TXT In plain English
Company description
ARNOLD CLARK AUTOMOBILES LIMITED is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Private Limited Company”. Incorporated on 28 April 1961; registered for 65 years; registered office reported in GLASGOW, SCOTLAND. Its primary declared activity is 45111 · Sale of new cars and light motor vehicles, with 2 additional SIC activities reported.
This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 5 PSC records, 16 trade marks, 3 procurement records. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- ARNOLD CLARK AUTOMOBILES LIMITED
- Company number
- SC036386
- Company type
- Private Limited Company
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- GROUP
- Mortgage charges
- 6 total · 0 outstanding · 6 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
31 December 2025Next accounts due
30 September 2027Last statement made up to
25 March 2026Next statement due
8 April 2027BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Workforce reporting
Gender pay gap
- Median bonus gap
- -23.4%
- Mean bonus gap
- 23.2%
- Women receiving bonus
- 93.3%
- Men receiving bonus
- 92.4%
- Women in top quartile
- 15.3%
- Women in upper middle quartile
- 26.2%
- Women in lower middle quartile
- 33.4%
- Women in lower quartile
- 20.4%
Earlier reporting years (8)
- 5000 to 19,9993.6% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,9993.7% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,9995.8% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,9996.0% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,999-2.3% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,9998.7% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,9999.9% median hourly gap
- 5000 to 19,99910.8% median hourly gap
Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.
04 Supplier payments
Payment practices and performance
- Reporting period
- 1 January 2026 – 30 June 2026
- Filed
- 30 July 2026
- Shortest standard term
- 3 days
- Longest standard term
- 180 days
- E-invoicing offered
- No
- Supply-chain finance
- Not offered
- Payment codes
- No
- Construction retentions
- Reported as used
Complete reported payment fields
- Policy regime
- Regime-3
- Financial period started
- 1 January 2026
- Qualifying contracts
- Yes
- Payments made
- Yes
- Invoice value paid within 30 days
- £3,088,826,188
- Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
- £357,623,195
- Invoice value paid after 60 days
- £103,001,099
- Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
- £191,309,585
- Invoices paid in 31–60 days
- 25.0%
- Invoices unpaid due to dispute
- 10.0%
- Maximum contractual payment period
- 180 days
- Supplier-list charging policy
- No
- Supplier-list charges made
- No
Retention circumstances
We include retention clauses where we consider works to be at higher risk of defects or where projects are considered to be longer term or higher value
Retention parity policy
We are not a contractor so not subject to any clauses
Retention release
We retain a percentage as agreed in the contract terms. 50% of the retention is then released on practical completion of the project. The remaining 50% is released at the later of one year from the practical completion of the project and when all identified defect/snags have been resolved.
Retention release stages
50% on practical completion
50% at the later of one year from the practical completion of the project and when all identified defect/snags have been resolved
- Retention in all contracts
- No
- Retention in standard terms
- No
- Retention threshold
- Not supplied
- Standard retention rate
- Not supplied
- Retention compared with client
- 0.0%
- Retention compared with payments
- 0.0%
Reported terms and dispute process
- Standard payment terms
Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited agrees appropriate payment terms with its suppliers, based on the nature of the transaction. The Company, as standard, pays its suppliers no later than the last day of the month following the month in which the invoice is received. Individual agreements are in place for manufacturer vehicle purchases, depending on the timing and nature of the transaction and the individual manufacturer’s conditions. These can vary from 3 days from the date of first registration to extended credit terms of up to 180 days.
- Dispute resolution process
The Company is committed to dealing with its suppliers in a fair, honest and professional manner as well as pursuing best value for our business. We aim to resolve disputes in a timely manner. Any queries in relation to invoices are initially handled by the supplier’s regular contact at the branch or Head Office. Escalation of disputes is co-ordinated by our Head Office accounts team. If the matter cannot be resolved by our Head Office accounts team, it would be passed to the relevant Head of Department or Manager.
Earlier payment reports (11 shown)
- 19.0 average days to pay12.0% outside terms
- 18.0 average days to pay10.0% outside terms
- 15.0 average days to pay10.0% outside terms
- 15.0 average days to pay8.0% outside terms
- 15.0 average days to pay8.0% outside terms
- 17.0 average days to pay10.0% outside terms
- 15.0 average days to pay10.0% outside terms
- 16.0 average days to pay9.0% outside terms
- 15.0 average days to pay9.0% outside terms
- 15.0 average days to pay10.0% outside terms
- 15.0 average days to pay7.0% outside terms
This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.
05 Global legal identity
Legal Entity Identifier
ARNOLD CLARK AUTOMOBILES LIMITED
LEI 2138004FBEIFGAZNKE22 · jurisdiction GB
- Legal form
- H0PO
- Entity category
- GENERAL
- Entity created
- 28 April 1961
- Initial LEI registration
- 12 October 2017
- LEI last updated
- 14 March 2026
- Next renewal
- 12 May 2027
- Managing LOU
- 213800WAVVOPS85N2205
- Legal address
- 454 HILLINGTON ROAD, GLASGOW, GB-GLG, G52 4FH, GB
- Headquarters address
- 454 HILLINGTON ROAD, GLASGOW, GB-GLG, G52 4FH, GB
GLEIF parent-reporting exceptions
DIRECT ACCOUNTING CONSOLIDATION PARENT
NO_KNOWN_PERSON
ULTIMATE ACCOUNTING CONSOLIDATION PARENT
NO_KNOWN_PERSON
LEI data provides global legal identity and source-reported relationships, not a credit or regulatory approval. BritDB links Level 1 identities only through GLEIF’s Companies House registration-authority identifier and exact company number; Level 2 parent and fund relationships and reporting exceptions are reproduced as supplied by GLEIF.
06 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- ARNOLD CLARK AUTOMOBILES LIMITED
- Group submission
- Yes
- Statement period
- 1 January 2025 – 31 December 2025
- Approved
- 25 June 2026
- Sectors
- Automotive, machinery and heavy electrical equipment
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Covered in the statement
Risk assessment
Covered in the statement
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Covered in the statement
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- Over £500 million
- Years producing statements
- More than 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 30 June 2026
Policies described
Freedom of workers to terminate employment Freedom of movement Freedom of association Prohibits any threat of violence, harassment and intimidation Prohibits the use of worker-paid recruitment fees Prohibits compulsory overtime Prohibits child labour Prohibits discrimination Prohibits confiscation of workers' original identification documents Provides access to remedy, compensation and justice for victims of modern slavery
Training described
Executive-level staff Procurement staff Other
Worker engagement and working conditions
Your suppliers Professional auditors Workers within your organisation Workers within your supply chain
Social audits
Audit conducted by your staff
Grievance mechanisms
Using anonymous whistleblowing services, such as a helpline or mobile phone app
Other monitoring
we require our contractors to check that all on-site workers carry Construction Skills Certification Scheme (CSCS) cards
Demonstrated progress
While we continue to make progress towards reducing the risk of modern slavery and human trafficking within our business, we understand that there is still more that all businesses, including our own, can do. In 2026, we will continue to develop our approach to supplier assurance, including the further use of our supplier onboarding platform, periodic reconfirmations, and targeted enhanced audits of selected overseas suppliers.
Reported risks and mitigations
- Risk: Raw materials commonly used in the automotive industry, such as cobalt and lithium, mica, and rubber, can be supplied by higher-risk countries.
- Area: Within your supply chains
- Tier: Tier 2 suppliers Tier 3 suppliers and below
- Group: Women Migrants Refugees Children
- Location: Brazil China Indonesia India Madagascar Thailand Vietnam
- Mitigation: We ensure that our suppliers commit to our company values by obtaining written confirmation from each that their business practices and supply chains operate in accordance with the Modern Slavery Act 2015. In procurement, this is evaluated as part of the tender process and then re-evaluated on a regular basis. We monitor supplier compliance with suitable levels of due diligence according to their level of risk, which we assess for the potential of human trafficking and/or modern slavery.
- Risk: The global production of photovoltaic solar cells, used in our sustainability initiative, has been linked to regions where forced labour practices have been reported
- Group: Women Migrants Refugees Children Other vulnerable groups
- Location: China
- Mitigation: We engaged a third-party to help us review our supply chain for PV solar cells with the review including a specific focus on labour and procurement practices of the various suppliers.
- Risk: Some of our staff members are required to wear company uniforms. The garment industry is considered to present a high risk of modern slavery in both its national and international supply chains.
- Tier: Tier 1 suppliers Tier 2 suppliers Tier 3 suppliers and below
- Location: Bangladesh China United Kingdom India Cambodia Pakistan Thailand Vietnam
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
07 Data protection
ICO fee-payer registration
Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited
Registration Z6369745
- Registered from
- 28 January 2002
- Current end date
- 27 January 2027
This is a candidate association, not an official Companies House link. The ICO file supplies no company number. The organisation name and postcode uniquely matched this company in the current snapshot. BritDB excludes all DPO contact fields and does not publish unmatched personal entries.
08 Public procurement
Contracts Finder awards
Vehicle lease
Met Office · ocds-b5fd17-0620ba86-89c7-430e-94e5-870afcc96ffe
- Supplier named in award
- ARNOLD CLARK AUTOMOBILES LIMITED
- Award value
- £18,692.64
- Contract period
- 1 December 2022 – 31 December 2026
- Published
- 25 March 2022
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 34100000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-0620ba86-89c7-430e-94e5-870afcc96ffe-2022-03-25T14:16:44Z
Vehicle Hire - ESPO award
SOUTHAMPTON CITY COUNCIL · ocds-b5fd17-dc8d9939-6fc8-479c-8169-6de5f5e02950
- Supplier named in award
- ARNOLD CLARK AUTOMOBILES LIMITED
- Award value
- £130,000
- Contract period
- 1 October 2019 – 30 September 2020
- Published
- 15 November 2019
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 34100000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-dc8d9939-6fc8-479c-8169-6de5f5e02950-2019-11-15T15:37:01Z
Provision of Hire Cars
UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHAMPTON · ocds-b5fd17-62ddfa6f-d823-456c-a952-ce79626eadac
- Supplier named in award
- ARNOLD CLARK AUTOMOBILES LIMITED
- Award value
- £520,000
- Contract period
- 3 January 2019 – 2 January 2023
- Published
- 15 October 2018
- Procedure
- Call-off from a framework agreement
- Main CPV
- 34100000
- Source release ID
- ocds-b5fd17-62ddfa6f-d823-456c-a952-ce79626eadac-2018-10-15T15:16:29+01:00
The supplier link is exact, but the award remains buyer-published procurement data. BritDB requires the GB-COH identifier supplied in the Contracts Finder OCDS release and does not infer suppliers from similar names.
TM UK trade marks
Exact owner-name matches
HARRY FAIRBAIRN
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 9,16,35,36,37,38,39,41,42,45
- Filed / designated
- 16 August 2017
- Valid until / renewal due
- 16 August 2027
MIDWEST MOTOR FACTORS
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 35
- Filed / designated
- 22 June 2017
- Valid until / renewal due
- 22 June 2027
MACHARGS
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 35
- Filed / designated
- 21 June 2017
- Valid until / renewal due
- 21 June 2027
KITCOP
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 35,41
- Filed / designated
- 14 December 2016
- Valid until / renewal due
- 14 December 2026
I-WAY
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 36,39
- Filed / designated
- 3 April 2008
- Valid until / renewal due
- 3 April 2018
i-way
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 36,39
- Filed / designated
- 3 April 2008
- Valid until / renewal due
- 3 April 2018
Accist
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 36,37,39,42,45
- Filed / designated
- 22 March 2006
- Valid until / renewal due
- 22 March 2026
ACCIST
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 36,37,39,42,45
- Filed / designated
- 22 March 2006
- Valid until / renewal due
- 22 March 2026
ARNOLD CLARK
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 35
- Filed / designated
- 11 May 2002
- Valid until / renewal due
- 11 May 2022
ARNOLD CLARK
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 36,37,39
- Filed / designated
- 20 June 1996
- Valid until / renewal due
- 20 June 2026
AUTOCARE
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 36
- Filed / designated
- 20 June 1996
- Valid until / renewal due
- 20 June 2026
ACTIVA
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 9,35,36,37,39,42,45
- Filed / designated
- 10 July 2017
- Valid until / renewal due
- Not supplied
ARNOLD CLARK
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 9,16,35,36,37,38,39,41,42,45
- Filed / designated
- 6 July 2017
- Valid until / renewal due
- Not supplied
ARNOLD CLARK
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 9,35,36,37,38,39,41,42,45
- Filed / designated
- 6 July 2017
- Valid until / renewal due
- Not supplied
CLARK CARE
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 37,39
- Filed / designated
- 18 March 1997
- Valid until / renewal due
- 18 March 2017
CLARK-FIT
Owner Arnold Clark Automobiles Limited · classes 37,39
- Filed / designated
- 18 March 1997
- Valid until / renewal due
- 18 March 2017
This is an exact normalised company-name match, not a registrar-confirmed ownership link. Another legal entity can have the same or a very similar name. UKIPO data is a historical 2018 snapshot; verify the owner and current status before relying on it.
09 Ownership and control
People with significant control
Jagc Holdings
- Owns 25% to 50% of shares
- Country registered
- Scotland
- Legal authority
- Companies Act 2006
- Legal form
- Unlimited Company
- Place registered
- Scotland
- Registration number
- Sc616836
- Notified
- 16 September 2021
Mr Adam Hugh Wallace Clark
- Owns 25% to 50% of shares (as a trust)
- Controls 25% to 50% of voting rights (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- Scotland
- Notified
- 16 September 2021
- Appointment Verification End On: 9999-12-31T00:00:00Z
- Appointment Verification Start On: 2026-06-08T00:00:00Z
Mr John Arnold ClarkSee 2 companies with this PSC name →
- Owns 75% or more of shares (as a trust)
- Controls 75% or more of voting rights (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- Scotland
- Notified
- 16 September 2021
- Appointment Verification End On: 9999-12-31T00:00:00Z
- Appointment Verification Start On: 2026-03-26T00:00:00Z
Lady Philomena Butler ClarkSee 58 companies with this PSC name →
- Owns 75% or more of shares (as a trust)
- Controls 75% or more of voting rights (as a trust)
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- United Kingdom
- Notified
- 1 July 2016
- Anti Money Laundering Supervisory Bodies: Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland (ICAS)
- Appointment Verification End On: 9999-12-31T00:00:00Z
- Appointment Verification Start On: 2026-03-26T00:00:00Z
- Authorised Corporate Service Provider Name: ROBERTSON CRAIG LLP ACSP
- Identity Verified On: 2026-03-20T00:00:00Z
- Preferred Name: Philomena Butler Clark
Sir John Arnold ClarkSee 40 companies with this PSC name →
- Has significant influence or control
- Nationality
- British
- Country of residence
- Scotland
- Notified
- 1 July 2016
- Ceased
- 10 April 2017
PSC records are company-filed public-register information. When the exact same displayed individual name occurs at multiple companies, BritDB offers a non-indexed cross-reference page. It is a name match only, not proof that the records describe the same person. Service addresses and partial dates of birth are deliberately omitted.
10 Charity register
Charity Commission links
No exact company-number link in this snapshot
The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.
This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
11 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
12 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
13 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
No exact GB-COH link in this snapshot
Find a Tender did not explicitly identify this Companies House number in a procurement party. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
14 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
No exact company-number registration linked
The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
15 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
Sale of used cars and light motor vehicles
Maintenance and repair of motor vehicles
16 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
0 exact company-number links.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
0 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
0 exact company-number registrations.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
17 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
18 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Global legal identities linked through Companies House registration authority RA000585.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Privacy-reduced candidate associations based on a unique exact name-and-postcode match.
Historic awards linked by exact source-supplied GB-COH company identifier.
Current and ceased significant-control records joined by exact company number.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.