Private Limited Company

JAMES JOHNSTON & CO. OF ELGIN LIMITED

ActiveCompany SC022553United Kingdom
Bulk record snapshot1 AUG 2026Source details →

Registered office

NEWMILL, ELGIN, IV30 4AF
Incorporated25 September 1943
Company age82 years

TXT In plain English

Company description

BritDB description

JAMES JOHNSTON & CO. OF ELGIN LIMITED is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Private Limited Company”. Incorporated on 25 September 1943; registered for 82 years. Its primary declared activity is 13200 · Weaving of textiles, with 3 additional SIC activities reported.

This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 2 PSC records. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.

Prepared from public dataChecked 31 August 2026 · 10 profile sources connected
How this description is built →
i

Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.

01 Company overview

Identity and registration

Snapshot 1 August 2026
Official name
JAMES JOHNSTON & CO. OF ELGIN LIMITED
Company number
SC022553
Company type
Private Limited Company
Status
Active
Country of origin
United Kingdom
Dissolution date
Not supplied
Accounts category
GROUP
Mortgage charges
4 total · 3 outstanding · 1 satisfied
Limited partnership members
0 general · 0 limited
i

A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.

02 Filing dates

Accounts and statements

Companies House
AccountsBulk record

Last accounts made up to

31 December 2025

Next accounts due

30 September 2027
Confirmation statementBulk record

Last statement made up to

25 June 2026

Next statement due

9 July 2027
Filing source and official link

BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.

03 Workforce reporting

Gender pay gap

Reporting year 2025–2026
Employer size1000 to 4999
Median hourly gap10.3%
Mean hourly gap13.0%
Submitted1 April 2026
Submission deadline5 April 2026
Submission timingSubmitted by deadline
Median bonus gap
Not supplied
Mean bonus gap
Not supplied
Women receiving bonus
0.0%
Men receiving bonus
0.0%
Women in top quartile
41.2%
Women in upper middle quartile
51.0%
Women in lower middle quartile
78.5%
Women in lower quartile
82.0%
Earlier reporting years (8)
  1. 1000 to 499912.6% median hourly gap
  2. 1000 to 499912.9% median hourly gap
  3. 1000 to 499910.0% median hourly gap
  4. 500 to 99913.6% median hourly gap
  5. Not Provided16.9% median hourly gap
  6. Not Provided16.1% median hourly gap
  7. 1000 to 499912.7% median hourly gap
  8. 500 to 99916.9% median hourly gap
i

Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.

04 Supplier payments

Payment practices and performance

Period to 31 December 2020
Average time to pay55.0 days
Paid within 30 days41.0%
Paid after 60 days15.0%
Not paid within terms12.0%
Reporting period
1 July 2020 – 31 December 2020
Filed
20 January 2021
Shortest standard term
7 days
Longest standard term
Not supplied
E-invoicing offered
No
Supply-chain finance
Not offered
Payment codes
No
Construction retentions
No qualifying construction contracts
Complete reported payment fields
Policy regime
Regime-1
Financial period started
Not supplied
Qualifying contracts
Yes
Payments made
Yes
Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
£0
Invoices paid in 31–60 days
44.0%
Invoices unpaid due to dispute
0.0%
Maximum contractual payment period
180 days
Supplier-list charging policy
No
Supplier-list charges made
No
Reported terms and dispute process
  1. Standard payment terms

    The standard payment terms are for invoices to be settled at the end of the month following the month in which the invoice has been submitted (e.g. an invoice that is dated January will be settled at the end of February). In practice, this means that invoices will be settled in between 28 days and 61 days.

  2. Dispute resolution process

    Any disputes should be notified to the Accounts Payable team which can be contacted on accountspayable@johnstonsofelgin.com. Any complaints or concerns that are not resolved by the Accounts Payable team in an acceptable timescale can then be escalated to the Group Financial Controller, who the Accounts Payable team report to.

Earlier payment reports (5 shown)
  1. 47.0 average days to pay16.0% outside terms
  2. 40.0 average days to pay5.0% outside terms
  3. 40.0 average days to pay6.0% outside terms
  4. 47.0 average days to pay9.0% outside terms
  5. 45.0 average days to pay10.0% outside terms
i

This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.

05 Supply-chain transparency

Modern slavery statement

Statement year 2023
Organisation
JAMES JOHNSTON & CO. OF ELGIN LIMITED
Group submission
No
Statement period
1 January 2022 – 31 December 2022
Approved
29 June 2023
Sectors
Fashion, textiles, apparel and luxury goods

Organisation structure

Covered in the statement

Policies

Covered in the statement

Risk assessment

Covered in the statement

Due diligence

Covered in the statement

Training

Covered in the statement

Goals and KPIs

Not reported as covered

Full statement information supplied to the registry
Reported turnover band
£60 million to £100 million
Years producing statements
1 to 5 years
ILO indicators included
Not answered
Registry record updated
29 June 2023

Policies described

Freedom of workers to terminate employment Freedom of movement Freedom of association Prohibits any threat of violence, harassment and intimidation Prohibits the use of worker-paid recruitment fees Prohibits compulsory overtime Prohibits child labour Prohibits discrimination Prohibits confiscation of workers' original identification documents Provides access to remedy, compensation and justice for victims of modern slavery

Training described

Your whole organisation

Worker engagement and working conditions

Trade unions or worker representative groups Professional auditors Workers within your organisation

Social audits

Audit conducted by your staff Audit conducted by your supplier’s staff Third party audit arranged by your supplier Announced audit Unannounced audit

Grievance mechanisms

Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app Through trade unions or other worker representative groups

Other monitoring

Looking for common addresses, bank details, training people in the organisation how to spot signs of modern slavery

Demonstrated progress

We continue to monitor our supply chain of raw material and we are founder members of the Sustainable Fibre Alliance (SFA) training herders in our supply chain. We are looking to purchase 100% SFA raw material by 2024.

i

A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.

06 Ownership and control

People with significant control

Snapshot 25 August 2026
Current records2
Ceased records0
PSC source and official link →
IndividualCurrent

Jennifer Mollie Urquhart

  • Owns 25% to 50% of shares
Nationality
British
Country of residence
Scotland
Notified
6 April 2016
Identity verification details
  • Appointment Verification End On: 9999-12-31T00:00:00Z
  • Appointment Verification Start On: 2026-07-07T00:00:00Z
IndividualCurrent

Mr Neil Edward Urquhart

  • Owns 25% to 50% of shares
Nationality
British
Country of residence
Scotland
Notified
6 April 2016
Identity verification details
  • Appointment Verification End On: 9999-12-31T00:00:00Z
  • Appointment Verification Start On: 2026-07-07T00:00:00Z
i

PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.

07 Charity register

Charity Commission links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCEW

No exact company-number link in this snapshot

The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.

i

This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.

08 Northern Ireland charity register

CCNI exact company links

Snapshot 25 August 2026
CCNI

No unambiguous company-number link found

The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.

i

CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.

09 Sanctions screening

UK Sanctions List

Report 28 August 2026
UKSL

No exact business-registration-number link found

The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

!

No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.

10 Public procurement

Find a Tender links

Snapshot 22 August 2026
FTS

No exact GB-COH link in this snapshot

Find a Tender did not explicitly identify this Companies House number in a procurement party. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.

11 Environmental register

Environment Agency waste registrations

Snapshot 25 August 2026
EA

No exact company-number registration linked

The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.

i

This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.

12 Nature of business

Standard Industrial Classification

SIC 2007
14190

Manufacture of other wearing apparel and accessories n.e.c.

46410

Wholesale of textiles

47190

Other retail sale in non-specialised stores

13 Connected public record

Checks beyond the company register

Partial coverage
CCEW

Charity Commission

0 exact company-number links.

Checked
CCNI

Northern Ireland charities

0 unambiguous company-number links.

Checked
FTS

Public contracts

0 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.

Checked
EA

Waste register

0 exact company-number registrations.

Checked
GZ

Corporate notices

The Gazette is not yet connected.

Not checked
UKSL

UK Sanctions List

No exact business-registration-number link in this report.

Checked
!

A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.

14 Record timeline

Dates in the bulk record

3 events
  1. Confirmation statement

    Latest confirmation statement made up to this date

  2. Accounts

    Latest accounts made up to this date

  3. Incorporation

    Company incorporated

15 Provenance

Sources for this profile

10 sources

Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.