TXT In plain English
Company description
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED is a UK company whose Companies House status is “Active” and whose registered company type is “Private Limited Company”. Incorporated on 10 January 1995; registered for 31 years; registered office reported in SUNDERLAND, TYNE & WEAR, ENGLAND. Its primary declared activity is 49100 · Passenger rail transport, interurban.
This BritDB profile also contains linked public records: 2 trade marks, 47 procurement records. This description is assembled from public data, is not a reliability assessment, and should be checked against the cited sources before a legally significant decision.
Web facts are never added from a name match alone. Internet enrichment requires the exact Companies House ID in Wikidata, and ambiguous results are excluded.
01 Company overview
Identity and registration
- Official name
- THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED
- Company number
- 03007939
- Company type
- Private Limited Company
- Status
- Active
- Country of origin
- United Kingdom
- Dissolution date
- Not supplied
- Accounts category
- FULL
- Mortgage charges
- 23 total · 1 outstanding · 22 satisfied
- Limited partnership members
- 0 general · 0 limited
A registered office is not necessarily a trading location. The address is reproduced from the Companies House bulk record and should be interpreted in that legal context.
02 Filing dates
Accounts and statements
Last accounts made up to
31 March 2025Next accounts due
31 December 2026Last statement made up to
10 January 2026Next statement due
24 January 2027BritDB does not infer overdue status when the source does not state it.
03 Workforce reporting
Gender pay gap
- Median bonus gap
- 19.8%
- Mean bonus gap
- 47.0%
- Women receiving bonus
- 22.8%
- Men receiving bonus
- 14.5%
- Women in top quartile
- 10.0%
- Women in upper middle quartile
- 10.4%
- Women in lower middle quartile
- 28.6%
- Women in lower quartile
- 34.6%
Earlier reporting years (8)
- 1000 to 499928.8% median hourly gap
- 1000 to 499939.7% median hourly gap
- 1000 to 499937.5% median hourly gap
- 1000 to 499934.5% median hourly gap
- 1000 to 499935.5% median hourly gap
- 1000 to 499934.1% median hourly gap
- 500 to 99930.0% median hourly gap
- 1000 to 499931.0% median hourly gap
Positive gaps mean men were paid more; negative gaps mean women were paid more. These figures are employer-reported and describe the workforce distribution, not equal pay for the same job. The company link uses the exact Companies House number supplied by the service.
04 Supplier payments
Payment practices and performance
- Reporting period
- 1 January 2026 – 30 June 2026
- Filed
- 4 August 2026
- Shortest standard term
- 30 days
- Longest standard term
- Not supplied
- E-invoicing offered
- No
- Supply-chain finance
- Not offered
- Payment codes
- No
- Construction retentions
- Reported as used
Complete reported payment fields
- Policy regime
- Regime-3
- Financial period started
- 1 January 2026
- Qualifying contracts
- Yes
- Payments made
- Yes
- Invoice value paid within 30 days
- £84,193,458
- Invoice value paid in 31–60 days
- £72,389,407
- Invoice value paid after 60 days
- £5,192,787
- Invoice value paid outside agreed terms
- £39,886,589
- Invoices paid in 31–60 days
- 65.0%
- Invoices unpaid due to dispute
- 0.0%
- Maximum contractual payment period
- 61 days
- Supplier-list charging policy
- No
- Supplier-list charges made
- No
Retention circumstances
Retention is applied based on inherent risk perceived within the contract
Retention release
Generally 5% of the project. 2.5% released on completion and 2.5% released when defects have been completed.
Retention release stages
Generally 5% of the project. 2.5% released on completion and 2.5% released when defects have been completed.
- Retention in all contracts
- No
- Retention in standard terms
- No
- Retention threshold
- Not supplied
- Standard retention rate
- 5.0%
- Retention compared with client
- 100.0%
- Retention compared with payments
- 5.0%
Reported terms and dispute process
- Standard payment terms
It is the Company's policy to agree appropriate terms of payment with suppliers for each transaction or a series of transactions, and abide by those terms based on the timely submission of valid invoices. Historically, our 'Standard Payment Terms' were NET Monthly (meaning the end of the month, following the month of invoice), however, for new suppliers they are 30 days and on some occasions variations to these standard payment terms might be agreed.
- Dispute resolution process
Dispute Escalation
Without prejudice to either Party’s right to seek interlocutory relief in the courts the Parties shall use their best efforts to negotiate in good faith and settle amicably any dispute that may arise out of or relate to this Agreement (or its construction, validity, or termination) (a “Dispute”). If a Dispute cannot be settled through negotiations by appropriate representatives of each of the Parties, either Party may give to the other a notice in writing (a “Dispute Notice”). Within seven days of the Dispute Notice being given the Parties shall each refer the Dispute to the senior representatives nominated by the managing director of each Party who shall meet in order to attempt to resolve the dispute. If the Dispute is not settled by agreement in writing between the Parties within 14 days of the Dispute Notice, it shall be resolved in accordance with Clauses 32 and 37.
Mediation
Any Dispute may be referred to mediation in accordance with the Centre for Dispute Resolution (CEDR) Model Mediation Procedure. The mediation shall be conducted by a single mediator appointed by mutual agreement, or (failing mutual agreement within seven days of a notice from either Party to the other calling upon the other so to agree) by the Centre for Dispute Resolution. Both Parties agree to co-operate fully with such mediator, provide such assistance as is necessary to enable the mediator to discharge his duties, and to bear equally between them the fees and expenses of the mediator.
The mediation shall be conducted in England in English. The mediation shall be conducted without prejudice to the rights of any of the Parties in future proceedings.
Other Information
Suppliers are asked to send their invoices to the below postal and e-mail address. If invoices are sent to another postal address or to an individual’s e-mail account, this will set back the payment of an invoice as we will be delayed from our usual process.
FAO Accounts Payable
3rd Floor, Sunley House
Oxford Road, Aylesbury
BUCKS, HP19 8EZ
E-mail to: AccountsPayable@ChilternRailways.co.uk
Earlier payment reports (11 shown)
- 32.0 average days to pay47.0% outside terms
- 32.0 average days to pay47.0% outside terms
- 33.0 average days to pay44.0% outside terms
- 32.0 average days to pay54.0% outside terms
- 32.0 average days to pay49.0% outside terms
- 32.0 average days to pay48.0% outside terms
- 31.0 average days to pay45.0% outside terms
- 30.0 average days to pay45.0% outside terms
- 31.0 average days to pay46.0% outside terms
- 33.0 average days to pay45.0% outside terms
- 39.0 average days to pay49.0% outside terms
This is a company-submitted statutory disclosure, not a credit rating. BritDB preserves the reporting period and links the report only through the Companies House number supplied by the official service. Percentages describe payments made during that period and may change in later reports.
05 Global legal identity
Legal Entity Identifier
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED
LEI 529900C7CCP52KR2PA41 · jurisdiction GB
- Legal form
- H0PO
- Entity category
- GENERAL
- Entity created
- 10 January 1995
- Initial LEI registration
- 23 October 2013
- LEI last updated
- 22 October 2024
- Next renewal
- 23 October 2024
- Managing LOU
- 5299000J2N45DDNE4Y28
- Legal address
- 1 Admiral Way, Sunderland, GB-SND, SR3 3XP, GB
- Headquarters address
- Marylebone Stadion, Great Central House, Melcombe Place, London, GB-WSM, NW1 6JJ, GB
GLEIF Level 2 relationships
IS DIRECTLY CONSOLIDATED BY
From LEI 529900C7CCP52KR2PA41 to LEI 52990063S23N13HU4E98
- Initial registration
- 26 September 2018
- Last updated
- 22 October 2024
- Next renewal
- 23 October 2024
- Validation sources
- FULLY_CORROBORATED
- Validation documents
- ACCOUNTS_FILING
- Relationship periods
- Start: 2022-01-01T00:00:00+01:00; End: 2022-12-31T00:00:00+01:00; Type: ACCOUNTING_PERIOD; Start: 2018-09-10T00:00:00+02:00; Type: RELATIONSHIP_PERIOD; Start: 2023-03-07T00:00:00+01:00; Type: DOCUMENT_FILING_PERIOD
- Validation reference
- Not supplied
IS ULTIMATELY CONSOLIDATED BY
From LEI 529900C7CCP52KR2PA41 to LEI 52990063S23N13HU4E98
- Initial registration
- 18 September 2017
- Last updated
- 22 October 2024
- Next renewal
- 23 October 2024
- Validation sources
- FULLY_CORROBORATED
- Validation documents
- ACCOUNTS_FILING
- Relationship periods
- Start: 2022-01-01T00:00:00+01:00; End: 2022-12-31T00:00:00+01:00; Type: ACCOUNTING_PERIOD; Start: 2017-09-13T00:00:00+02:00; Type: RELATIONSHIP_PERIOD; Start: 2023-03-07T00:00:00+01:00; Type: DOCUMENT_FILING_PERIOD
- Validation reference
- Not supplied
LEI data provides global legal identity and source-reported relationships, not a credit or regulatory approval. BritDB links Level 1 identities only through GLEIF’s Companies House registration-authority identifier and exact company number; Level 2 parent and fund relationships and reporting exceptions are reproduced as supplied by GLEIF.
06 Supply-chain transparency
Modern slavery statement
- Organisation
- THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED
- Group submission
- Yes
- Parent organisation
- ARRIVA LIMITED
- Statement period
- 1 January 2025 – 31 December 2025
- Approved
- 18 March 2026
- Sectors
- Transportation, logistics, and storage
Organisation structure
Covered in the statement
Policies
Covered in the statement
Risk assessment
Covered in the statement
Due diligence
Covered in the statement
Training
Covered in the statement
Goals and KPIs
Not reported as covered
Full statement information supplied to the registry
- Reported turnover band
- Over £500 million
- Years producing statements
- More than 5 years
- ILO indicators included
- Not answered
- Registry record updated
- 5 May 2026
A registry entry records what the organisation declared in its statement. It is not an independent audit. Group statements can cover several companies; BritDB preserves each exact source-supplied company-number link and excludes approver names and email addresses.
TM UK trade marks
Exact owner-name matches
CHILTERN RAILWAYS
Owner The Chiltern Railway Company Limited · classes 16,35,37,39,42,43
- Filed / designated
- 9 September 2005
- Valid until / renewal due
- 9 September 2025
LONDON CLUBMAN
Owner The Chiltern Railway Company Limited · classes 39,42
- Filed / designated
- 20 May 1998
- Valid until / renewal due
- 20 May 2018
This is an exact normalised company-name match, not a registrar-confirmed ownership link. Another legal entity can have the same or a very similar name. UKIPO data is a historical 2018 snapshot; verify the owner and current status before relying on it.
07 Charity register
Charity Commission links
No exact company-number link in this snapshot
The Charity Commission extract did not explicitly associate this Companies House number with a charity. BritDB does not use a name-only match to fill the gap.
This company-level check covers the Charity Commission for England and Wales. Links are accepted only when the official extract supplies this exact company registration number. Scottish charities now have separate OSCR profiles, but OSCR’s bulk fields do not provide a Companies House number, so BritDB does not infer a company link.
08 Northern Ireland charity register
CCNI exact company links
No unambiguous company-number link found
The CCNI source number did not resolve uniquely to this Companies House record. BritDB did not use a name or address match.
CCNI publishes company numbers without a jurisdiction prefix. BritDB links only when the plausible padded UK and NI candidates resolve to exactly one Companies House company.
09 Sanctions screening
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link found
The imported UK Sanctions List did not supply this Companies House number as a UK-linked business identifier. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
No exact link is not sanctions clearance. UK restrictions can apply through ownership or control even where an entity is not separately named. Always use the current official list and obtain appropriate advice for a legally significant decision.
10 Public procurement
Find a Tender links
Chiltern Rail - Train Planning & Rostering System Replacement
CHILTERN RAIL LIMITED · updated 23 September 2026
- Tender value
- £6,500,000
- Awards
- 1
Disability Access Train Ramps
CHILTERN RAIL LIMITED · updated 11 September 2026
- Tender value
- £1,500,000
- Awards
- 0
Rolling Stock Fillters Supply
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 14 August 2026
- Tender value
- £840,000
- Awards
- 1
Chiltern Railways - Supply of Lubricants
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 27 July 2026
- Tender value
- £4,800,000
- Awards
- 0
Chiltern Railways - Compass System Replacement
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 23 July 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 0
On-train Wi-Fi support services and Customer landing page
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 31 March 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Train Services Agreement Class 68 Locomotives & Mk5A Coaches
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 18 March 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 0
Depot & Facilities Requirement For The Long Term Maintenance Of Class 68 Locomotives & Mk5A Coaches
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 18 March 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 0
Technical Support & Spares Supply Agreement Mk5a Materials & Materials Management
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 18 March 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 0
Class 68 Lead Train Services Agreement Provider
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 18 March 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 0
Radio Equipment Hire
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 2 March 2026
- Tender value
- £700,000
- Awards
- 1
Dura Composite Decking
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 2 February 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
On Train Advertising
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 19 January 2026
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Chiltern Railway Fire & Security Assets Maintenance
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 9 January 2026
- Tender value
- £2,500,000
- Awards
- 1
GRP Composite Car Park Decking & Ancillary System
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 16 December 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Classes 165 and 168 Tripcock Valve Overhaul Services
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 11 December 2025
- Tender value
- £990,000
- Awards
- 2
Train Fleet Cleaning Services
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 5 December 2025
- Tender value
- £12,500,000
- Awards
- 0
Wembley Stadium Station Events Management Services
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 20 October 2025
- Tender value
- £1,500,000
- Awards
- 0
Ticket Vending Machines (Retail Systems)
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 17 October 2025
- Tender value
- Not supplied
- Awards
- 1
Train Driver Simulators
THE CHILTERN RAILWAY COMPANY LIMITED · updated 15 October 2025
- Tender value
- £1,500,000
- Awards
- 0
Showing the first 20 of 47 linked procurement processes.
These links use only the GB-COH identifier supplied in the procurement record. A company may have other public-sector work that is absent, older, below publication thresholds or published without a Companies House identifier.
11 Environmental register
Environment Agency waste registrations
No exact company-number registration linked
The licensed Environment Agency subset did not contain this exact Companies House number. BritDB did not attempt a name-only match.
This is a privacy-reduced, exact-company subset. The full official register also includes sole traders and applicants without a matching Companies House number. Check the current Environment Agency register before relying on registration status.
12 Nature of business
Standard Industrial Classification
13 Connected public record
Checks beyond the company register
Charity Commission
0 exact company-number links.
Northern Ireland charities
0 unambiguous company-number links.
Public contracts
47 procurement processes linked by exact GB-COH identifier.
Waste register
0 exact company-number registrations.
Corporate notices
The Gazette is not yet connected.
UK Sanctions List
No exact business-registration-number link in this report.
A checked source with no exact link is not a clean bill of health. Unchecked sources remain unknown, while sanctions may also apply through ownership or control of a listed person or entity.
14 Record timeline
Dates in the bulk record
- Confirmation statement
Latest confirmation statement made up to this date
- Accounts
Latest accounts made up to this date
- Incorporation
Company incorporated
15 Provenance
Sources for this profile
Identity, address, status, dates, SIC, previous names and mortgage totals.
Annual employer reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Statutory supplier-payment reports linked by the exact source-supplied Companies House number.
Global legal identities linked through Companies House registration authority RA000585.
Annual statement summaries linked by exact source company number.
Daily England and Wales extract matched only by the official company registration number.
Daily CCNI export with company links only where the source number resolves unambiguously.
Complete FCDO list checked by exact UK-linked business registration number.
Procurement parties checked only through exact GB-COH identifiers.
Licensed subset linked only by exact Companies House number.
Financial regulation and licences.
Companies House, Charity Commission, OSCR and UK Sanctions List information is public-register data. BritDB reproduces and organises it with source-specific limits; official external links are kept on the dedicated source pages.