PRI/LTD BY GUAR/NSC (Private, limited by guarantee, no share capital)

QUEEN MARGARET UNIVERSITY, EDINBURGH

ActiveCompany SC007335United Kingdom
Bulk record snapshot1 AUG 2026Source details →

Registered office

QUEEN MARGARET UNIVERSITY DRIVE, MUSSELBURGH, EAST LOTHIAN, EH21 6UU
Incorporated22 November 1909
Company age116 years

TXT In plain English

Company description

BritDB description

QUEEN MARGARET UNIVERSITY, EDINBURGH is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “PRI/LTD BY GUAR/NSC (Private, limited by guarantee, no share capital)”. Incorporated on 22 November 1909; registered for 116 years; registered office reported in EAST LOTHIAN. Its primary declared activity is 85421 · First-degree level higher education, with 1 additional SIC activity reported.

This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 1 PSC record. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.

Prepared from public dataChecked 1 September 2026 · 9 profile sources connected
How this description is built →
i

Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.

01 Company overview

Identity and registration

Snapshot 1 August 2026
Official name
QUEEN MARGARET UNIVERSITY, EDINBURGH
Company number
SC007335
Company type
PRI/LTD BY GUAR/NSC (Private, limited by guarantee, no share capital)
Status
Active
Country of origin
United Kingdom
Dissolution date
Not supplied
Accounts category
GROUP
Mortgage charges
6 total · 5 outstanding · 1 satisfied
Limited partnership members
0 general · 0 limited
i

A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.

02 Filing dates

Accounts and statements

Companies House
AccountsBulk record

Last accounts made up to

31 July 2025

Next accounts due

30 April 2027
Confirmation statementBulk record

Last statement made up to

3 December 2025

Next statement due

17 December 2026
Filing source and official link

BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.

03 Supplier payments

Payment practices and performance

Period to 31 July 2026
Average time to pay30.0 days
Paid within 30 days74.0%
Paid after 60 days6.0%
Not paid within terms26.0%
Reporting period
1 February 2026 – 31 July 2026
Filed
4 August 2026
Shortest standard term
30 days
Longest standard term
Not supplied
E-invoicing offered
No
Supply-chain finance
Not offered
Payment codes
No
Construction retentions
No qualifying construction contracts
Complete reported payment fields
Policy regime
Regime-3
Financial period started
1 August 2025
Qualifying contracts
Yes
Payments made
Yes
Invoice value paid within 30 days
£7,115,849
Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
£964,766
Invoice value paid after 60 days
£495,173
Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
£1,459,939
Invoices paid in 31–60 days
20.0%
Invoices unpaid due to dispute
0.0%
Maximum contractual payment period
30 days
Supplier-list charging policy
No
Supplier-list charges made
No
Reported terms and dispute process
  1. Standard payment terms

    Unless special terms are agreed, it is the University’s policy to pay invoices 30 days from the date of the invoice (in accordance with the CBI prompt payment code). In agreements negotiated with suppliers, the University endeavours to include and abide by specific payment terms.

  2. Dispute resolution process

    We advise the supplier that the invoice is in dispute with the budget holder and the budget holder liaises direct with the supplier to get matters resolved.

Earlier payment reports (11 shown)
  1. 30.0 average days to pay84.0% outside terms
  2. 21.0 average days to pay31.0% outside terms
  3. 12.0 average days to pay5.0% outside terms
  4. 13.0 average days to pay5.0% outside terms
  5. 14.0 average days to pay6.0% outside terms
  6. 15.0 average days to pay5.0% outside terms
  7. 15.0 average days to pay7.0% outside terms
  8. 16.0 average days to pay6.0% outside terms
  9. 15.0 average days to pay6.0% outside terms
  10. 14.0 average days to pay4.0% outside terms
  11. 17.0 average days to pay10.0% outside terms
i

This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.

04 Supply-chain transparency

Modern slavery statement

Statement year 2021
Organisation
QUEEN MARGARET UNIVERSITY, EDINBURGH
Group submission
No
Statement period
1 August 2019 – 31 July 2020
Approved
31 July 2020
Sectors
Education and research

Organisation structure

Covered in the statement

Policies

Covered in the statement

Risk assessment

Covered in the statement

Due diligence

Covered in the statement

Training

Not reported as covered

Goals and KPIs

Not reported as covered

Full statement information supplied to the registry
Reported turnover band
£36 million to £60 million
Years producing statements
1 to 5 years
ILO indicators included
Not answered
Registry record updated
24 March 2021

Policies described

Freedom of workers to terminate employment Freedom of movement Freedom of association Prohibits any threat of violence, harassment and intimidation Prohibits the use of worker-paid recruitment fees Prohibits compulsory overtime Prohibits child labour Prohibits discrimination Prohibits confiscation of workers' original identification documents

Training described

Procurement staff

Worker engagement and working conditions

Civil society organisations Businesses in your industry or sector

Grievance mechanisms

Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app Through trade unions or other worker representative groups

Other monitoring

We are a member of Electronics Watch who carry out social audits of our suppliers in electronics manufacturing regions.

Demonstrated progress

Our statement refers to our collaborations with and membership of sector organisations and civil society. We aim to work with these organisations to set KPIs for our next statement.

Reported risks and mitigations

  • Risk: Preventing modern slavery on our own premises.
  • Area: Within your own operations
  • Group: Migrants
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • Mitigation: We are rigorous in checking that our staff have the right to work in the UK. Where it is necessary to hire agency workers or contractors, we utilise specified, reliable agencies who have met the University's rigorous procurement procedures regarding their business and employment policies and practices.
  • Risk: Preventing modern slavery in our partner institutions.
  • Area: Within your supply chains
  • Tier: Tier 1 suppliers
  • Group: Other vulnerable groups
  • Location: Egypt Greece India Nepal Singapore
  • Mitigation: The University is actively engaged with partner institutions overseas and undertakes rigorous and comprehensive due diligence, such as for potential partner institutions to be assessed using a financial risk matrix and a reputational due diligence report.
  • Risk: Preventing donations coming from unethical sources
  • Mitigation: All proposed donations are considered in accordance with the University’s Gift Acceptance Policy. All proposed gifts of £5,000 or more are subject to due diligence by the Development Office, including searching for any connection to modern slavery. The extent of due diligence and of oversight applied will increase in line with an assessment of the risk associated with the potential donor and potential size of the donation.
i

A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.

05 Ownership and control

People with significant control

Snapshot 25 August 2026
Current records1
Ceased records0
PSC source and official link →
PSC statementCurrent

No individual or entity with signficant control

Notified
15 November 2016
i

PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.

06 Charity register

Charity Commission links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCEW

No exact company-number link in this snapshot

The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.

i

This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.

07 Northern Ireland charity register

CCNI exact company links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCNI

No unambiguous company-number link found

The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.

i

CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.

08 Sanctions screening

UK Sanctions List

Report 28 August 2026
UKSL

No exact business-registration-number link found

The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

!

No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.

09 Public procurement

Find a Tender links

Snapshot 22 August 2026
FTS

No exact GB-COH link in this snapshot

Find a Tender did not explicitly identify this Companies House number in a procurement party. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.

10 Environmental register

Environment Agency waste registrations

Snapshot 25 August 2026
EA

No exact company-number registration linked

The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.

11 Nature of business

Standard Industrial Classification

SIC 2007
85422

Post-graduate level higher education

12 Connected public record

Checks beyond the company register

Partial coverage
CCEW

Charity Commission

0 exact company-number links.

Checked
CCNI

Northern Ireland charities

0 unambiguous company-number links.

Checked
FTS

Public contracts

0 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.

Checked
EA

Waste register

0 exact company-number registrations.

Checked
GZ

Corporate notices

The Gazette is not yet connected.

Not checked
UKSL

UK Sanctions List

No exact business-registration-number link in this report.

Checked
!

A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.

13 Record timeline

Dates in the bulk record

4 events
  1. Confirmation statement

    Latest confirmation statement made up to this date

  2. Accounts

    Latest accounts made up to this date

  3. Company name

    Previous name: QUEEN MARGARET UNIVERSITY COLLEGE, EDINBURGH

  4. Incorporation

    Company incorporated

14 Provenance

Sources for this profile

9 sources

Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.