f8827c4
- Supplier named in award
- National Highways
- Award value
- £60,000
- Contract period
- 16 January 2025 – 16 July 2025
- Published
- 16 January 2025
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 71311210
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-79feeae0-19b2-4c22-8eff-5ed92f8827c4-2025-01-16T13:41:46Z
Branston Interchange
Staffordshire County Council · ocds-b5fd17-119fd143-9eed-4d01-999a-2a7b2c02d1f2
- Supplier named in award
- NATIONAL HIGHWAYS LIMITED
- Award value
- £129,049.79
- Contract period
- 8 January 2024 – 31 May 2025
- Published
- 5 January 2024
- Procedure
- Other - Awarded in accordance with procurement regulations
- Main CPV
- 71311210
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-119fd143-9eed-4d01-999a-2a7b2c02d1f2-2024-01-05T10:09:39Z
Commercial Vehicle Safety Event 2024
National Highways · ocds-b5fd17-1b8f845c-c838-4e71-b68f-c10b14802e13
- Supplier named in award
- Stennik Advertising Limited
- Award value
- £30,000
- Contract period
- 1 September 2023 – 31 March 2024
- Published
- 12 September 2023
- Procedure
- Other - 3 Quote Procurement
- Main CPV
- 79952000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-1b8f845c-c838-4e71-b68f-c10b14802e13-2023-09-12T09:55:25+01:00
The supplier link is exact, but the award remains buyer-published procurement data. BritDB requires the GB-COH identifier supplied in the Contracts Finder OCDS release and does not infer suppliers from similar names.
06 Ownership and control
People with significant control
Secretary Of State For Transport
- Owns 75% or more of shares
- Can appoint or remove directors
- Legal authority
- United Kingdom (England)
- Legal form
- Corporate
- Notified
- 6 April 2016
PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.
07 Charity register
Charity Commission links
No exact company-number link in this snapshot
The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.
This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
08 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
09 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
10 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
ROAD SAFETY FOUNDATION IRAP PARTNERSHIP
National Highways Limited · updated 10 April 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Maintenance and Response 2 Framework
National Highways Limited · updated 24 August 2026
- Tender value
- £7,960,713,652
- Awards
- 0
ITEP0964 - BCIS Licence Renewal
National Highways · updated 24 August 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Specialist advice and testing on corrosive protection of Steelwork
National Highways Limited · updated 30 July 2026
- Tender value
- £300,000
- Awards
- 1
National Highways Vehicle Recovery Service Contract (4th Generation)
National Highways Limited · updated 17 July 2026
- Tender value
- £197,100,000
- Awards
- 2
LTC - Gantry Wind Tunnel Testing
National Highways Limited · updated 16 July 2026
- Tender value
- £500,000
- Awards
- 2
Historical Railways Estate 2027 - Works Framework
National Highways Limited · updated 19 June 2026
- Tender value
- £140,000,000
- Awards
- 0
Contract award notice OAWMS (Confirm On Demand)
National Highways · updated 19 June 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
OCAMS093 ATMS Provider
National Highways Limited · updated 11 June 2026
- Tender value
- £50,000,000
- Awards
- 0
ITEP1001 - Umbraco Support 25-26
National Highways · updated 1 June 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
ITEP0960 - CHARM Tenables 25-26
National Highways · updated 29 May 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
ITEP0993 - Human Centered Design Delivery RIS3
National Highways · updated 30 April 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
ITEP0996 - Road Safety Foundation Route Review Tool Support
National Highways · updated 30 April 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
ITEP1012 - CELtek Control & Management System 25-26 (Area 1&2)
National Highways · updated 30 April 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
UK1 - Pipeline Notice - OCAMS101 Enterprise Portfolio Management
National Highways Limited · updated 13 April 2026
- Tender value
- £3,000,000
- Awards
- 0
ETM Incursion Warning Radar System - Prototype Development
National Highways · updated 2 April 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
National Spatial Planning Contract 2026
National Highways Limited · updated 5 February 2026
- Tender value
- £81,000,000
- Awards
- 3
Driving for better Business (DfBB)
National Highways · updated 28 November 2025
- Tender value
- £600,000
- Awards
- 0
UKPN – FP03 Tilney All Saints / KINGS LYNN PE34 3LR
National Highways · updated 28 November 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
National Enforcement Company in relation to Possession Orders
National Highways · updated 28 November 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Showing the first 20 of 123 linked procurement processes.
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
11 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
No exact company-number registration linked
The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
12 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
Other passenger land transport
Other engineering activities
General public administration activities
13 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
0 exact company-number links.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
123 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
0 exact company-number registrations.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
14 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Company name
Previous name: HIGHWAYS ENGLAND COMPANY LIMITED
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
15 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Historic awards linked by exact source-supplied GB-COH company identifier.
Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.